We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beach club chairs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel and Cabana Club

Save Saved
You added Colony Hotel and Cabana Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
525 East Atlantic Ave., Delray Beach, FL 33483   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 hotels in Delray Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lake Worth, Florida
1 review
“beach club chairs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stay over the weekend.... It Overall was great! Room with small but fine for the 2 of us. Breakfast in the am was great.. eggs, bacon, oatmeal, juices,toast, fruit ...It was yummy. The only bad part was down at the beach club. It has a nice pool and is very cute. They have chairs set up but they are close to the seagrass. We wanted to be close to the water, when asked about it.. We were told umberlla's are right there in the box ( pointed to them ) i said so you dont mind us taking one down to the beach, He said no help yourself. It was fine becuase we are young, But we had to drag 2 chairs and the umberlla down to the water. ;( Just not full service. We are on vaction. If I wanted to drag my own stuff down to the beach I would have stayed home and drove to the beach myself. FYI... the beach is having some work and there is a HUGE medal pipe going down the beach, so to see in the chairs by the grass you really cant see the waves break. Nothing the hotel can do, but it just meant that we had to carry chiars up and over a hill that was made of sand over teh pipe.

Room Tip: ask for a room away form the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    104
    21
    11
    8
See reviews for
59
153
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a great visit at eh Colony Hotel. The hotel is sort of laid back has a nice vibe. It has been nicely restored with wood floors and vibrant colors. The furnishings evoke the 1920's character of the building. The breakfast was good and the service was excellent. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. The beach club was also pretty laid back, which was exactly what we were looking for. The beach is beatiful and the salt water pool was a nice alternative to the ocean.

We liked having the hotel in the center of the town so we could walk to restaurants and bars, and it was a short drive to the beach which was fine. It was the best of both worlds.

Room Tip: We had a superior king on the west side, 2nd floor and it was quite and the sun did not wake us up i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed here a couple of years ago and was just as wonderful as remembered. This time we had a superior king room and it was very clean, roomy and perfect. The breakfast is good, esp the homemade muffins they make. My only suggestion is during the each replenishment, they have someone help carry the chairs and umbrellas on the beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen, Norway
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Our stay of 8 days was very comfortable and easy. The room was cozy, the bed was very comfortable, a very nice breakfast and friendly staff. Great location being in the middle og Atlantic Ave. with everything it has to offer and there was only a 5 min. walk to the beach. The only thing I wished was different was that we had a very small bathroom. But since the hotel is located in a historic building, this is understandable. I also heard that this is not the case in every room.
I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a room with a decent size bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Colony Hotel is our most favorite stop in Florida. We fell in love with it's historic charm, location and staff at the hotel and as well The Colony Cabana Club. You feel like you went back in time. It is Simplistic and Well Maintained. One of the many features is that you can be right in town and enjoy the many aspects of Delray's downtown without have to drive there. Also they have Yoga Classes everyday at the hotel in which guest are given a discounted rate. The breakfast is very plentiful and comes with the room rate. We feel at home here and everyone really makes you feel welcome.
The Colony Cabana Club on the ocean is also part of your stay and it is well worth every penny. There is a shuttle as well you can drive your own car. There is a very nice salt water pool,showers,plenty of beach front with plenty of chairs and umbrellas and most of all the towels are white and fluffy. The lunches are yummy and again the staff is so nice all around.

The Colony Hotel is a family owned business and the owner Justena Boughton takes great care of her properties and is personally involved in every aspect of running it. She is an absolutely delightful lady, who you can see daily moving about the hotel making sure everything is just right. She has done a beautiful job in preserving the charm of the place.

We stay at The Colony Hotel in Kennebunkport, Maine in the summer as well and love it there also.

Both hotels are Certified Green Hotels which we think is just Great!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The Colony Hotel was the perfect place for our family vacation--each day beginning with a delicious breakfast and ending with drinks in the colorful lobby. The Colony has the advantage of a walkable location, close to terrific restaurants, Starbucks, shops, and not too far from the beach. Although the beach was under restoration at the Cabana Club, the amenities at the club were terrific and the staff very friendly. The daily yoga classes were lead by excellent instructors and I'd highly recommend the Sunday morning class with live music. Delray Beach in general was a great locale for a spring break get away. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: We had 3 separate rooms and the superior king was roomy enough for 5 to gather in for cocktails befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have to admit that my first impression was not great but after a few hours it grew on me. The location is perfect because you are in town with all the great restaurants and shopping but also close enough to walk to the ocean. The front porch was my favorite spot. We sat out there with a cocktail before dinner people watching and also enjoyed our breakfast out there. The only reason I didn't give it an excellent rating is because it was very noisy at night. Being that it is such an old building with wood floors you could hear every time someone walked down the hallway and as luck would have it we had very loud drunk teenagers that woke us up several times between 3 am and 5:30 am. The day we checked out we took advantage of spending the day at the Pool and Cabana club which was excellent. We had an amazing lunch and spent the whole day by the pool. It was great because we could shower and change before heading out. I last time we were in Delray we stayed at the Marriott and I would have to say I would definitely stay at the Colony Hotel when we return because of the location and the Cabana Club.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colony Hotel and Cabana Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel and Cabana Club

Address: 525 East Atlantic Ave., Delray Beach, FL 33483
Location: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Delray Beach
#2 Green Hotel in Delray Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Delray Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Delray Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
historic Florida charm in a select service downtown hotel with a private oceanfront beach club ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Colony Hotel and Cabana Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colony Hotel And Cabana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Hotel and Cabana Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.