We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Delray Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Delray Beach to your Saves list
Residence Inn Delray Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 East Atlantic Avenue, Delray Beach, FL 33483   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Delray Beach
New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a road trip to Florida. Had no reservation but found the perfect place to park for 4 days. It is not the upscale luxury of the Marriott up the street but it was perfect for us--the service, breakfast, room size and location. Parking was included! I looked forward to coming down to breakfast-which was included-every morning. There was plenty of variety to satisfy almost everyone. I could go out the door and walk up the street to the beach or down the street to shops, restaurants--everything. I cannot wait to go back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    92
    35
    25
    10
See reviews for
81
78
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
398 reviews 398 reviews
156 hotel reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
307 helpful votes 307 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel has things about it that are really great, and some things that are not so great. I'll address the good first.

The location is exceptional; best in Delray. While it is not technically "oceanfront," it is about a block to the beach and most of the balconies in the hotel have a great ocean view. The beautiful ocean is less than a 5-minute walk. Also, there are plenty of shops and restaurants within a 2 or 3 minute walk from the hotel. There are fine restaurants and pizza or burger joints right outside the front door (you don't need your car at this location). Right down the street are lots more cool shops and a nice museum (still in walking distance). The center of Delray is right up the street. Perfect location.

The girl who checked me in was very accommodating and friendly. The lobby is beautiful. There is limited garage parking (free), and if the garage is full, there is another free hotel parking lot right across the street (very close). There's free wi-fi in the hotel - it worked really well.

The hotel has a huge pool area that is beautiful; my room overlooked it - as do most of the balconies. (There are a couple balconies that do not face the ocean - and a few rooms with no balcony. If you want that view, be sure to request that room.) The pool is right off the breakfast area, so you can get your breakfast buffet and sit out by the pool.

My room was very clean. The bed had crisp, clean sheets, but the bed was just okay, it was firm and cushy but I have had better beds. The bathroom was wonderful; it was spotlessly clean and had a nice marble floor and the shower is all marble tile - really pretty. The sink/vanity is outside the toilet/tub area.

The breakfast in the morning was one of the best ever. There were a lot of people in there (this hotel is huge), but the food was quickly replenished and I never saw that they ran out of anything. The people running the breakfast area are super-efficient in putting out more food and keeping the tables cleaned off. It was excellent. Full buffet of eggs, all kinds of meats, breads, juice, cereals, coffee, waffles, croissants, yogurt, etc. Really 5-star breakfast!

Now on to the bad. This hotel, I think, is insanely overpriced. I would imagine that's because of the proximity to the ocean and the time of year I was here (February, where everywhere else is under snow and here it was 85-degrees!). But, still, it was way too expensive. I used my Marriott points and had to use 25,000 (again, too many). I am used to using 10,000 or at most 15,000 points. But, I wanted to stay here and was glad I did.

The room layout is not functional. It is much, much smaller than most Residence Inns. There's a full kitchen, including a stove top, and it is fully equipped with dishes, utensils, pots and pans. But, the living space was just so small (my room was a studio; other rooms may be bigger). There was only 1 queen bed, then in a little alcove there was a small pull-out couch and a cabinet with the TV. The TV was at a terrible angle. You could pull it out a little, but it wasn't angled to watch from the bed, and it was way too close to the small couch to watch from there - just very strange and small. There's also a small dining table. I would NOT recommend this type of room for more than 2 people. It would definitely be cramped for a family with 2 kids. There are king rooms, but I was told the ones they had available did not have a balcony; I wanted that balcony.

The balcony was very small but had an amazing view (see my photos). There was a cool breeze off of the ocean, which is wonderful in Florida. It's nice to sit out on the balcony at night and look at the city lights and dark ocean (there is a table and 2 chairs out there). It also overlooked the pool. It was a private balcony, but just so small and very close to another balcony. More than 2 people wouldn't be comfortable on that balcony.

Oh, one more thing that was mildly annoying; housekeeping started beating on the door by 9am! What's up with that? My friend was sleeping and housekeeping came in the room. Then, housekeeping came again at 10am; she wasn't thrilled that I was still in the room. I was checking out later on, so she should have waited until check-out time to come and clean the room. It wasn't a big deal for me, but 9am is a tad early.

For location, cleanliness, and the usual Marriott good service, this hotel is definitely a 5-star. But, for the hefty price-tag and the rooms (just too small for Residence Inn and the layout is wrong), it is a 3-star. So, that's why I gave it an overall 4-star.

I know, I know, I yab WAY too much in my descriptions - I just try and be thorough!

Room Tip: BE SURE to get a room with a balcony and ocean view (not ocean front, but you still can get a room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bardstown, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The accomodations are great, the rooms are spacious and clean with nice bathrooms. There is a very nice pool in the middle of the property with lots of tables and chairs. The included breakfast was great with lots of real food. The best part about it - free parking and you can walk to the ocean, the shops and all the great places to eat in Del Ray.

Room Tip: The higher up rooms have both beach and pool view - 9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Walked in off the street and booked a room, very nice room with seperate lounge which they did at the normal room rate. Brilliant shower, very powerful and a large cubicle. Bed was comfortable and the location is ideal for town centre and the beach. However we were on the ground floor by the car park and at 2am they emptied the bins which seemed to take about an hour! then car horns were going off, people were shouting in the car park. Not a very good nights sleep! I did mention it to front desk when I checked out but she didn't seem bothered at all.
Breakfast was a complete free for all, self service with no where near enough tables, staff very slow to clear tables when guests left, we cleared our own as it was the only way to get one. Very disappointing for a Marriott brand, being a silver club member I expected better even for the reduced rate.

Room Tip: stay away from the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This Hotel is a bit old, but well maintained.
The staff is professional, and friendly.
Breakfast id unspectacular, but more than adequate with a wide choice of both hot and cold choices. There are "managers's" special evenings to add to the family entertainment.

Room Tip: Try for a ocean view, and not he # 4 stack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed our stay here. It was a great location for us to walk and explore the area. Great staff, very helpful. Room a little small, but very clean. Nice balcony with view of ocean. Breakfast was one of the best that I've been to. Good ,free covered parking We will return again.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Why did I even bother renting a car? There is no need to go anywhere that you can't walk. The beach is 1 block away, a couple of dozen restaurants, bars, boutiques, and art galleries are all within walking distance. It was a blast staying here. The rooms are spartan and efficient...just the way I like them. I don't need 27 throw pillows and turndown service. But, I completely appreciate the full-side refrigerator with it's own ice maker. Aahh..the simple things. And, it has a microwave, 2 burner stove, and utensils, etc. Not that we used any of it, with such great eats just outside the door. The pizza place on the block is opened til the wee hours and is delicious. The breakfast is free and good, but we were there during the busy holiday week, and I will say that the New Yorkers acted like they had not been fed in weeks. The poor waitresses could not keep the food and coffee stocked. It was just too much trouble to go back a second time. The pool and hot-tub were sufficiently warm, plenty of towels, and the whole place was clean and tidy. I can't say that I really interacted much with the staff since everything went smooth and all my needs were anticipated, so I really didn't need to. Great, great, great place to stay if you have kids in tow.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Delray Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Delray Beach

Address: 1111 East Atlantic Avenue, Delray Beach, FL 33483
Location: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Delray Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Delray Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Delray Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Delray Beach Hotel Delray Beach
Delray Beach Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Delray Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.