We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Capri by the Gulf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Capri by the Gulf to your Saves list
Capri by the Gulf
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   3100 Scenic Hwy 98, Destin, FL 32541   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Destin
New York City, New York
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Capri by the Gulf is the worst apartment I've ever done business with. Beware this place; check in 2 hours per day only. Rude, unhelpful customer service. They are refusing answering and help us. Do not recommend at all

Room Tip: do not recommend at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    4
    0
    5
See reviews for
10
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed in unit 117. It was newly done over so it was clean and bright. It is right on the beach and the beach is absolutely gorgeous, white fluffy sand and the water is so clear you can see your feet waist deep.This unit's kitchen did have everything you need in it ,which was nice.( I would bring little packets of salt and pepper with you, for the unit doesn't have that)The bathroom's shower and a stand up only, (no tub if you have little ones )but it was a good size shower . It is non smoking which is a huge plus,for there was no odors.There is a beach service which sets up 2 beach chairs and one umbrella for each unit,free.

The cons are there were no hangers, not one so we couldn't hang any of our clothes. I went to dry my hair, no hair dryer so my husband went to the front desk and they said they don't have hair dryers because it's a liability.My husband ran out to buy a hair dryer and when plugged in,it didn't even reach the shower so I am not sure where the liability comes in.There is no pool, not that I sit by the pool all day, however it is nice to dip in the pool at the end of the day or when it's windy at the beach. There is NO house keeping.You get 6 towels,when they are dirty, your doing your own laundry.That means no new sheets,no toilet paper,no Kleenex,no emptying of the rubbish,no extra trash bags ETC.There was a TV in the bedroom, but the remote didn't work so that means you had to get up out of bed to change stations or shut it off.The central air in the bedroom was very loud, there was a rattling sound every time it turned on.The only clock in the whole place was the one on the microwave so I hope your cell phone has an alarm in it if you need to be up early to catch a flight. The top shelf in the closet had extra blankets,pillows and 2 Broken?? DVD players but all sort of thrown up there. Our first night going to bed the headboard kept banging up against the wall every time one of us moved. We got out of bed and pulled it out some from the wall, the next morning we looked and the headboard is just nailed to the frame, so not very sturdy and that is why it kept banging the wall.

We did enjoy our time here because of the beach, Not sure if I would stay at Capri by the gulf again,unless we tried a different unit.

Room Tip: There are two end units that have a private balcony that has a water view. All others rooms have par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at Capri by the Gulf in the "low" season in April 2013--between spring break prices and summer prices. The property was smaller than most of the other big establishments and due to this, it seemed more "intimate" and not so impersonal. The time we went was a lower price due to being between two more "desirable" seasons. We were very pleased with the time we went as the crowds were minimal yet the weather was not too hot nor humid. Eating in restaurants was also easy as once again, there were fewer people. The location was amazing--especially for the price. I went on a 3 gal trip and the room (106) suited us well. We had a king size bed and a pull out hide a bed so the 3 of us had room. The bed was comfortable and the room was quite clean. Recent renovations had been done to the unit we were in--tile floors, granite counter tops, bathroom redo, new cupboards in the kitchen, big flat screen TV. We were also just steps away from the beach and having the beach be private, there was lots of space (again, we were not in "high season"). The chairs and umbrellas are a must and they provide for your use two chairs and an umbrella. If there are more people in your party than the 2, then you pay $5 for the additional chair. Knowing this, and having the opportunity--bring your own chairs if there are more than just the two in your group.The beach is extremely clean and the city has it machine cleaned every other day. What a treat to sit there and watch dolphins swim right off shore. Also, the fishermen are more than happy to explain and show how and what they are fishing for. New experience for us as we are from the NW of the US. We arrived after the office was closed and had the code for the locked box to retrieve our key--however, the salt air made the lock not work but no problem, the manager came to help us in @ 10 minutes. The only problem we had was our TV would not play the DVD player as the people staying before us had used the TV to play games on and did not connect the wires back correctly. The maintenance fixed that for us readily. We also did not have a hair dryer--but some units do. Each unit is individually owned so most are similar with supplies, but not identical. Best to ask when making reservations what is and is not supplied. You do get good "starter supplies" (soap, shampoo, 1 toilet paper, dish liquid, dishwasher detergent) but must buy other supplies if you use these up. There is a central laundry room--but we did not use this. It is nice to have a security gate but don't forget the code. Also different code for the drive in gate and the walk in gate. The unit next to us had half of it washed out to sea during hurricane Ivan as well as portions of the deck and swimming pool. I did hear that they plan to have a new pool reinstalled fall of 2013. I would rather be in the ocean or near it rather than a pool. I would stay there again given the chance. I prefer smaller places like this one rather than the "big box" type places. Seems more relaxing. We loved that our room was the next closest to the ocean as we sat in our chairs each morning and evening drinking our coffee/wine and reading books or watching the sunset.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the ocean. Also, try to get one of the rooms that have been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My family and I stayed here 3 years in a row. We stayed in room 109 the first 2 years. Both years we were very satisfied. This is a quiet, cozy little place right on the beach. You can open your door and see the beach. The 3rd year I wasnt as pleased with our room....not sure of the room number but, we still had a nice time. Good place for the price especially since its right on the beach. I would recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Room 109 is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

walked into the office to check in and the woman behind the counter didn't even look up from the whole chicken she was eating to say hello! Handed us the keys to our room with greasy fingers and actually belched as she pointed out where our room was. The condo was old and dated, the room was filthy, sheets and wet towels in the tub, dirty dishes in the sink and food on the floor! We were so grossed out we asked the same woman, who was still eating, for a refund and she said "absolutely not!!" She tried to tell us to relax and was extremely rude and condescending.
A note to our fellow vacationers.....you'd be better off to drive right past this dump!!

Room Tip: Wouldn't stay here if it was FREE!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We have been going to destin for years. We have spent the last 4 vacations at the Capri. We have stayed in a different condo every year and have enjoyed every one. The gate makes you feel so secure, and the location is perfect. It's so peaceful and quiet. You couldn't be closer to the beach unless you were sitting in the sand. The staff is great and they provide beach chairs and umbrellas every day. There is a shower by the steps to the beach so you can rinse the sand off before going in. There is a laundry room and the condos we have stayed in have every kitchen item you could want. There is a big community deck with a great view of the ocean. We now have several family members who come along and rent their own condo. We love it and can't wait to go again next month. We will never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband and I grew up on the East coast of Florida and have never vacationed on the Gulf. Having been in Texas now for 18 years, we were long over due for some serious beach time. For our kids, 6,8 & 9, Capri provided for a wonderful experience. The room was perfect, freshly appointed with comfortable sleeping and everything we needed in the kitchen. Our mornings were spent sitting outside our room watching the dolphins swim and enjoying our coffee, while days on the beach were just a few steps down the path from our room. The staff was extremely friendly upon arrival and during the stay. We loved being ablle to do laundry on site-even at the beach, my kids changed clothes three times a day! We look forward to sharing our gem of a find with friends and family who vacation in Destin! Will return for sure!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capri by the Gulf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri by the Gulf

Address: 3100 Scenic Hwy 98, Destin, FL 32541
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Capri by the Gulf 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Capri by the Gulf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri By The Gulf Hotel Destin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capri by the Gulf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.