We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of J and J Seafood

J and J Seafood
632 E Atlantic Ave, Delray Beach, FL 33483-5326
+1 561-272-3390
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 323 Restaurants in Delray Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
192 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Outstanding Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We came based on Trip Advisor reviews and were very pleased. I had a special with yellowtail snapper and shrimp over risotto and both the fish and the shrimp were cooked to perfection, not overcooked as is often the case at seafood restaurants. My husband had the tower and liked it but not as much as my fish. I got the gazpacho because of other reviews, but I found it had too much sauce for the amount of chopped vegetables and it was primarily cucumber. The fried calamari was a good appetizer - not overcooked and with a unique slightly sweet batter. We had flourless chocolate cake (very good) and key lime pie (amazing and not over-tart) for dessert.
The restaurant has heavy traffic at the bar with a good number of locals eating there. We sat outside which was not particularly scenic but was relaxing and we were able to chat with one of the owners, who was greeting patrons and passers-by.
Beer list is simple but varied. Wine list is a little more extensive. No mixed drinks.
We will definitely be back but will stick with the fish and dessert.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    43
    20
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

As always J & J's service and food were stellar. Tommy did a great job shucking the Gulf oysters, and the seafood mac and cheese was awesome!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fresh fresh fresh is the seafood at k and j seafood grill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We were greeted with friendly staff. Sat at bar was busy. They suggested smoke fish dip appetizer it was delicious served with peppercionis tomatoes and red onion . Grouper and steamed mussels also very good. Nice wine selection have already gone back twice

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Seafood place on East Atlantic!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you looking to get away from the hype on East Atlantic, come to J & J!! Their seafood dishes are unbelievable, especially the J & J Tower!! The J & J Tower is like nothing I have ever eaten before, surf and turf with a twist, a must try!! Their desserts were delicious as well! Service top notch, like I was family!! My new favorite seafood restaurant in Delray Beach!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always Fantastic Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We've been going to J&J since it first opened. I always order off the nightly specials menu and have never been disappointed. The homemade soups are incredible. The seafood is fresh and uniquely prepared. It can be on the expensive side but I consider it well worth it! The chef will even make fresh cut hand breaded chicken tenders for the children!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J and J Seafood also viewed

 

Been to J and J Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J and J Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.