We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Destin - Miramar Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Destin - Miramar Beach to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Destin - Miramar Beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11396 US 98 West, Destin, FL 33025   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Destin
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We chose this hotel due to it's pet friendly policy. The staff was friendly and it was very clean. You could tell they take special care to make sure it stays that way. The parking was initially an issue as we have a very large truck and boat attached so we took up some space but management was understanding and did not hassle us about taking up so many spaces. I would not recommend their fitness center though, the equipment was old and did not move very well. Run on the beach instead :) We only spent one night but we would have been comfortable staying there longer if needed. Would def stay there again, in fact I am booking a room now for an upcoming trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin - Miramar Beach, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Desr Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of our hotel. We know how important it is that you are able to bring your pet when traveling and what an important part of our lives that they are! We love them too!! Your comment concerning our fitness center is very mportant and we will look into it right away.

So how did you like running on that soft but beautiful Sugar, white sand next to that beautiful emerald green water? Bet you got a great workout and I know the scenery was awesome.

So gald we could accomodate your boat and truck too. It was our pleasure and we hope you will return soon! Thank you again for taking the time to tell us about your stay.

Sincerely,

Keith MYers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    75
    23
    6
    14
See reviews for
90
92
25
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Okay Stay – Be Prepared for Traffic!
Stayed here July 12th - 15th to fish and visit the local beach. Room for the most part was clean; however the pillows did have hairs on them of various lengths. Cleaning service attendant quickly replaced them. The front desk attendant was very courteous, helpful and friendly and even called once we got to the room to see if everything was okay.

During the peak season, the traffic outside is horrendous and it seems there needs to be more traffic lights. The white sandy beaches were nice and clean. Be aware this hotel is far from a lot of area attractions.

When we were traveling in the early morning, the drives were not that bad; however as the day goes on a short drive becomes a very long one. The good side is that being that everything is located off Emerald Coast Prkwy…at least things are easy to find.

Even after my statements above that doesn’t mean this area is not a nice place to stay…especially if you are just looking to hang out on the beach and dine at local restaurants. I have no problem staying here again if I had to but would prefer to stay closer to Destin and Fort Walton Beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We chose this hotel based on their Tripadvisor ranking and the fact that they were a Priority Club hotel. Not ever having been to Destin, FL before, I had no idea exactly how far this hotel was from area attractions. Upon arriving and checking in, we were not recognized as Priority Club members. At every Priority Club hotel I have ever stayed at, besides one other hotel, we have always been given some sort of small gift or perk for being club members. Usually its either a bar coupon for a free drink if there is a bar within the hotel or a small drink or snack from the lobby snack room. This will have been the second time we were not offered anything.

While waiting for the elevator to go up to the second floor out of only four floors, it seemed like it took forever. This was the case throughout the two nights we were here. You could hear the elevator stop on your floor, but the doors wouldn't open up for a thirty seconds to a minute. This was a large annoyance during our trip since the stairs were no where in sight.

After getting to the room, we noticed that it was clean and spacious. While the hallways smelled odd, the room smelled fresh. It wasn't until later during the first night that we realized our air conditioner wasn't working properly. Come to find out, it's set up on a sensor system. Basically, it is set up to detect when you are in the room and when you are not in the room. Apparently, our room didn't function properly which let to it getting very hot and humid overnight. We did not sleep well at all which was extremely disappointing because it was our anniversary and we were miserable the whole night.

When we brought this up to the front desk, they acted like it was not possible and that there was nothing that could be done about it. They told us that they system is supposed to know when you are in the room, but that it's not based off of a movement sensor in the room, but rather a door sensor that somehow knows when your entering or exiting the room. They also advised that sometimes the sensor can get confused on whether your entering or exiting the room and it possibly thought we were not in the room that night. Coincidentally, the A/C would only turn on when it got so hot that I had to get up. To me this indicated there was a motion sensor for the room, not just a door sensor. We were surprised that the front desk clerk didn't offer to look at the A/C or just move us to a different room. The next night, we went through the same thing. It was extremely hot until I got up and moved around. Mind you, we had the A/C set on the lowest setting. This caused it to get really really cold when it was running, but hot after a while of being asleep.

As far as location goes, it's about a twenty minute drive up the main road to most of the main attractions. Miramar beach is pretty close which was nice, but this is the only thing. With heavy traffic, it took even longer to get where you needed to go. During rush hour times, this was the case.

At the very end when we checked out, we had the opportunity to speak with the manager. He was very nice and seemed very concerned about the issues we had. He was very apologetic and said they would have someone check on the A/C. While this was nice, it didn't help us during our stay. Someone should have been sent up to check on it the first time we complained about it. Overall, it wasn't worth the price we paid to stay here considering how uncomfortable we were during the stay. Had the A/C worked correctly, our only issue would have been the location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Destin - Miramar Beach, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Stephen S,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the air conditioning issue you experienced. I understand the discomfort this caused you. This issue will be addressed immediately. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Hill, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My friend and I booked this vacation about 10 days before leaving to head to Destin. Things I loved about the accommodations -- every room has a full refrigerator, you have total control of room temp, beds are VERY comfortable, and the staff (in particular Jared W. and Jaime C.) and GM (Keith Myers) is top of the line!! They are friendly, helpful and accommodating - and consistently go out of their way to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable. Mr. Myers jumped in and helped honor our late check-out request! Jaime & Jared gave us great tips on local restaurants, and the best places to head for beach time.

Downfalls -
* housekeeping does not come during your visit - (not a big deal in some respects, but if you get sand on the floor, you're screwed)
* pray that you don't get Olympic athletes above you -- We had some runners in the room above ours and they stomped on the floor all night! (I think these athletes might have been children but they sounded like a herd of elephants). We did call the front desk, and the noise somewhat subsided.
* Because they do not have daily housekeeping, expect to do a daily towel exchange! Again, not a big deal - but can be annoying... On the bright side - they offer complimentary washers/dryers for your use :)
And last but not least -- if you're on vacation, don't get in a rush at the elevator.. you're NOT going anywhere quickly.. just accept it... You're on vacation - relax.

We will DEFINITELY stay here again -- and recommend this place to friends and family.

Room Tip: TOP Floor is your best choice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had a very good experience with this hotel. We had two small dogs and there were no problems at all. The first floor seemed to be dedicated to pets and there were many animal lovers. The location was very nice. We went to some excellent restaurants just across the street, the beach was about 1/2 a mile, the outlet was .9 miles and Grand Boulevard was a little over a mile up 98. I enjoyed how friendly the staff were while still taking care of everyone. The gym had a good choice of equipment which is very rare in hotels. All in all it was a very good experience.

Room Tip: One of the best for pets
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This place is nice for the price as compared to many beach/oceanfront type rentals which go for twice the amount per night in Destin. It has a full kitchen, and ample room for a 3-4 person family. The place does not have balconies,which makes it hard to dry out wet suits and towels for free (although the hotel has pay laundry facilities). The facility/rooms are very clean and modern, and the bed was very comfortable. Front desk is very nice.
The hotel is about 20 minutes (at least) from Destin attractions during highway 98 traffic. It is about 5 minutes driving to a beach, so that was not bad. The water color is gorgeous -but the waves were far too rough for our little guy to play safely, so we spent most of the time in the hotel pool. The pool is somewhat small, but there were never many people in it when we were there. It was clean. The cabana area could have used some extra cleaning due to patrons putting out their cigarettes on the ground.
Ample parking at the hotel. I found it surprising that the people were complaining about the lack of maid service. The front desk explains this upfront because they are an extended stay hotel, and you always have the option of getting new towels at the front desk. Who needs their bed sheets changed daily anyways?
We found there was alot to do in the Destin area, but the traffic was terrible there. There are tons of restaurants and shopping so you are never without.
All in all, it was a nice trip, but I doubt I would return to the area. Too busy for me!

Room Tip: We had the king suite which was nice. The kids slept in the pull out sofa in the living room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

First, the staff was wonderful. Everyone was friendly and helpful. They were courteous and attentive to anything we requested. The hotel was very clean. They do allow pets but you would never know that dogs were on property unless you saw one. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The common areas were also very clean and well kept. I would highly recommend this hotel for any traveler, business or personal. It is located near many local shopping and dining areas. And you are just a short drive to the beach. Jaime is the Operations Manager and she is FABULOUS!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Destin - Miramar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Destin - Miramar Beach

Address: 11396 US 98 West, Destin, FL 33025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Destin
#4 Family Hotel in Destin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Destin - Miramar Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Destin Miramar-Beach Sandestin Area is an All-Suite, extended-stay hotel. Ideally located between Destin and Sandestin, the Candlewood Suites Destin features studio and one-bedroom suites inclusive of full kitchens, recliners, couches, flat-panel HDTVs, and a variety of bed types. Hotel amenities also include FREE WIFI, FREE Guest Laundry, Outdoor Swimming Pool, 24-hour Gym, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Destin - Miramar Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Destin - Miramar Beach Hotel Destin
Candlewood Destin
Destin Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Destin - Miramar Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.