We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ambience Wonderful Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sundy House

Sundy House
106 S Swinton Ave, Delray Beach, FL 33444-3656
561-272-5678
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sundy House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 348 Restaurants in Delray Beach
Price range: $35 - $45
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Swinton Avenue and 1st Street
Transit: Swinton Avenue
Description: The Sundy House Restaurant's stunning interior design and gardens provides an exuberant backdrop from our Chef's gastronomical magic - boasting culinary creations influenced by cultures from around the world. Whether seated outside in the spectacular tropical gardens, or in the elegant dining room, guests will be regaled in fine style!
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Ambience Wonderful Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Loved the Tropical Dining experience. The food & the service was exceptional. Took a walk through the windy paths to streams & gazebos This is a very romantic setting. I hope to visit again & stay overnight in the adorable cottages.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    55
    32
    19
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Wedding Function More Important Than Taking Care of Regular Patrons”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We have dined here many time: lunch, brunch and many dinners. The food was never "outstanding" but always good; definitely pricey but didn't mind because we found the atmosphere to be very relaxing.

This time I booked several weeks in advance requesting a secluded table among the garden paths as it was special evening to thank friends for helping remodel a home I purchased before I moved in.

The restaurant called the day before to confirm my reservation and noted my table request.

Upon arrival I was informed that they never guarantee a table and that they could not honor my request as they had a private wedding in the gardens. Obviously the wedding had to have been scheduled way far in advance so they could have informed me of that when they called the day before to confirm the reservation. But they didn't. If I had known, I probably would have been other plans with my friends and respected the restaurant for being professional and informing me in advance.

The rest of the evening went down hill from there. Service was inattentive, food orders took forever and the dining room was less than half full.

I got the feeling that all the restaurant's resources were devoted to the wedding and the regular dining room guests were an after thought. That's not right as we are paying guests just like the person who booked and paid for the wedding.

I understand that hotels and restaurants make a good portion of their money from special event functions, however, a lot seem to do so while letting their regular guests / patrons suffer for it. I booked a weekend hotel room on the beach last year only to learn, after checking in, that the beach area was blocked off both days and nights for wedding events. That's not fair to the other guests. Seems like establishments need to do a better job at making sure that regular guests continue to receive services, as normal, when they choose to book special functions.

My experience at the Sundy House last night makes me question whether I would ever return. The menu prices were the same last night as any night, so service and food should be the same as well. They fell short on both. I would rather spend my money elsewhere.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Most romantic place in Delray”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Be sure to ask for a secluded table in the garden.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We spent one hour at the bar socializing and i ordered Zinfindel wine, but they said we dont carry it. Never heard of such a thing
We ate in a room with bad accustics so we had problems conversing with each other.
For the prices they charged which was a special deal, it was not worth it. Ser vice was just fair and to pay 5.00 to park with a valet as there is no parking near there.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Place For A Wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

This is a Beautiful location for a weddding it has beautiful Gardens & great food, all so in a Bed & Breakfast. Minutes to Beaches & Downtown Delray.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sundy House also viewed

 
Delray Beach, FL
 

Been to Sundy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundy House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.