We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Destin - Miramar Beach

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Destin - Miramar Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Destin - Miramar Beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11396 US 98 West, Destin, FL 33025   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 39 hotels in Destin
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Loved our two nights in Candlewood Suites. Everything we needed -- plus quiet, clean, very comfortable bed. I booked this hotel based on reviews and price -- and it exceeded our expectations. Really happy we selected it. Staff was friendly and very helpful. We will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin - Miramar Beach, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Wow! What a nice compliment! We work so hard to make your stay at our hotel the best it can be, and to hear that we "exceeded your expectations" is such great news! We have such a beautiful property and the best staff we could ask for. Each one of our team members strive on a daily basis to go above and beyond to make every one of our guests feel like family while you are here. It's nice after a long day enjoying our piece of paradise to come back to your suite and relax in our "comfy" beds! We get so many compliments on our beds that we have a card in your suite with information on how to order them for your home! We are sorry you were only able to stay for 2 nights, but please come back when you have more time to enjoy all of the wonderful shopping and dining in the area, not to mention soaking up some sun on our beaches!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    66
    21
    6
    11
See reviews for
74
82
24
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I booked this hotel for 2 nights based on other reviews. The front desk was very friendly, although he did make a mistake and put a larger hold on my card than was needed, but as I wasn't feeling too strapped for cash it didn't concern me too much at the time. (He had told me that if he didn't run the charge upon check in that I would have a double rate charge on my card for 14 days) The room was spacious, and seemed clean enough at first glance, although some wear and tear was evident. It wasn't until my teen flipped the duvet over his legs that we realized how disgusting the underneath of the duvets were - honestly don't want to write what we thought was smeared on them. Upon closer inspection we found trash that had not been cleaned off the floor between the bed and the window, We discarded the duvets in corner of room and I spent an hour wiping everything down with antibacterial wipes. We were pretty comfortable after that. I even extended an extra night when business dictated that we stay in town longer than originally intended (another charge on the card even though they were already holding more than the room rate). Be aware that the showers are VERY slippy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin - Miramar Beach, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our property. You are a valued guest of ours and we apologize that your stay wasn't the best. We are changing our policies on our debit cards to prevent those unnecessary holds. We know it is an inconvenience while you are on a business trip and hope that it was resolved in a timely manner for you. I have spoken with our housekeeping staff about how we can prevent an oversight in the future as far as the cleanliness of our duvets go. We certainly would like to know as soon as you experience a problem so that we can make it right. You should never have to do any cleaning once you get to the room and truly apologize that you were not happy. Thank you for extending your stay with us and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the type of stay that we are known for. At Candlewood, we value your opinions and thank you for letting us know how we can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. I liked the room set up. Recliner and computer desk provided and comfortable bed. Full kitchen with all necessary basic cooking equipment, toaster, even wine glasses. Breakfast not provided but this is clearly noted when reserving. On site convenience market or grocery stores are nearby. Located on the main highway but the room was very quiet. East of main downtown but easy to get to everything. Charlie at front desk and others were so helpful with local recommendations. They also helped us with a fax - no problem. Would definitely choose this location again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I was on a business trip and the other hotel was twice the money, so decided to look for another. Checked this out on TripAdvisor and everything was so true. The room was spotless, the exterior was also clean, the pool was maintained daily - I was outside because I smoke. I have no complaints. My room smelled clean also. Everyone at the front desk helpful, but Charlie was willing to put up with all my incessant questions. Outlet mall less than a mile down 98, if that is your thing. Great experience, would definitely go back if in Destin area.

Room Tip: No restaurant, but they do have a cupboard, no room service except weekly, but if you need clean tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I origionally came here with my husbands job. It is so nice here... the people are charming and so willing to share there knowledge with you.. I may not have a pet but I do appreciate they are a pet friendly hotel. This place is comforting and NEVER once worried about my safety.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I along with some friends booked this Hotel on Hotwire. They never told us it was a Dog Friendly Hotel. And that means EVERY ROOM! If you have allergies this is not the place for you. I love dogs but you need to let people know this up front. The rooms smelled like dog, the furniture was tattered and when we checked in during the evening the clerk had no idea about the area nor could he have cared less. The rooms to be fair were clean despite the smell. I do not smoke, but found it ironic that the Hotel although smelled like dog, would Cigarette smoke make a big difference, really?

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Didn't know what to expect staying at a Candlewood Suites for the first time, as I usually stay at Marriott properties. This hotel was clean and I could tell the property is well maintained. The bed and pillows were extremely comfy as another reviewer suggested. Staff was very friendly and offered up suggestions of nearby places to eat (Plenty of options to choose from). Couldn't ask for anything more with my stay here. Would definitely stay again next time I am in the Destin area.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Destin - Miramar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Destin - Miramar Beach

Address: 11396 US 98 West, Destin, FL 33025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Destin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Destin
#8 Family Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Destin - Miramar Beach 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Destin Miramar-Beach Sandestin Area is an All-Suite, extended-stay hotel. Ideally located between Destin and Sandestin, the Candlewood Suites Destin features studio and one-bedroom suites inclusive of full kitchens, recliners, couches, flat-panel HDTVs, and a variety of bed types. Hotel amenities also include FREE WIFI, FREE Guest Laundry, Outdoor Swimming Pool, 24-hour Gym, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Candlewood Suites Destin - Miramar Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Destin - Miramar Beach Hotel Destin
Candlewood Destin
Destin Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Destin - Miramar Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.