We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel and Cabana Club

Save Saved
You added Colony Hotel and Cabana Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
525 East Atlantic Ave., Delray Beach, FL 33483   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 hotels in Delray Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Always Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is not the first time we have stayed and won't be our last. It is a Great place to stay you will not be disappointed. Keep in mind that this is a pet friendly hotel, so you will see dogs out on the patio and in the hotel. Every once in a while you may hear a bark.
Everyone of the staff is so friendly and helpful. The breakfast is an extended continental breakfast. You will enjoy having your breakfast out on the front patio. This Hotel is Historic and the elevator is the original, there is even an elevator operator. Rooms are beautiful, clean and the bed is oh so comfortable, great night sleep.
The Colony is in walking distance to everything. We always stay where we can park our car and not get back into it until it is time for us to go home. The Colony has a beautiful Cabana Club and they suggest you take the trolly to and from. Check out time is at 11am but you are welcomed to spend the day there or at the Cabana club. There is a pool and you are steps away from the beach. We really Enjoy our visits.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    103
    21
    11
    8
See reviews for
59
151
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boca Raton, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We recently used The Colony Hotel as the hotel for our daughters destination wedding guests. Everyone loved it ! It is a beautiful historic hotel. It fit perfectly into our vintage themed wedding. We were given an exceptionally good rate for our guests which included breakfast. After the wedding the guests were pleasantly surprised to find entertainment and a bar in the lobby. Not to mention the great location right on Atlantic Ave with all the great stuff it has to offer. Most of the guests used the pool and beach club and took advantage of the free shuttle.The beach has recently been refurbished and is huge ! If you are looking for an alternative to the usual mundane modern hotel this is the place for you ! The only minor problem we had was one of our guests had a broken foot and scooter. Being a historic hotel it does not have handicapped provisions. The staff at the hotel pitched in to help him the best they could making detours in and out of the kitchen with him when he could not navigate the stairs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The hotel has bags of character .... if you like garish mismatched colours. The room was clean and the bed comfortable but the air con was a bit loud.

The breakfasts were mean and not very good. Once breakfast was over you could not get tea or coffee anywhere in the hotel, not even the bar. My wife found a nail protruding from her chair one morning at breakfast.

The bar guy was fine and helpful but the choice really was limited. If no customers came in he might just close early.

Only one very old lift which could only be used if staff were available.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else. But if you must, try the rear of the hotel to avoid the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel has a lot of character, and offers you a hotel with Old Florida Charm. That being said, it's very simple. There is breakfast and free yoga. That's about it. There is not an exercise room that I could find.

It's in a great location for food and shops, but it's not as close to the beach as you can get. It's about a five minute drive to the Cabana Club. The Club is quiet and nice with friendly staff.

The hotel staff is very friendly. Their computer was working, and I needed to print something and the staff behind the desk found a way to make that happen.

It's a simple hotel in a great location worth the price if you don't mind driving to the beach or taking their shuttle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We had a nice stay.
Great location could walk anywhere on Atlantic Ave.
You can drive to the hotels private beach. Great pool, chairs service.
The hotel has a fascinating history
The daily breakfast is good and the yoga classes offered were a surprise.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Great Historic Hotel with Florida "flair" and loads of character! Without exception, our guests loved their stay at the Hotel and the reception (at the Hotel's Cabana Club on the beach) was perfect! Service was excellent, most notably for me anyway @ the lobby bar, where Wes recalled my name from a visit in March. ;-)
The hotel is within walking distance of the A1A Hwy / public beach but more importantly is in the heart of the Atlantic Ave area surrounded by great restaurants!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I went back specifically to stay at the colony after having taken a picture of it when we went to a meeting at the Marriott in Delray Beach. It reminded me of some place Hemmingway would have stayed only updated with bright beautiful colors that I adored. The staff was friendly and accommodating; the buffet breakfasts in the lobby were bountiful and allowed for friendly conversation among the guests. The elevator was a relic that they ran for you as a service like in an old time dept. store. The room was clean- you could eat off the floors. They will shuttle you down to their Cabana Club right on the water. We were late one day and they turned around and came back for us. How nice is that? We'll be back.oh, and they have a flamingo guitarist one night a week on the patio steps, just outside their bar.

Room Tip: I like an "orange" floor. (They alternated greens/turquoise and coral/oranges) We could wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colony Hotel and Cabana Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel and Cabana Club

Address: 525 East Atlantic Ave., Delray Beach, FL 33483
Location: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Delray Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Delray Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Delray Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Delray Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
historic Florida charm in a select service downtown hotel with a private oceanfront beach club ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Colony Hotel and Cabana Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colony Hotel And Cabana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Hotel and Cabana Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.