We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Hotel and Cabana Club

Save Saved
You added Colony Hotel and Cabana Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
525 East Atlantic Ave., Delray Beach, FL 33483   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 hotels in Delray Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have to admit that my first impression was not great but after a few hours it grew on me. The location is perfect because you are in town with all the great restaurants and shopping but also close enough to walk to the ocean. The front porch was my favorite spot. We sat out there with a cocktail before dinner people watching and also enjoyed our breakfast out there. The only reason I didn't give it an excellent rating is because it was very noisy at night. Being that it is such an old building with wood floors you could hear every time someone walked down the hallway and as luck would have it we had very loud drunk teenagers that woke us up several times between 3 am and 5:30 am. The day we checked out we took advantage of spending the day at the Pool and Cabana club which was excellent. We had an amazing lunch and spent the whole day by the pool. It was great because we could shower and change before heading out. I last time we were in Delray we stayed at the Marriott and I would have to say I would definitely stay at the Colony Hotel when we return because of the location and the Cabana Club.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    103
    21
    11
    8
See reviews for
59
151
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the Colony. It is a historic hotel in the Florida boom time tradition with its large front porch, bar right off the porch, high ceilings in the rooms and lobby and everywhere. Very well decorated as you can see in the pictures, and it also has a private beach and club on the ocean. You can walk to fun places to eat and listen to music. If you don’t have fun and enjoy yourself, its your fault. There is a modern Marriot Hotel just two blocks east if modern hotel is what you want, but the Colony is a step into the past, with flapper fun, but sophisticated feel. We are not unsophisticated travelers. We have stayed in London, Paris, Rome, Oslo, New York, and if you are going to Delray, I think this would be a blast from the past. You can always stay at a Marriot.

Room Tip: It does have a large parking lot in the back, and that view is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in early March We reserved one of the large deluxe rooms and though we had a flexible reservation as soon as we reserved the room they charged one night to our credit card. when we checked in they charged the remaining to our card,sure does not make you feel that they trust you.
I asked if there was any complimentary coffee available and I got alook like I had just arrived from Mars.The elevator was one you could not operate yourself,a staff member had to take you up and down.The room was less than basic with slat windows that let the sound of every motorcycle from Atlantic ave into the room as well as the noise of the trains that blew through even in the middle of the night The bathroom had no vanities and a small old showerhead fixed to the wall
The breakfast was very basic and on two of the four days the scrambled eggs were cold and solidifying.I tried to speak to the lady in attendance but she did not understand English
The hotel allows yoga classes to be held in one of the rooms with upto 40 people attending,of course this made it difficult for guests to park in the lot when these classes were on
Security was not good as the door to the parking lot was open all day
Dont expect a view, our room looked at other guests rooms in an adjacent wing about 40 feet away which meant you had to have the blinds drawn.
THis has got to be one of our worst Hotel experiences ever
Bob Joakim

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I had to attend a wedding in Palm Beach, but the family lived in Delray Beach so wanted the guests to stay in Delray Beach. I opted for this hotel opposed to the (MUCH more expensive) Seagate Hotel and Spa. The rooms were small and tidy. The room had a small desk/chair as well as another sitting chair. (Of note, the closet was huge!) The bathroom was big, with a nice size soaking tub. Plenty of space for 2 people, who were not going to be staying in the room very much.

The breakfast (included in the cost) was plentiful and very fresh. You could sit inside or outside. They offered free wi-fi. They also proved transportation to a private beach and pool, which were both wonderful. The hotel is on the main "strip", so you don't need a car. I got there early, and my room wasn't ready, but I had just had eye surgery, and really needed to rest my eyes. They told me they would try to get a room ready for me, and they called me within 45 minutes to say I had a room. (They also gave great suggestions for a pedicure and food options that were close by.) If you are there on a weekend, there is a great farmer's market at the Church just a couple of blocks away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Lakes,NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

What a gem! We stayed at The Colony while visiting family nearby. The location was wonderful. Just a few steps to many restaurants,shops, and walking distance to the intracoastal. They have a private pool and beach club about 2 miles away and provide fee shuttle. There is even a restaurant at the club. Very relaxing with a Caribbean feel. The pool does need some updating however.
The hotel has a fabulous lobby and porch with wicker furniture. This is where a complementary breakfast is served. It includes hot oatmeal, fruit, muffins, eggs and bacon. Very convenient and great people watching on the porch. They even have live music on weekends on the porch.

The staff is extremely efficient and friendly. And the property is very dog friendly. We had "Henry", our shorkie, with us and he was even welcomed at the beach club. Many local restaurants allow dogs to dine outside.
We had a 2 room accommodation with an adjoining bathroom. Very clean , with large flat screen TVs and AC.
I would highly recommend the Colony Hotel while visiting Delray. It's not your typical cookie cutter chain hotel. Thankfully.

Room Tip: 2 small bedrooms with adjoining bathroom good for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

If historic, sunny, slightly bohemian is your thing - the Colony Hotel and Cabana Club is the perfect spot for you. Centrally located in Delray Beach, the beautiful hotel with filled with fiesta color, wood floors and ambiance galore is surrounded by top notch restaurants and shopping with movie theaters, more shopping a short drive away. The private beach front, a short drive away, is magnificent. Sit under umbrellas on the beautiful white sandy beach, listen to the waves or for the brave - jump on into the ocean. Or swim in the lovely salt water pool and have lunch on the terrace overlooking the ocean. The breakfast at the Hotel is delicious and sip a drink on the front porch in the late afternoon. We love this hotel and will be back!

Room Tip: The corner queen is large and lovely but during the day there is a lot of traffic - nothing a set of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant Delray. Closing all the major downtown hotel area beaches in the middle of the season. Why? I see bulldozers. Sitting on a beach crowded together with other bewildered vacationers, reminds me of Wildwood NJ in August. Not good. Colony has their own privatebeach.Ditto Seagate hotel. For this reason alone if you stay anywhere else you' re crazy.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colony Hotel and Cabana Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel and Cabana Club

Address: 525 East Atlantic Ave., Delray Beach, FL 33483
Location: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Delray Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Delray Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Delray Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Delray Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
historic Florida charm in a select service downtown hotel with a private oceanfront beach club ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Colony Hotel and Cabana Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colony Hotel And Cabana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Hotel and Cabana Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.