We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A LITTLE SLICE OF HEAVEN!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crane's BeachHouse Hotel & Tiki Bar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crane's BeachHouse Hotel & Tiki Bar to your Saves list
Crane's BeachHouse Hotel & Tiki Bar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   82 Gleason Street, Delray Beach, FL 33483   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Delray Beach
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A LITTLE SLICE OF HEAVEN!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Returned this week from four nights at cranes. First of all. Hotel was sold out and I was put on a waiting list. After 2 days I was called and told I could get a cabana room. Really wanted a one bedroom suite because was traveling with teenage son. Jill the young lady that helped me was amazing! She was able to get us a suite but we would have to change rooms after second night. Which was fine ,grateful for the suite. She called me next day and was able to get us the suite for nights without switching. She was so helpful and pleasant to work with. Also she left me a note when we checked in that she off till Sunday and looked forward to meeting me. Really very kind.
The resort is so intimate and quite luxurious with a tropical feel. Plush landscaping was incredible ,

Two pools. Enjoyed larger pool for it had more sun which made water temperature more comfortable.
Loved the tiki bar with live music. Agree with other viewer that wished it would have been open more nights. Bartender "Johnny " was really fun and attentive !
The resort is very safety conscious . They lock door on gate after dark and need a key to get in.

Staff was absolutely amazing! Sincerely cared about us having everything we needed.

Rooms are all different. We loved our suite and where it was located. There are 27 rooms. Had a full kitchen furnished with dishes and cookware for longer stays. They do charge $10.00 to wash anything left in sink. I had two glasses that were in sink and never cleaned. I didn't see sign until we were leaving.
The reason I gave 3 stars for value was the prices. Our suite was $399.00 a night. I realize it is high season and again resort is very nice. Just felt rate was high. I also heard prices are about 40% less in off season. Oh well, I paid it and definitely enjoyed our visit!
Have a continental breakfast 9am to 11am. Yogurt, bagels, cereals with juice and coffee. We only tried it once. There are so many great restaraunts to have breakfast,lunch or dinner within walking distance. Love Luna Rosa around the corner on Ocean Blvd for breakfast. Pricey but a great spot to people watch and awesome food! There is usually a wait on weekends for breakfast if you get there after 10am. The front desk has a discount card and phone number to call ahead without waiting long. Tell them your a guest at Cranes.

Again will definitely return and hope to take advantage off off season rates.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    59
    9
    15
    8
See reviews for
53
149
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

My mom and I just got back from a long weekend stay at cranes. We had a one-bedroom suite with a full kitchen and living room, The pull out coach was not very comfy at all. We did really like the very small intimate feeling. We met a lot of nice people, and the staff was very friendly and nice. Johnny at the waterfall tiki bar is an excellent bar tender. Some nice things about the property, was the landscaping, you felt like you were in the keys with the very private and safe grounds. There are two pools, one is heated, and other is said to be, but it is in a very shady spot and it was not very warm. There was a small continental breakfast every morning, but there was not much to choose from. You would be better off going to Luna rosa a block away for a delicious meal. Some of the bad things about cranes was cleanliness of the room, the floor always just kinda seemed dirty, even after they cleaned, and some minor work was need in bathroom. Overall, we enjoyed our visit very much, and do plan on returning to cranes.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

What a little slice of heaven. Crane's was the magical hideaway we were yearning for. They are located right in the heart of Downtown Delray Beach. We were walking distance to everything in the downtown area. The beach was a stones throw away. Crane's even had chairs we could bring down with us, although we had our own, it was refreshing to see the hotelier go out of their way to think about our potential needs. Breakfast is complimentary and a nice light bite to start the day. They offer a discount card to local shops and restaurants, check this out before you head out on the Ave. Our favorite was Caffe Luna Rosa. Amazing italian. I will be leaving them a stellar review as well. One morning we rented bikes and wanted to go early, before breakfast started, and the front desk staff placed oj, yogurt, fruit and some other goodies in our room the night before so we could have breakfast at our leisure. This was a major wow factor for us as well. Our spacious suite (one bedroom suite) was airy and clean, I am a super picky traveler and let me tell you I was uber pleased with the cleanliness of this room. That was the initial reason for writing this review. But by the time our stay was over I had a list as long as my arm of shining moments I absolutely had to mention! We stopped by the Tiki Bar one night before dinner and had a chance to try the house made Sangria. I promptly begged for the recipe. It was such a great was to start the night. I could go on and on, but to sum it up wether you are a couple looking for some alone time, a family looking to connect or a solo passing through Delray, Crane's is exactly the escape you are looking for. (We miss it already!)

Room Tip: We booked a one bed room suite and loved the extra space! Stop by the tiki bar to hear DYMiN, she is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The good news-a terrific location blocks from the beach and from the bars and restaurants on Atlantic Ave. The facility is clean, the staff is very helpful, and the beds and linens are very comfortable. The not so good news-the facility is essentially a two level motel from the mid 50's, and the furnishings are less than what you would expect for $600/nite (we had a 2 bedroom suite). The television in the second bedroom was the size of a laptop computer screen, so difficult to see from the bed without binoculars. Kitchen appliances were builder's grade with white appliances and formica counterparts-no dishwasher. Pools were each very small (accommodated about 6 lounge chairs each, with no seating on 2 sides of the pools). In short, it seems the owner has preserved an historic vintage old Florida motel, which happened to evolve over the years to a prime location in an up and coming community; however, he has spared a lot of expense in room upgrades. The facility would have been great at half the price, but at this price point, I think guests are entitled to expect more upscale furnishings and amenities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was my third stay at Crane's. My family loves this hotel and the ease of getting everywhere in Delray Beach. We have stayed at the Marriott and Residence Inn and they just cannot come close to the wonder feel of Crane's. The breakfast has improved since our first visit with the addition of mini-quiches and bagels. They now offer oranges and not just apples and cut melon for fruit. We still buy eggs to add some variety for our breakfast but the breakfast is now much more substantial. We used the discount card to eat at J&J's and Crepe's by the Sea which were both great. We have an old favorite Sazio that have amazing cannolis and tried DaDa's for the first time. This was by far our best food adventures into Delray Beach. We often check the brochure stand near the front office for discounts and found a good one for Puttin Around. This is a very nice putt putt place within walking distance to Crane's.

We had a few issues with our room (water not draining in tub, slow WiFi) but all was handled and made better during our visit. I hesitate to rave so much about this place because I want to make sure we can always get a room when we come back! However, if you need a rest and want a place to slow the world down--this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

This was our first stay at Crane's and it was great! The management and staff,especially Jill & John, were the best. They could not do enough for us. The property is gorgeous and makes you feel like you're in a tropical paradise. The two pools and Tiki bars were great places to hang, relax and listen to some good music. Or room was an unexpected tropical surprise that was nicely appointed. Having free wifi throughout the property was terrific and very convenient.
If there was one thing to improve it would have to be the limited number of days (Friday and Saturday only) that the Tiki bar was open and that it only has beer and wine. It would be nice to have a full bar and open a few more nights.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crane's BeachHouse Hotel & Tiki Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crane's BeachHouse Hotel & Tiki Bar

Address: 82 Gleason Street, Delray Beach, FL 33483
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Delray Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Delray Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Delray Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crane's BeachHouse Hotel & Tiki Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an incredible Key West-like experience just one block away from the Atlantic Ocean, Crane's BeachHouse Hotel & Tiki Bar is a fun and festive boutique hotel with 27 distinctive and luxurious guest suites, all nestled within a lush, tropical setting. This creates a real tranquil environment, even though the hotel is just steps away from the shops and restaurants along Delray Beach's hot and happening Atlantic Avenue. The two poolside Tiki Bars are stocked with an array of tropical drinks, wines and both domestic and imported beer, with a music-filled happy hour from 5 to 9 p.M. On Fridays and Saturdays. Crane's BeachHouse is a proud recipient of the Florida Superior Small Lodging Association's prestigious Donal A. Dermody White Glove Award 2010 for housekeeping excellence and exceptional service. In addition, the hotel was recently named to the Expedia Insiders' Select™ list, which formally recognizes individual hotels worldwide that consistently deliver excellent service, a great overall experience and a notable value. The full list represents only a small percentage of the world's top hotels from the more than 110,000 hotel properties offered on Expedia. 

Crane's BeachHouse Hotel is please to provide it's guests with a smoke-free environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crane's BeachHouse Hotel & Tiki Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crane`s Beachhouse Hotel And Tiki Bar
Cranes Beach Hotel
Cranes Beach Delray

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crane's BeachHouse Hotel & Tiki Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.