We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maravilla

Maravilla
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Destin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maravilla
Save
You added Maravilla to your Saves list
2606 SCENIC HIGHWAY 98, Destin, FL 32541   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a great condo complex especially if you prefer to smaller resorts with less crowds. Maravilla is located on Old 98 which is just across the street from the beach. For those of you who are worried about not being "Beach Front" don’t worry Old 98 is not a busy street so it’s no hassle getting to the beach. The resort was very clean and the specific unit we stayed in was perfect. They have two very nice pools onsite one being beach front while the other is in the center of the complex. It would have been nice if the hot tub was located at the beach front pool however at least they have one.

I can only think of one negative for this complex and that is the fitness area. It’s in desperate need of help, old broken mismatched equipment which need to be thrown away. They would be better off getting rid of the fitness area altogether rather than advertising what they currently have.

Overall we were very satisfied with our stay and would undoubtedly return again. We loved the beach and the location. You are located on a great little road where you can easily walk to many restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    10
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We visited the weekend/week before the 4th and had a fantastic time! The condo and surrounding property was clean and well appointed. My daughter loved the pools! My husband loved people watching from the nice table and chairs on our condos patio too. We love that the condo had a great kitchen for us to prepare lunches to take on the beach! The private beach was gorgeous-so clean and not crowded at all! Our umbrella attendant, Matt was very helpful and prompt in setting up our chairs, always offering assistance if needed. He also readily and fully answered our questions about kayaking in the ocean, which is something we'd wanted to try. He had kayaks available for rent so for around $20 we got to take one out and paddle down the coast. It was so much fun! Matt helped us take the kayak out, showed us how to get in & out, how to paddle, the best direction to take, then pulled the kayak back on shore for us too. Over all, it was such a fun and relaxing stay-exactly what we needed! We rented through www.beachcondosindestin.com and were so pleased with their prices, the beautifully updated property and awesome service. Can't wait to go back! We'll definitely stay in Maravilla again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed in unit 2411 and it was exactly as described online. It is a 1 bedroom but could easily accomodate 6 with bunk beds in the hallway and a pull out couch. The view was amazing as the beach was only steps right across the road. Free beach chairs and umbrellas are furnished daily. We lucked out and it only rained one morning. We had a view of the pool from our balcony. I have read other reviews on here from this weekend and had none of the problems they had. Our unit was on the top floor facing the Gulf. Maravilla is close to everyting but not crowded. This was our first trip to the Gulf and we will continue to visit Destin and stay with Marivilla. #2411 is wonderful!!!!!!!! When in Destin take a ride down beautiful scenic 30A toward Panama City.....beautiful sea side towns with equally amazing views. Also for photo ops, drive toward Fort Walton beach across the bridge. On the left you will see Santa Rosa beach with amazing sunset views on a white sand dune beach :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Point, Mississippi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in unit 1203- luckys hideaway that I found on VRBO.com. We could not have been happier with the unit or owners... Top notch! Photos online are true representation, although I did expect a larger area. It was plenty of space though. I loved being right across from the private beach. We never went early enough to have to wait in a line for the chair people to set us up.. The chair guys were kind of hard to find so we just found a set of chairs that did not have towels or belongings in them. We never used the pools or hot tub.. But they looked nice. Really good location.. Not in the crowded part of Destin so it was calmer. Very nice walking/jogging path out front. My complaints with the grounds were the piles of trash we found and smelled the first 2 days we were there. Guests are supposed to take their trash to the dumpsters but a lot of people just piled it around the all trash cans on the walkways. Also, it was quite noisy Sat, Sun and Friday nights.. I had to wear earplugs in order to fall asleep. I would definitely stay here again, but most of our good experience had to do with the particular unit we chose

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesville, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here through the 4th of July weekend this year. The Condo itself was fine but very small and cramped for 2 families (4 adults, 3 kids 1 toddler + 1 infant). Overall it was relatively clean. There is no one on site to handle issues and the condos are individually owned. The private beach was close, but we couldn't really use it. Since we had children we brought all the gear to include a canopy. The personnel who work for Maravilla condos on the beach were inept to say the least. They were not friendly, did not great us on arrival, seemed more concerned with sitting in their beach chair around their cooler and drinking their beverage. Most importantly they did not explain all the "rules", which there are a lot of prior to getting set up on the beach. They came by after we were all set up and having a great time to tell us we couldn't set up a canopy or put up an umbrella or we were in the wrong chairs, which they set up in error on an adjacent private property, Avalon. When questioned why to all of the above we received a blank stare. As a result we were forced to pack up and drive about a half mile down to a public access beach to utilize our canopy. It completely defeated the purpose of renting/paying for a beachfront condo. We were also there when there was a storm that caused the management to put out a red flag for swimming which included not even touching the water; another abstract rule. We walked back down to the public beach again and played with our children safely in knee high water. Horrible customer service, The lone hot tub in the complex was broken and there was no sense of urgency to fix it. Way too many rules on their private beach. Save your money and find somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: Don't rent here find somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I made our way to the Gulf Coast to meet up with old friends and their 2 children. We had done our research on Maravilla and knew it was a gated community which we liked. Our house was directly across from the beach which was nice to walk too and easy with the children. The home was nice. Comfortable, large enough for 2 families. Had our own swimming pool. Laundry room etc. House was clean and had everything we needed.
I personally found the place nice but not very "kid" friendly. Maybe just the wrong time of the year? Being the 4th of July weekend, it was very rowdy, loud teenagers, cursing, and cars in and out. Most of the noise actually came from the units across from our home. I am a dog lover but barking dogs on the balcony of one of the units, day in and day out. Annoying. Found it hard to sleep as our window faced the barking dog unit.

Everything is close by. Quite a rainy week so us girls and kids spent most of our time shopping at the Destin Commons, Movies, The Track, and a few attractions that we found here on Trip Advisor. (activities for the kids) Traffic was horrible (expected with the holiday)

All in all, Destin lives up to its name only with the white sand and water. And Maravilla would be much better separating from the individual units. In my opinion and those I traveled with this gated community is not kid friendly, at least not in the beginning month of July.

If we travel to Destin again, I will do better research.

Room Tip: If you have children make sure you do your research on quieter areas especially if travelling in on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here with some friends in June of this year. The room was relatively clean. There is no maid service. Trash, Towels, etc. If you have any issues you have to call the person that booked the reservation as there is no one on site and the properties are individually owned I guess. The private beach was close, but we couldn't really use it. We had 2 babies and 1 toddler with us so naturally we had a lot of gear. The beach chair drill instructor disallowed us from putting a 8x8 canopy up, even though we explained we needed to keep the babies out of the sun. So we were forced to pack up and drive about a half mile down to a public access beach. It kind of defeated the purpose of renting/paying for a beachfront condo. Save your money and find somewhere else to stay. Not very family friendly.

Room Tip: Not 2110>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Maravilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maravilla

Address: 2606 SCENIC HIGHWAY 98, Destin, FL 32541
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Number of rooms: 148

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maravilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.