We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wright by the Sea

Save Saved
You added Wright by the Sea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wright by the Sea
1901 S. Ocean Blvd, Delray Beach, FL 33483   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekday Special
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Delray Beach
Montreal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

- Montreal, Quebec - 3 generations of our family have been coming here year after year for the last 30 years! Its charming setting and lovely staff make it a no-brainer when it comes to our annual trip to Florida. Kids (and adults!) can play basketball, ping-pong, shuffleboard, croquet, swim (pool or beach). Great shops and restaurants on Atlantic Avenue are very close and a shuttle bus goes there on the half-hour if you don't have your own transportation. Many of the same families come from all over year after year as well - great to see many of the same faces. Can't say enough about this wonderful place. Everyone we recommend it to have enjoyed it immensely. We wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Corner units are the best as they offer the best views and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    24
    3
    5
    4
See reviews for
68
61
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nyc
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Charming hotel on the ocean, with kitchen, etc. Tables outside of room for outdoor dining and a BBQ by the pool. Old fashion, relaxed atmosphere, extremely comfortable, clean and quiet. Staff is friendly and helpful. Heated outdoor pool. Private beach and cabanas at no extra charge. No extra charges for parking, beach chairs, cabanas, etc. Studios small but comfortable and the larger accommodations are beautiful. Definitely worth the price, especially if you don't like glitzy.

Room Tip: No restaurant or fitness center, but you have the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aaronmelissa1108
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Pros:
-Staff (super friendly and helpful)
-Amenities (heated pool, private beach with cabanas, kitchenettes, and much more)
-Price (not cheap but very reasonable)
-Family friendly but also quiet

Cons:
-Distance from "main drag" (it's over a mile walk to any restaurants or stores although there is a free shuttle)
-No hot tub (would have been enjoyed on cool nights)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Plains, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

If you want to feel at home when you are away from home, try Wright By the Sea! This small resort of standard and deluxe apartments is very private but yet close to shopping and entertainment. All apartments have a view of the ocean and outdoor lounging, and are just steps away from the private beach with cabanas. The hotel, gorgeous lawn and pool are emaculately maintained. A balmy ocean breeze makes for comfortable weather any time of the year. You will find old-fashioned hospitality and great customer service from the staff. Although there is not a restaurant on site, each apartment has a well equipped kitchen, and guests my use a thatched chiki hut or beach-side deck for barbeque or dining outdoors. The area close by has much to offer with restaurants, movies, and shopping, as well as unique recreation and entertainment options. I love going to Wright By the Sea in any season - my favorite spot in Florida!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westville, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I am not one to ever right a review, but had to about this place. it is one of the most inviting and comfortable places we have ever stayed. It is clean, friendly staff, private, great views of the ocean and just steps away from the beach which is private. No charge for parking or beach chair rental. it is free and that's not the norm in Florida. Close to entertainment and shopping. We are already planning our next trip and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just returned from a week at Wright By The Sea. This is a find, IF you are looking for a no-frills spot with a gorgeous beach just steps from your room. It's not for the 5 star crowd, or even the crowd that likes amenities such as a restaurant or bar on site. This is a throwback to the 60's (built in the 50's actually), with very friendly management, awesome grounds, warm, clean pool (89-90 degrees) and completely private beach with free cabanas (we called them pods). Oh and spotlessly clean! The rooms are simple...bathroom was small but better water pressure than I get at home in the shower. The kitchenette was tiny but functional. We cooked a lot of our meals there (gas grill for all to use), and the grocery store is 1/2 mile away. Also about 2 miles from Atlantic Ave, the hub of Delray Beach. I think this qualifies as perhaps the nicest beach I've been to. There were only a few of us on the beach at any given time, making it so peaceful. Traveling with our 'tween son, he was able to go back to our room from the beach or pool whenever he felt like it...we never had a second thought leaving the door to our room unlocked, etc. What would make this place perfect would be a bit of a update in the kitchens and baths...but other than that I have no complaints.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the beach. There are two rooms directly facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, West Virginia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The managers make you feel right at home; wright by the sea. It has everything you could ask for; swimming pool, beach front, game area, place to grill, laundry and it's close to everything. Can't beat this one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wright by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wright by the Sea

Address: 1901 S. Ocean Blvd, Delray Beach, FL 33483
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Delray Beach
#1 Best Value Hotel in Delray Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Delray Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Delray Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Delray Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Ocean in Delray Beach, Wright By the Sea offers ocean view studio, one bedroom, and two bedroom suites. Challenge your kids to a game of shuffleboard, basketball, ping-pong, or croquet, or just relax on our private beach in a complementary cabana. Our Chickee Hut Pavilion with adjacent barbecue is available free of charge if you wish to entertain. Daily maid service (except Sunday), newspaper, heated pool, cable television, voice mail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Wright by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wright By The Sea Hotel Delray Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wright by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.