We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice evening” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dada

Dada
52 N Swinton Ave, Delray Beach, FL 33444-2632
(561) 330-3232
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 341 restaurants in Delray Beach
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 1st
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice evening”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The ambiance at Dada was nice. The outside is probably the best spot to sit. Our table was awkwardly placed in the middle of one of the rooms. It was so close to the table next to us that when the waiter spoke to them with his back to us his behind was practically sitting on our table. At one point the diner next to me took off her shoe and started picking at her feet!!! NOt the restaurant's fault but someone should have asked her to put her shoes back on.

The wine list was reasonable and the brie appetizer was excellent. The food was very good and our waiter was great and kept us very relaxed.

We would go back again but sit outside.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    134
    88
    38
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had not been here in a couple of years, and our son decided to take us here for my birthday recently. We had a reservation and were seated at a nice corner table outdoors without delay. I really love the funky ambience of Dada, but the food and service have slipped since our last visit. All of our appetizers were awesome, particularly the Mediterranean salad plate, but the entrees were just average and could have come off the line at any chain buffet. The portions are huge, so big that it's almost as if they are trying to overcome quality with quantity. Our server was super laid-back, which is fine up to a point, but unfortunately he began clearing the table before we were all finished. Big no-no. Also, it would be great if they could serve the water in insulated tumblers or something so the sweat from the glasses doesn't drip down between the cracks in the table onto your feet! We will go back, but just for drinks and appetizers.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not inexpensive but great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We went with friends to this funky place a block off the main drag in Delray and across from the theater at the arts complex in Delray.
We were prepared for small portions, expected really good quality, preparation, and at least adequate service. Portions were much larger than we thought they would be - a good pour for the wines too. It's team service and we had a waiter in training with someone with great experience at his elbow.
Crabcakes were excellent and without any filling. The chicken del rio was wonderful.
We'll return to this restaurant and recommend it to friends.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Once great place is now abismal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have eaten at Dada almost every time we are in the Delray Beach area. We made reservations for tonight (Sunday) in great anticipation of another wonderful meal. Boy were we disappointed. What made the experience worse was that our waitress changed before we ordered, and it was not until after we ordered that we overheard another table have the night's specials explained to them. We stopped the waitress and asked about this and she said the prior waitress had told her that she had explained everything to us. What made it worse was that several of the night's specials sounded better than what we ordered. I have crab cakes. They tasted like undercooked dough and were inedible, with no crab taste. The green beans were either way overcooked or raw, and the rice had uncooked grains in it. My wife had the skirt steak which was at least edible, but her potatoes au gratin were way overcooked. My sister-in-law had the pork chops, which lacked any seasoning. It is always a great disappointment to go back to a great restaurant and find the food to be a great disappointment.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely evening in Delray”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

After being on the road for two weeks (well on a boat) my musician hubby and I visited relatives in Delray. At someone's recommendation we went to Dada's for dinner. It was a Sunday night around 7. They asked if we had a reservation. We did not. The hostess offered us the porch (or inside). Well since the table is a coffee table we were hesitant. Inside in January in Florida - out of the question. The charm lured us in and we took the porch! This spot is probably the best spot in the house - you overlook all the tables and the tree with is magical colorful lighting. It was exquisite - a little awkward as people do pass through (like your living room)... The food was divine. We had brie with honey, dates with goat cheese and bacon, and shared an entree chicken dish - which was lots to eat... We luxuriated in it and sat on the porch. Hubby had a delicious chocolate dessert and a rose cognac (they were out of the regular - he enjoyed it)... Great waitress and it was a lovely unexpected evening in Delray!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dada also viewed

 

Been to Dada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.