We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Road trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wright by the Sea

Save Saved
You added Wright by the Sea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wright by the Sea
1901 S. Ocean Blvd, Delray Beach, FL 33483   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekday Special
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Delray Beach
Tiger, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Road trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at Wright by The Sea just one night, April 21, 2013, while on the way to the Keys. My only regret is that we couldn't have stayed longer. We had a one bedroom suite with a kitchenette and it was just wonderful, Sure, the hotel is 60 plus years old and it shows here and there, but it is a charming, super clean, nicely decorated, beach front, etc., etc. There is a beautiful pool, large grassy area, a covered cabana, and nice Bar-B-Q grill for guests. Nice beach towels are complimentary so you aren't traveling with wet towels. Oh, even a laundry on sight.
The staff is just great and beyond accommodating. I tried to book it for our return trip and, no surprise, they were sold out. Don't miss this gem!

Room Tip: Rates drop after April 20th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    22
    3
    5
    4
See reviews for
67
60
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

After reading all these wonderful reviews I must admit we were disappointed upon our arrival. Rooms were outdated and needed some TLC. Location is a car ride (no walking) to everything. Parking on the main strip is horrible. Pool was nice but no bells and whistles. Average age at this hotel was about 60-- no children anywhere. But the mose disappointing thing was that there were huge oil rig looking ships right outside the hotel in the ocean and HUGE piping covering the beach that said Danger on them.....which made getting to the sand and water difficult and ugly to say the least. I have to admit it....it was not worth the money and I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack A, Manager at Wright by the Sea, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We always appreciate feedback from our guests with regards to our hotel no matter if the guest stays one night, one week or one month with us.
Our hotel is 1.5 miles from downtown Delray Beach. There are also restaurants and stores 0.5 miles from our hotel. A city sponsored shuttle service is available to take guests downtown during the day at no charge. Many of our guests take advantage of this shuttle when wanting to enjoy Atlantic Avenue.
Due to the severe beach erosion from Hurricane Sandy (our entire beach was washed away) there is an ongoing beach re-nourishment program in Delray Beach. We too were very disappointed that the dredge and pipes suddenly appeared in front of our property without prior notice, but this is necessary to protect our shoreline. The majority of our guests (new and repeat) have taken this project in stride. At no time were guests in danger as the pipes were not in use when beach access was made available.
True our hotel was built in the 1950’s, but our apartments have been updated with regards to furniture, appliances, and electronics. Building and apartment maintenance are also high priorities for our staff. Any issue that arises is immediately addressed and resolved. We pride ourselves on providing Old Florida charm for our guests and for the past sixty years we have been a haven for generations of families.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife and I frequently travel to this area to visit the kids and our grandson. This last visit in March, we decided to try Wright by the Sea - it was absolutely perfect! It was so comfortable and relaxing - such a pleasure to stay someplace where the staff makes you feel so welcome. This has quickly become our favorite place to stay and we're looking forward to our next trip in June.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Very nice and relaxing stay. No wonder why tWright by the Sea has so many good reviews! All surroundings are keep very neat. Exterior is painted starch white and pleasant blue. Really nice color scheme. Pool is really nice surrounded by coconut palms. Very comfortable bed. Excellent service, newspaper delivery to door is a nice touch. They allow you to run a load or two of clothes in their laundry room on site. We will definitely come back.
Only recommendation I would make to staff is the cleaning crew needs to keep their voices down. Our room was right over the coke and vending machine area, the same area where the cleaning crew keeps their supplies. There was a lot of loud voices and carrying on before 7:30 a.m when we were sleeping in that morning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

- Montreal, Quebec - 3 generations of our family have been coming here year after year for the last 30 years! Its charming setting and lovely staff make it a no-brainer when it comes to our annual trip to Florida. Kids (and adults!) can play basketball, ping-pong, shuffleboard, croquet, swim (pool or beach). Great shops and restaurants on Atlantic Avenue are very close and a shuttle bus goes there on the half-hour if you don't have your own transportation. Many of the same families come from all over year after year as well - great to see many of the same faces. Can't say enough about this wonderful place. Everyone we recommend it to have enjoyed it immensely. We wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Corner units are the best as they offer the best views and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyc
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Charming hotel on the ocean, with kitchen, etc. Tables outside of room for outdoor dining and a BBQ by the pool. Old fashion, relaxed atmosphere, extremely comfortable, clean and quiet. Staff is friendly and helpful. Heated outdoor pool. Private beach and cabanas at no extra charge. No extra charges for parking, beach chairs, cabanas, etc. Studios small but comfortable and the larger accommodations are beautiful. Definitely worth the price, especially if you don't like glitzy.

Room Tip: No restaurant or fitness center, but you have the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aaronmelissa1108
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Pros:
-Staff (super friendly and helpful)
-Amenities (heated pool, private beach with cabanas, kitchenettes, and much more)
-Price (not cheap but very reasonable)
-Family friendly but also quiet

Cons:
-Distance from "main drag" (it's over a mile walk to any restaurants or stores although there is a free shuttle)
-No hot tub (would have been enjoyed on cool nights)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wright by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wright by the Sea

Address: 1901 S. Ocean Blvd, Delray Beach, FL 33483
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Delray Beach
#1 Best Value Hotel in Delray Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Delray Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Delray Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Delray Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Ocean in Delray Beach, Wright By the Sea offers ocean view studio, one bedroom, and two bedroom suites. Challenge your kids to a game of shuffleboard, basketball, ping-pong, or croquet, or just relax on our private beach in a complementary cabana. Our Chickee Hut Pavilion with adjacent barbecue is available free of charge if you wish to entertain. Daily maid service (except Sunday), newspaper, heated pool, cable television, voice mail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Wright by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wright By The Sea Hotel Delray Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wright by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;