We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Oyster

City Oyster
213 E Atlantic Ave, Delray Beach, FL 33444-3726
561-272-0220
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
City Oyster is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 344 Restaurants in Delray Beach
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 2nd St
Transit: Free shuttle buses
Coral Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delightful Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Atlantic Avenue in Delray is a happening area to dine and shop. Tried City Oyster and Sushi, and was delighted with the experience. Started off by sharing Oyster Rockefeller, which was a sizable portion to share with a great taste. My main course was a scallop dish with fingerling potatoes, mushrooms and spinach. The dish was plentiful and I had leftovers for the next day. Very appealing dish. My lady, had a swordfish dish with tomatoes and potatoes, and found that to past the mustard. For dessert it was sharing almond biscotti cookies and peanut butter chocolate pie, which was quite rich and smooth to the taste. With a couple of glasses of wine, for $12 each, the bill came to less then $100. The waitress was extremely helpful in describing various dishes, and checking on us throughout the meal, to make sure we were satisfied. Definitely, would make a return trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    98
    28
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous seafood in the heart of Delray”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

There are plenty of choices for seafood in Delray Beach but this is The Place to go. We arrived early on a Saturday evening and were seated immediately. Matthew provided an excellent overview of the menu and specials. The swordfish preparation was like nothing I have ever tried before and it was fabulous. The vanilla gelato covered with expresso, delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Love this place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

The food is sooo good, never had a bad meal and some of the best sushi I've ever had. It is loud and crowded but they all are on Atlantic Ave. They also pour good drinks, fun place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lunch done nicely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

After being seated we waited almost 15 minutes before server acknowledged us. After that, all went well. We had the Chicken Paillard and it was quite nice. The arugula salad was fresh and tasty The chicken was seasoned nicely but slightly over cooed. However, I would probably order it again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great dinner experience for Flavor Palm Beach Month”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Spur of the moment reservation for last night for 4. It was Flavor Palm Beach month with a Price fixed menu in addition to the huge regular menu. For $30 a person we had a delicious New England Clam Chowder, Seafood Gumbo and Creme Brûlée for dessert. Not only were the portions generous but the service, presentation and quality of food was excellent. I am looking forward to going again. You have the choice of indoor or outdoor dining. Love the ambiance and the place has a great vibe.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Oyster also viewed

 

Been to City Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Oyster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.