We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't recommend enough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crane’s BeachHouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Crane’s BeachHouse to your Saves list
Crane’s BeachHouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   82 Gleason Street, Delray Beach, FL 33483 (Formerly Crane's BeachHouse Hotel & Tiki Bar)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Delray Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Can't recommend enough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Not a big Florida fan or beach person, I was using Crane's mostly as a home base to visit family. However Crane's turned out to be so great that I may wind up staying a few extra days next year to really take advantage of the place. I won't repeat what other recent reviewers have said except to say the raves about the convenient location; the super-friendly, helpful staff; the lush, private, slightly kitschy but not tacky grounds; and clean and comfy rooms are all correct. This place is a great bargain and unless you desperately need more high-end stuff like room service or a concierge (as in hotels right up the block that cost 3x as much), this is the place to stay in Delray.

Room Tip: Downstairs suites have a private patio; upstairs don't. This wasn't clear on their website...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    63
    13
    15
    8
See reviews for
56
166
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Visiting the area during what was described as an abnormally overcast, rainy weather pattern, we tried to make the most of our time there. Crane's helped us do that. It doesn't look like much from the street, but the owners have transformed what looks like a once basic two-story motel into a funky, colorful oasis a very short walk from both the beautiful beach and the restaurants of Atlantic Ave. Two smallish pools that were never crowded. Our room was quiet and comfortable, with AC and ceiling fan.Huge walk-in shower and walk-in closet. Kitchen with a fridge, range, microwave and sink (although we only used the fridge). Fridge was stocked with beer and wine at reasonable prices ($15/sixpack, $20 bottle of wine). A private balcony would have made it perfect, but then again there was nothing to look at out the back. We didn't get to the Tiki Bar (only open 6-9 PM, it seems) until our final night, but it featured a talented singer. We would certainly keep Crane's on our list if we return to the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

It is a very nice secluded hotel right in the midst of the town. Very quiet - nice rooms - we had a one bedroom suite - nice quality bed linens - fully equipped kitchen - nice warm water pools with sunny and shady & comfy lounge areas - very friendly and helpful staff. The only thing I would suggest they improve upon is the breakfast. It is a good quality hotel, but the breakfast did not reflect that same quality. The bagels and muffins were prepackaged and very boring. The spreads for the toast (only available one day) and bagels was apple and grape jelly - very cheap choices for an otherwise quality hotel. The only bright spot at breakfast was the fresh orange juice. Some days there was yogurt, but not all days and only two choices of cereal - Rice Krispies and Spec K. Fruit choices were poor quality apples and sour oranges - at least bananas would have been a nice option. I heard many other guests also complain about the breakfast.
We would definintely stay here again, but wish they could make a few improvements to the breakfast. we were there for 8 nights and it got very boring - we ended up going out for breakfast as I know other quests did also.
A few other things - the soaps/shampoos, etc were not re-filled daily - as well as the "advertised" complimentary bottled water - we had to call the desk and ask for it every day (2 small bottles), as the tap water had an odd smell to it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located one block from the beach and a 1/2 block from "happening" Atlantic Avenue where you will find wonderful restaurants, a Starbucks, lots of small boutique shops. If you are looking for a Gap or Banana Republic - this is not for you.

We arrived early at 2:30 a.m. (due to a delay on our flight) - but the hotel knew this ahead of time and left specific directions in order for us to receive our key and head to our One-Bedroom King-size Suite (Four poster all wood bed with white draperies wrapped around the wood, ceiling fan, gorgeous hand carved wooden dresser, hand carved TV unit with more drawers underneath and a very beachy type coverlet with a plastic fish that had chocolates, teas, etc. on it) needless to say we knew we were going to enjoy our stay. The bathroom had plenty of shelving for your toiletries - water pressure was great with plenty of hot water. Full living room with a rattan sectional covered in a palm tree fabic; chair that matched and another TV. There are only 27 rooms and each one is uniquely decorated - very "beachy" style, fun & whimsical (still very comfortable) The full-sized kitchen equipped with all the conveniences beer and champagne came with a fee, the two waters were complimentary. The freezer filled with ice cream by Ben & Jerry's and a few other items - all priced very reasonable ($3.00) - they weren't trying to rip you off like other mini bars in major hotels try to do. In the living room was a basket filled with goodies, as well - all nicely priced. The room comes with a continental breakfast and you help yourself to a variety of bagels, cereals, yogurts, fruits, fresh orange juice, coffee, tea which is served outside by under their Palapa with sitting areas, along with a hammock, if you just want to relax. There are two pools, one had a waterfall. The staff and everyone who works there seems very happy and ready to be of help. Make sure to stop by the office, as they are always serving Pepperide Farm cookies. They have a small amount of items for sale (their bathrobes, tee shirts, candles, etc.). There's a rack outside of the office with cards for restaurants, real estate magazines, and brochures about the area. The grounds are beautiful...flowers, lots of trees. Happy Hour is held under the Tiki Bar with live music (nightly) - although the crowd is small - it's still fun and you never know who will show up.

Note: there should be parking and remember to get a voucher to put in your car that you're a Crane's guest, if not, you will receive one warning, a nasty note and then they will tow your car. Also, unless you need to and have a valid disability sticker....do NOT park in the disability spot. We did upon arriving at 2:30 a.m., there was not a spot to be had, so we thought we would move the car first thing in the morning - it was too late and we received a ticket for $250.00. When I mentioned this to the nice gentleman who was the manager (?), he said that next time if there is no parking, you can park around the corner in the lot and Crane's will reimburse you for the parking...who knew? That's why I'm informing you of this. Enjoy your stay...I know you will.

Love Delray and you will also.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room at Cranes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate N.Y.
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

That being said, we really liked the location. A short walk to the ocean. A short walk to a fine arts festival. The property itself has a couple little swimming pools and some nice covered areas to sit, a tiki bar with limited hours offering beer and uncomplicated drinks. The desk clerk when we checked in was friendly and helpful. We should have stayed in the courtyard.
$465 dollars to stay in rm #21 for 2 nights.
Small. A small room with a small too soft bed. The smallest {comuter screen sized} tv I've seen in many many years in a motel/hotel. A tiny bathroom with a shower with little water pressure and very slow drainage. A small refrigerator stocked with beer {$5 each} or a snickers or little dixie cup for only $3 each. Pale yellow sterile walls. Very thin walls- we heard conversation and a crying baby and bottles tumbling and someone hacking- Dogs barking. Car alarms. Sprinklers in the middle of the night. Leaf blowers during the NFC game, squinted at on a tiny tv.
Security an issue? Front gate locked at night we were told, must use a key. But the door doesn't latch. I tried to latch it. Wouldn't work. A push. A pull. You are in, or out.
Perhaps one of the problems was we spent the seven previous nights in the keys at beautiful places loaded with personality for only a little bit more money. Perhaps the problems we encountered were only with the one room we stayed in- most others rate this property highly after all. I do not expect to find out regardless the great location.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

This might be the most unique and wonderful little hotel in all of the US. It is in beautiful Delray Beach and it is like stepping into the islands when you walk into the gardens surrounding the buildings and the pools.
I have stayed here many times and have never been disappointed. The rooms are big and comfortable, the suites are exceptional, clean, beautifully decorated.
The breakfast is exceptional, and the setting it is served in is beyond belief.

You must experience this place to believe it.This is a must in South Florida!

Room Tip: All of them are great! Really!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

The last days of our Florida-trip (posh resort in Miami Beach, simple lodge in Everglades City, Universal Studio Hotel in Orlando) we spend in this beautiful place. We were with our 2 sons (12 and 10) and they finally slept well since they did not have to share a double bed but there were 2 sofa-beds for them. The appartment was big, with a fully-equiped kitchen, which we never used since we loved all the restaurants at walking distance. The breakfast was a bit simple: good coffee, donuts, bagels and muffins, some yoghurt and cereals. No eggs, no bacon, no turkey or salmon. But enough to start the day. We loved the pools, the tropical garden, the colors and wallpaintings. It really makes you feel like you're on a tropical island. And just around the conres is the beach. Who wants more? We do: we want to spend more days here. Next time visiting Florida, we'll skip the posh Miami Beach resort and go straight to Crane's.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crane’s BeachHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crane’s BeachHouse

Address: 82 Gleason Street, Delray Beach, FL 33483 (Formerly Crane's BeachHouse Hotel & Tiki Bar)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Delray Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Delray Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Delray Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crane’s BeachHouse 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an incredible Key West-like experience just one block away from the Atlantic Ocean, Crane's Beach House Boutique Hotel & Luxury Villas is a fun and festive boutique hotel with 28 distinctive and luxurious guest suites, studios, and Villas, all nestled within a lush, tropical setting. This creates a real tranquil environment, even though the hotel is just steps away from the shops and restaurants along Delray Beach's hot and happening Atlantic Avenue. The two poolside Tiki Bars are stocked with an array of tropical drinks, wines and both domestic and imported beer, with a music-filled happy hour from 5 to 9 p.M. On Fridays and Saturdays. Crane's Beach House is a proud recipient of the Florida Superior Small Lodging Association's prestigious Donal A. 

Crane's Beach House Hotel is please to provide it's guests with a smoke-free environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Crane’s BeachHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crane`s Beachhouse Hotel And Tiki Bar
Cranes Beach Hotel
Cranes Beach Delray

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crane’s BeachHouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.