We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Belle - A great place to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villages of Crystal Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villages of Crystal Beach
Save Saved
You added Villages of Crystal Beach to your Saves list
228 Grand Key Loop East, Destin, FL 32541   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 58 Specialty lodging in Destin
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Southern Belle - A great place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at a home called Southern Belle over the 2013 Labor Day weekend.
We had a total of 15 people with us and never felt cramped.
When we first arrived there were a few small issues:
1. The AC on the 3rd floor was not working - I called the management and they had a worker there WITHIN THE HOUR! He also returned the next day and replaced the entire unit so that we were comfortable.
2. The tub in the master bath and the carpet in the master bedroom was not as clean as I'd hoped.
3. The ceiling of the 1st floor living room had a huge water stain presumably from a leak in the laundry room.
I sent an email to the management about the issues and did not receive a response which was a little disappointing given the rent we paid.
The walls are "thin", I could hear the goings on of people in the kitchen and 2nd floor.

Overall, it was a great place to vacation and the "neighborhood feel" was the best. Everybody was happy, especially at the pool.
We had no isssues with the neighbors and the beach shuttle driver was GREAT! He managed to get all of us and our stuff to the beach in a very short time.
The location is also very convenient. Shopping and restaurants were very close by.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed in Crystal Lagoon, which we booked through the site http://www.destincomforts.com/. I would highly recommend booking through this site. Our house was great, the furniture was nice & we were literally right across the street from the pool.

This resort is right on the "strip" so to speak a 2 minute drive to the beach & it's not a bad walk either (I didn't walk but my friends did & I saw other guests walk as well). It's close to the Outlet mall, harborwalk village, the local Kingdom Hall is 5 min away & close to all sorts of other stores & restaurants (Wal-Mart is right up the street).

We stayed off season (Sept 15-22, 2012) & we did a couples trip. It was 5 couples & the bedrooms fit us all nicely, we all had our own private spaces. The house included 2 balconies that over looked the great pool/hot tub area.

There was no one coming in after us so the owner's let us stay an extra day at no cost. Overall the house was great, as it mentioned in the other reviews you have to be careful who you book through. I would definitely suggest going through the Destin Comforts website.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Attention: college kids--do not use these people. They fooled us. We were evicted the SECOND night we were there along with several other college-aged residents in the villas in the neighborhood. The owners tricked us into thinking they'd allow college-aged kids to stay at their place free of any hassle. Each night they evicted more college students from their neighborhood for no apparent reason--just because they could. So watch out. Go stay somewhere else. This place is a scam. We did not receive any money back even after we put pressure on them from state officials. Also, there were new residents in our exact villa the NEXT night. They double booked the place in hopes of kicking us (or some house of kids) out. So do not choose this village when you book your fun spring break or summer trip with your friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed at a 6 bedroom home (called "Sun Drenched") in August. The house was very nicely furnished and gave us plenty of room. The key to judging whether or not to stay in a home at the Villages of Crystal Beach depends on 4 things:

1) Each home is owned by a different and independent owner. So if you read a review talking about the issues with the furnishings or cleanliness of a property, recognize that that was an issue specific to that home. The owner of the home we stayed in had very current and high quality furnishings, kept the house in great condition and was very responsive (the AC went out one day and he had someone there fixing it within about 2 hours). The homes are all new, so your chances of finding homes in bad shape are fairly low.

2) The community is not specifically a resort community. It's more like a neighborhood, although many of your "neighbors" are either people renting a home for a week, or people on vacation in their 2nd home. We loved the neighborhood - all the homes are fairly new and very attractive. The landscaping, etc., is well kept.

3) You're within walking distance of the beach - but just barely. I wouldn't imply it's just across the street, but it's close enough you can get there without a car. However, if you have young children, lots of gear or just aren't a big "walker," you might think it's too far. However, the community does offer a very speedy and reliable shuttle service. You just call and they're at your door in minutes. They'll also pick you up at the beach. The service is free (the drivers work for tips). We didn't have any issues with the location of the community, in relation to its distance to the beach. We walked some days and took the shuttle quite a bit.

4) The community's pool and pool area is top-notch. Especially if you want a pool that's good for smaller children. So few Destin area pools have zero entry pools. The pool at the Villages of Crystal Beach is gorgeous AND has a very nice, zero-entry section for kids. Around the pool there are also multiple public areas to BBQ, dine, or host your own little gatherings. There's even a covered bar (not staffed - but nice to use for gatherings of friends and family).

So, overall, if you see a good looking property at the Villages of Crystal Beach, and you're looking for a quiet but convenient "pool community" within a short shuttle ride of the beach, you'll probably love it here

Room Tip: We stayed at "Sun Drenched" and it was very nice and has a good, responsive owner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011 via mobile

These beach homes are fantastic. The villages offer everything you need to entertain you family. The beach homes look wonderful, the beds sleep comfortable and the pool is beautiful as well as relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire U.K.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

We paid over $3000 for an 11 day stay, the door handles came off, the ladders on the children's bunk beds were loose and unsafe so we had to buy duck tape to secure them, the smoke alarm in one bedroom had been dismantled and wires left hanging and the telephone had been removed.We spent over an hour on the Mon trying to locate the management office using the address on the invoice emailed to me. They had changed addresses but not updated their computers! They sent a maintenance man who repaired the door handles ( only for them to fall off again later in the week), he said the screw holes on the ladders needed filling and there was a fault on the land line and the telephone company would have to fix that.That was that,we never saw anyone again for the rest of the stay. When you have arrived from the U.K. and have no mobile phone because you expect there to be one in the house, finding there isn't leaves you somewhat worried. With two children under 7 and two elderly people (one with a heart complaint) in your party, you do wonder what on earth you will do in an emergency. There was no list of emergency numbers,or info on what to do in an emergency, the only info was how much it would cost you to replace one of the wristbands needed for the communal pool should you loose one

  • Liked — It was clean and the beds were comfortable
  • Disliked — Therewas no telephone leaving us at risk if an emergency arose
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villages of Crystal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villages of Crystal Beach

Address: 228 Grand Key Loop East, Destin, FL 32541
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 58 Specialty lodging in Destin
Also Known As:
Villages Of Crystal Beach Hotel Destin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villages of Crystal Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.