We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Wait” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cucina MIO - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cucina MIO
16950 Jog Rd, Ste 101, Delray Beach, FL 33446-2353
561-499-9419
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We tried to eat here a few months ago during "season" and didn't want to wait. So, we gave it another try recently and it would still be worth the wait. The bar only seats 8, too small and there are only 2 chairs to sit and wait inside; you have to wait outside - which could be too hot and humid during the summer. They open at 5pm and we got there at 6 - it was packed and we had to wait a bit (maybe 20 minutes), but we're glad we did. The restaurant isn't very big and of course, somewhat loud. The decor is that of an Italian village courtyard, surrounded by exterior building facades - very nice. It took a bit for the waiter to come over, somewhat disappointing but in the end the portions were generous and the entrees were excellent. If you don't see what you want on the menu, ask, as there are standard dishes you'd expect to see in an Italian restaurant - they just don't list them. There is a wait for this place, regardless the time you get there - which speaks volumes; but it's worth it!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Quality & Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

This was our second visit and it was just as delicious as the first time. The small waiting area leaves something to be desired but the crowded area speaks volumes of the restaurant's quality of food...people will wait because it is worth it! And the price is just unbelievable for the quality. My husband and I always have leftover lunch the next day! The quaint atmosphere lends itself to the quality service and food that is prepared with great attention. This is a must-try in a city where so many overpriced restaurants dominate the scene. Cucina Mio's is true gem.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Amazing Value in Boca/Delray”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

My wife and I are regulars...can't be this quality food for the price you are paying...service is also exquisite...winner!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Food, Large Portions & Friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

I was brought here by friends who are "regulars" at Cucina Mio. It used to be Cucina Rosano but now it is run by just the wife. I didnt want to go because of a past experience with the husband who is not very nice. But, I read a review in the Sun sentinel where the reviewer called it the"Cheers of Delray" The review was so nice that I decided to let my friends "drag me there" Everyone was greeted warmly by the manager who was walking around constantly checking on tables and chatting with guests. There was a wait when we arrived even though my friends did call ahead. The bartender was jovial and you could tell all the diners at the bar were regulars too (The cheers of Delray - I see why) He was warm and his drinks were generous. When i joked with him about this he smiled and said, I do because the owner allows me too. Good for her! Too many times you go someplace and they pour with a measure. When I have a drink, I would like a drink. Now let's talk about THE FOOD!! Best Italian Food in the area, hands down. We started with a Nuts about you salas with raisins and gorgonzola and different nuts. The vinaigrette dressing was amazing. The Veal Chop was so tender I could cut it with a knife. We also had the pasta with the mushrooms in a cream sauce which was so good it was sinful. Our server Jordan was a nice as can be. It was a great experience. I will be back and I will recommend it!

Visited December 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cucina MIO also viewed

 
Delray Beach, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cucina MIO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.