We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Poppies Restaurant & Deli

Poppies Restaurant & Deli
4900 Linton Blvd, Ste 5, Delray Beach, FL 33445-6689
561-498-4900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #132 of 347 Restaurants in Delray Beach
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I go to Poppies every Friday am for breakfast. Love the people love their breakfast. I also go for an awesome lunch and great dinners. Everyone is friendly. I feel as if I'm with friends there. Plenty of food you never leave there starving. A must try.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    28
    17
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
“The Real Deal !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

All the appetizers you look for in a ny style jewish deli including sturgeon and sable Best stuffed cabbage by far . Corned beef and pastrami the way its suppose to be pus a full diners menu ,plenty of seating ,easy parking

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fair enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We wanted breakfast and didn't want a fuss. Yes, how amazing can breakfast food be- right? Well. . . it was all. . .okay. I give them bonus points because they have grits, which I love, and not that many places serve grits these days. Perhaps lunch or dinner shine brighter.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
617 reviews 617 reviews
425 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
“Very Good local deli”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Came for a late lunch, so not surprisingly the place was not as jam-packed as it might have been earlier.

Has a pleasant, well laid out interior with a variety of table settings including some corner ones that were ideal for us.

Service was pleasant and efficient.

Chose a split-pea soup that was hot and tasty. Whereas, the chicken matzo ball soup was not hot and one of the balls was quite cold - the taste was fine but it should be served hot.

We then tried a matzo brie with onions - this was a huge portion and good enough to warrant boxing up half to take home. The over-stuffed turkey sandwich was good - the turkey was not dry, the rye bread was fresh, the potato pancake was not greasy and it was at least warm, and the cole slaw was crunchy and fresh.

So, on balance the place was a little short of excellent, but the rating is Very Good

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The traditional full-service deli...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

... right down to standing on line and waiting to be seated. The food is very good, the service is generally attentive and the prices are fair. One of the best reasons to eat at Poppies is the takeout departments. They have a large bakery section with cheesecake that is reminiscent of New York. There are many other things that look great but one has to watch her weight. Also, they have the Schmeer. Whether it's Lox and Bagels or pastrami with coleslaw, they make it easy to enjoy it at home. I often stop there for lunch when I'm by myself and I feel very comfortable there. It is hard to walk past the bakery, but…

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poppies Restaurant & Deli also viewed

 
Delray Beach, FL
 

Been to Poppies Restaurant & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poppies Restaurant & Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.