We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sundy House

Sundy House
106 S Swinton Ave, Delray Beach, FL 33444-3656
561-272-5678
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sundy House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 350 Restaurants in Delray Beach
Price range: $35 - $45
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Swinton Avenue and 1st Street
Transit: Swinton Avenue
Description: The Sundy House Restaurant's stunning interior design and gardens provides an exuberant backdrop from our Chef's gastronomical magic - boasting culinary creations influenced by cultures from around the world. Whether seated outside in the spectacular tropical gardens, or in the elegant dining room, guests will be regaled in fine style!
Delray Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We went there to celebrate our 18th anniversary with our kids. The brunch was really good, nothing bad to say about it and the service was good to. The "but" is that they charged us the same amount for kids and adults ($70) which makes it really expensive considering kids do not eat as much as adults and they don't drink champagne or mimosas.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    55
    32
    19
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
bodeeda
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“one of the top fine dining experiences we have ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

there is nothing one can say about Sundy House Dining except - Magnificent !!! everything was perfect, the food was mind blowing good, the service was perfection, the wines were 50% off by the bottle, a great chance to try that 100.00 bottle of red you might not normally buy. It's expensive but worth every penny. We will come back here again and again !!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boynton beach fl
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous food in a spectacular setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The food is exceptional as well as the service but the gardens are something not to be missed. It is a very romantic setting. Go for cocktails first, enjoy dinner and then take a stroll. It is truly a hidden gem.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Place of Two Halves”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed, wined and dined at Sundy House.

GREAT THINGS:
The gardens are really beautiful, the pool idyllic and sitting reading by the fresh water pool was lovely (when the man with the gardener with the Vacuuming machine stopped, use a brush?).

The food in the restaurant was very good, tasty, inventive and served by knowledgable charming staff. Wine list fine, and for the first time in my life a 50% discount on wine, odd but great!

We had the taste menu twice and it was delicious. They have a great chef who is well known in the area and has gained a lot of respect and it's well deserved. Excellent value.

The bar staff, we met Matt and David were both experts, again, knowledgable and both charming, it was a pleasure to meet them. Great cocktails guys! Mixologists extreme.

NOT GREAT THINGS

When we arrived, even though the valet was standing around doing nothing we were not offered any assistance with our cases, the paths are uneven and we were up a slippery wet staircase, little things like this do matter and this matters.

We were sitting at the bar one night and a manager told the bar man to start shutting the bar at 9pm... Yep, with us still sitting there with money to spend. Odd way of treating your guests.

We had room 10, I have no idea what the other rooms are like but we didn't like ours.

Good size and generally clean though ( a few bits of dust)

Dark, really really dark and oppressive, the Foxhunting photographs on the walls are quite horrible, it may be an American thing that maybe they don't know what the images are about but having Foxhunting scenes for a vast percentage of the British population is very distasteful and unpleasant.

The dark green walls, small window, dark floor all add to a feeling of gloom. I didn't like spending lots of time lounging in the room.

The bathroom is dark and dated but functional. Badly designed for storage / shelves.

I have no idea why such a dark colour scheme was chosen in such a dark space, crazy.

The terrace was pleasant but he door look looked and felt flimsy.
The television was REALLY old, the remote didn't fully work, the picture quality reminded you of being a child again. Terrible telly!

The dishwasher sounded as though it was going to lift off, it must be from the 1980's looking at the style.

The bedside tables had glass that wasn't even attached, it's not safe or acceptable.

Breakfast was ok, not 'gourmet' as Europeans would imagine, but nice bagels.

The air-con broke twice, they came to fix it very promptly but left ladders in the middle of the room, the balcony door unlocked and a pile if dead moths on the floor of the bathroom.

To remedy the air-con problems they gave us two free drinks and an appetiser, this was very nice and we appreciated the gesture, thank you.

We did ask for a late check as we had a night flight out but the room had been booked (absolutely fair enough, although if we had paid for half a night fee we could have kept the room, not sure how these two bits of information worked) but no offer of using the facilities (garden and pool) for the afternoon and only 'you can change in the restrooms', if we'd had somewhere to change we'd have had drinks and food at the bar.

We did praise the good things and tell them of our disappointment about the room and air con and the hotel manager couldn't have tried harder to please us, she seemed surprised about the luggage. She listened to us and this helps enormously and offered a discount on the room rate, thank you very much for this, lots of places don't care and Sundy House does care about feedback and tries hard to make you happy, we left feeling much better.

So, we'd walk the gardens, eat and drink here like a shot,but we wouldn't stay again, apart from our seemingly countless niggles we just didn't like the room, shame, we had high hopes.






  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Ordered from the September Taste menu, 3 courses for $35. Service was very (almost too) attentive. Broccoli I soup outstanding, pulled short rib tasted good if too much pasta for the meat included, desert was spectacular. Beautiful surroundings.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sundy House also viewed

 
Delray Beach, FL
 

Been to Sundy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundy House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.