We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wildlife better than theme parks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wakodahatchee Wetlands

Wakodahatchee Wetlands
13026 Jog Road, Delray Beach, FL 33446
561-641-3429
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 21 attractions in Delray Beach
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
Acton, MA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wildlife better than theme parks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The Wetlands boardwalk takes the family on an adventure that is real, not imagined. No, it doesn't have the thrill of a roller coaster or the manufactured joy of a theme park, but what it does offer is just as magical for the entire family. Alligators making stealth moves through the wetlands, giant herons feeding their young and fighting over their territory, turtles diving, birds coming from the sky to swim under water for food and beautiful old south flora taking you back to the imaginary life of Gone with the Wind. So, for my money (the wetlands are free for visitors with a donation box if you so choose) instead of spending $100 per person per day on the razzle dazzle of roller coasters and fake dungeons, go check out the amazing wetlands.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    60
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“WOW, Wakodahatchee, WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We went to Wakodahatchee at the right time - late February. There were lots of birds nesting and the chick-feeding frenzy was something to see. I took over 200 pictures (not that all of them were good!) and I'm sure there are a few that will wind up on my walls when I get home! The only "con" for this place is the parking. It's almost non-existent. I didn't count the spaces, but I'd guess that there is space for about 40-50 cars and by the time we got there, around 10am, the line was long and the wait was at least 30 minutes. If you want to go here, I'd suggest early or late, because anything else will tend to be frustrating. But it was well worth the wait for me!!!!!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia, USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful morning with abundant critters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Nesting season for many birds. Disliked nothing about this! Boardwalk allows close viewing and there are gators and many species of birds to observe.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Paradise in Delray”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

A wonderful way to spend an hour or two any time of the year. Nature comes alive. The variety of birds found in this preserve is amazing. Be sure to bring a camera. From January through April is nesting season. We saw the entire process from nest building, to actural mating, to the chicks learning to fly. Alligators, turtles and an occasional iguana can also be found if you look carefully. It has become a very popular place, especially in winter, so parking is limited.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A wilderness gem in the middle of Delray”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Wakodahatchee is a water management project that has been made accessible to the public through a series of boardwalks. It's free and simply beautiful. Walking through the wetlands you can see many turtles, a few alligators and hundreds of native birds. The walking paths have covered gazeebos throughout so you can stop and watch the wildlife in the shade. It's incredibly peaceful and it's amazing how close all the birds are. There is a ramp up the boardwalk for easy wheelchair access.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wakodahatchee Wetlands also viewed

 

Been to Wakodahatchee Wetlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wakodahatchee Wetlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wakodahatchee Wetlands to your Saves list