We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Na Na for DADA” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dada

Dada
52 N Swinton Ave, Delray Beach, FL 33444-2632
(561) 330-3232
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 360 Restaurants in Delray Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 1st
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Na Na for DADA”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We made a reservation through Open Table last Saturday night and we were really looking forward to the experience based on the reviews. Our reservation was for 7:45 PM and upon arrival we were asked to wait in the bar area. Since it was an Open Table reservation we were also told that being seated outside was not going to be possible. So we waited inside for 20 minutes, were then escorted to a table for 6 (we were a party of 3) smack in the middle of the bar area in the heart of a high traffic area...it was bedlam there on Saturday night. The table also had been empty while we were waiting. I immediately told the hostess that the table was unacceptable (it probably was the worst one in the house) she initially said take it or leave but then relented and magically gave us one of the prized outside tables.

So, now for the food. We all thought the mojitos which they are famous for were poor, even the classic one wasn't that good. The food was way overdone and gloppy. Nothing that we had was simple, the salmon had a habanero sauce, the fennel salad had a sweet fig preserve on it, the butternut ravioli had a cream sauce loaded down with marinated artichoke hearts. The desserts were terrible, ice cream with chunks of ice in it and cream bruelle that wasn't that great.

The restaurant has lots of energy and I can see why it is popular. But if you are looking for food that isn't disguised or overly prepared, this is not your place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    124
    51
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely outdoor evening dine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Fun, eclectic menu and great outdoor dining under the stars and the trees. Staff is friendly and attentive; some clientele need lessons in manners so they're not standing beside your table (waiting to be seated) having a phone conversation. The kale Caesar salad was GREAT! They're known for their meatloaf which was also excellent, as was everything I tasted there! Will definitely return - and recommend to family & friends.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“A Quirky but Enjoyable Evening Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This restaurant is set in an old house on the very edge of the restaurant district in Delray. There is seating inside but the main attraction for us was to sit outside in what was the front yard and patio. The food is varied and tasty and the wait staff attentive. Worth a visit.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cool and funky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in Delray for a night and stopped in at Dada for a drink. Jose at the small bar was warm and welcoming. So much so that the drink turned into three and we ordered a number of appetizers. My favorites were the ahi tuna tartare with a crunchy cucumber base and the dates stuffed with goat cheese and chorizo. Pretty yummy! We never moved from the bar but the place was hopping with all tables filled on a Monday night. Funky artwork on the walls and lots of tattoos on the attentive and friendly staff. Here's the menu - will definitely be back.
http://southflorida.menupages.com/restaurants/dada/menu

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Quaint place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I wanted to try this restaurant,I was not blown away with the main course but the starter was great. The dessert was way too sweet,I had the bread pudding. Next time I will try the flatbread as other reviews recommended. I will sit outside next time also. Did not like were we were seated way in the back. The front area of the house looks very cozy .Oh,My server took so long with my order to go, was already out the door when another server came running to give me my order which was nice..I gave 5 stars because of the beauty of the surroundings and the service staff.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dada also viewed

 

Been to Dada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.