We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, but bring your own, toilet paper, shampoo, trash liners, etc. ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms of Destin Resort and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Palms of Destin Resort and Conference Center to your Saves list
The Palms of Destin Resort and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   4201 Indian Bayou Trail, Destin, FL 32541   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome, but bring your own, toilet paper, shampoo, trash liners, etc. ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel - my husband, 2 teenagers and I. Actually you know it's a nice hotel when your teenagers walk in and are immediately impressed with and love their rooms! It isn't directly on the beach, but the beach is an easy walk away. It is a beautiful condo, and our deck was breezy and overlooked the lagoon pools and bar/restaurant. There was live music several nights - really everything you could want to relax!

Cons - the spa is closed Mondays, the only day we could go :(. They don't replenish ANY supplies, as in toilet paper, shampoo, trash can liners, coffee ... so you must go shopping upon arrival unless you're only staying one night - we found this rather annoying and unnecessary on their part - really, how expensive are these items to provide? Also there is no room service, although you can carry it up yourself :)

But we loved it and will return - armed with supplies next time. We loved it!

Room Tip: We loved our pool view on the 10th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisionaryDestin, General Manager at The Palms of Destin Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Palms of Destin for your family vacation this year. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed the resort accommodations and luxury amenities offered during your stay. Considering that we are a resort condominium association and not a traditional hotel, we do provide the first day service for the in-room conveniences.

We are ideally located next to Destin’s best shopping areas in order for families to stock up on vacation necessities for cooking in our fully equipped kitchens. We look forward to your return and the opportunity to provide you and your family with many happy memories. Thank you again!

Sincerely,

David Hess
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    27
    19
    14
    19
See reviews for
70
14
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dalla
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I was recently at Palms of Destin Resort for 4 nights. Although the place was nice the service was terrible. We were a family of 22 or so that drove 15hrs over night to get there. When i booked the resorts (rooms) several weeks before arriving they had told me that we were going to get check in as early as possible if not by 4pm. When we got there they were strick and mean about our check in time. We were told we were getting check in by 4 pm so we had to wait in the lobby or in the pool until 4pm. When the time came by and we went to the front desk to check in we were told that the check in time began a 4pm - 6pm. Supposably the rooms were ready but they had to do inspection. So we had to wait untill almsot 5pm to get check in and that was because we started pressuring them, we were all tired because of the trip they had no consideration at all what so ever. The main reason we got there early is because i spoke to (Angela) and she was the one who said they could get us in earlier than check in time. I guess i should never trust people like that and read the fine print letters on the confirmation. To make things worst check out time is 10 am. They charge you for a full day but you check in at 4pm - 6pm and check out 10 am now thats a rip off. Once we were in there was no service on those 4 nights and if you wanted any service it was additional cost.

Watch out they are also racist!!!

We went to play tennis at there tennis courts on one night at around 11pm. We got kick out by security as soon as we turn the lights on because he said they closed at 10pm. But the following nights even at midnight their were people (white folks) playing and i saw they spent 30min to an 1hr playing but never saw security go kick them out.

When we were in the pool we couldn't dive in a 8 ft deep pool because we would set a bad example to kids. So after we were taking our first few dives we were stop by some lady that was monitoring the area of the pool. Next these white folks come and dive infront of the lady's face and all she did was turn around and walk away.

Over all I STRONGLY SUGGEST to look else where for a place to stay if you are traveling to Destin Fl

Room Tip: Rooms on another Hotel. Palms of Destin Resort not Recommendable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisionaryDestin, General Manager at The Palms of Destin Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for staying at The Palms of Destin Resort & Conference Center. We pride ourselves in being a family-friendly resort hotel and appreciate your feedback, as it allows us to continue to better our guests’ experience.

We make every attempt to check our guests in as early as possible; however, we must adhere to these policies to assure that the rooms are thoroughly cleaned and inspected in order to provide the highest standard of quality and cleanliness.

The examples you provided do not reflect the values and principles of our staff but I would like to apologize for any misgivings you may have felt or experienced.

In regard to your issues with the pool and using the tennis courts late at night we must hold fast to our mandatory safety rules in order to provide the safest environment for our guests and owners, hence the no diving policy and required closing times on the courts.

Again, thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. I hope we have the opportunity of hosting you again at The Palms of Destin Resort.

Sincerely,

David Hess
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We recently booked our annual family vacation. Only 4 hours of beach time until Tropical Storm Debbie arrived. Spoke with front desk staff who, unaware that the hotel did have an weather clause, informed us that under a Tropical Storm Warning, we would be refunded balance of our stay. This was after checking with the manager on duty that day. Our printed receipt shows a credit balance, however, just informed by another manager today that there will be no credit since we were not forced to evacuate. The receipt "just prints that way" and cannot be credited since the payment has already been made to the owner of the unit.
Very dishonest and have already filed with BBB.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisionaryDestin, General Manager at The Palms of Destin Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We are sorry that Tropical Storm Debbie affected your travel plans to The Palms of Destin Resort.
We truly appreciate your understanding that we must abide by the Hurricane Policy that is strictly defined in our policies and procedures as follows: Refunds will not be issued unless The National Hurricane Center advises that we are in a named “Hurricane Warning Area”.
A $50.00 Cancellation processing fee will be charged for cancelled reservations. Visionary Destin will refund: 1) Any unused portion of rent from a guest currently registered. 2) Any unused portion of rent from a guest that is scheduled to arrive and wants to shorten their stay to come in after the warning has been lifted; and 3) Any advance rents collected or deposits for a reservation scheduled to arrive during the warning period.

Myself, the General Manager, David Hess spoke with this guest and came to a satisfactory resolution. We look forward to hosting this family as our guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed 4 nights recently, it was our second visit and we were disappointed.

The pros: very nice, spacious 2 bed 2 bath rooms with nice furniture and televisions. The pool area is very nice, large with zero depth entry and numerous waterfalls.

The cons: no service whatsoever. Other than what's in the room when you arrive, no toilet paper, no paper towels, no trash bags, no detergent or soap, no towels, and no cleaning service (unless you pay extra). For an average cost of $300+ per night (they add in fees) I expect a little service. This minimalist attitude made me feel like they were ripping me off.
The restaurant (Sago) is sub-par and very expensive. Also, it was closed during peak hours to support a cheerleader convention. The staff weren't helpful, just apologetic. I expect more for my money.

Room Tip: East tower with pool views offers great sunsets. Make sure you get a west facing room if you want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisionaryDestin, General Manager at The Palms of Destin Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed the luxury resort accommodations as well as the pool and surrounding areas.

We are proud to be Destin’s largest lagoon pool and have received many accolades for its ability to provide our guests with an incredible vacation experience.

I regret that you did not find the first day in-room amenities that we provide to not be adequate or enough of a value. We are however, conveniently located next to a discount shopping area so you may acquire the additional necessities for your vacation.

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention, and I hope we have the opportunity of providing you with further vacations in the future.

Sincerely,

David Hess
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Great unit. Very large, 2 bedroom, 2 bath and full kitchen. Perfect space for a family of 4. Having the full kitchen to cook saves a lot of money and time waiting at restaurants, although we ate out a couple of nights. The surrounding area is great. The pool is amazing for kids and there is a daily kids activity. Unit very clean and loved having a washer and dryer in there. Great family vaca on the emerald coast.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Marketing Director of Visionary Destin at The Palms of Destin Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you ever so kindly for promoting our resort so well and mentioning all of the amenities that we offer. However, what is most important to us is that your time here was memorable and pleasant! We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours make it all worthwhile.

I hope that we can continue to exceed all of your vacationing needs in the future. Please find us on Facebook and post some of your favorite vacation photos.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We recently stayed 4 nights for a meeting with my husband's work. We loved that we were in condos which had all the luxuries of home as well as being very nicely decorated. The pool was also very nice.

A few of the downfalls included that the resort is not on the beach, though it is a quick bus ride that's provided. I felt that the staff didn't particularly care to help. I also can't say enough about how the food wasn't up to par. I've never been so disappointed in the food. To start they set up a buffet breakfast for the group. Usually you can't go wrong, ha! The eggs smelled funny, the bacon was half cooked, and we were given cold pastries. The thing that bugged me the most was that we were drinking from disposable cups. I've been to enough of these meetings and other functions to know that our company pays more then enough and I can't figure out why we were using disposables. (I know that sounds so snobby and at home we use them, I just feel with the money put out we could get real glasses.) Besides the breakfast all of our dinners were pretty bland and most of the group agreed.

To sum it up, if you go on your own and don't plan to eat there or mind that you aren't on the beach I think it's a pretty nice place. If you are looking for eager staff to help and wonderful food, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisionaryDestin, General Manager at The Palms of Destin Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you expressing your appreciation of the resort suites and facilities; however, I am disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations while staying with us here at The Palms of Destin Resort & Conference Center.

We offer a complimentary shuttle service to the beach daily that I hope you were able to take advantage of during your stay.

Please know that your concerns regarding our restaurant and service are taken seriously and if you would like to discuss this further, please feel free to contact me directly.

Thank you again and we look forward to hosting your annual conference again next year.

Sincerely,

David Hess
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

From the difficulty of making a reservation "nobody here on weekends to help you" to the time we checked out, 2 hour extension granted but the keys to the room stopped working, the service at this hotel was awful. The staff at the front desk were rude and uninterested.

The Hotel itself, and the accommodations, were very nice but with employees who acted as if looking after the guests were a burden I would not go back nor recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you must go request a room on a higher floor overlooking the pool. Otherwise you could be overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Marketing Director at The Palms of Destin Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your response and feedback from your recent vacation to The Palms of Destin Resort. We are glad that you all enjoyed the accommodations, the resort amenities and the gulf views.

I would also like to address your concerns regarding our Visionary Destin staff. I want to inform you that we, as of very recently, have required the entire staff to undergo an extensive training in customer service and hospitality. We are determined to increase the service levels provided up to a 5 star rating. This is a work in progress and we are already seeing tremendous results and receiving fantastic compliments.

We look forward to your return to the Emerald Coast and would love to host your family vacation again.

Sincerely,

Allyson Dyas
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palms of Destin Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms of Destin Resort and Conference Center

Address: 4201 Indian Bayou Trail, Destin, FL 32541
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Destin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Destin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms of Destin Resort and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms of Destin offers spacious one, two, and three bedroom vacation rentals with flat screen televisions, fully equipped kitchens, washer and dryer, two full baths, balconies with sliding glass doors overlooking our lagoon pool, the Gulf of Mexico, and the city of Destin, Florida. As an exclusive guest at the Palms of Destin you may enjoy Destin’s largest lagoon pool beneath the palms, relax with peaceful spa treatments inspired from the Polynesian islands at the Royal Palm Spa, or simply enjoy our luxurious designer vacation rental amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TRIPSHOCK.COM and Hotels.com so you can book your The Palms of Destin Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Of Destin Hotel Destin
Palms Hotel Destin
Destin Palms Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms of Destin Resort and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.