We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sundy House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sundy House to your Saves list
Sundy House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   106 S Swinton Ave, Delray Beach, FL 33444   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Delray Beach
Newport, Rhode Island
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Over rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We were guests at Sunday House for a night and attended a wedding/reception. The grounds are very pretty, the reception food was a disappointment, front desk staff rather rude, bartender serving at brunch was downright surly.The wedding planner was delightful, professional and should give lessons. The rooms comfortable,artsy and painted with vivid colors. Brides take note, the rooms are dark and lighting is poor for makeup so check it out prior and plan to make necessary adjustments.The location is terrific - walking distance to many wonderful restaurants and shops!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    20
    13
    3
    7
See reviews for
34
57
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Worth, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Love the place, beautiful botanical garden with a natural swimming pool in which you can swim with fish. The brunch is a huge buffet separated in two main part: the cold up front and the hot near the bar. Excellent food, excellent desserts as well. Although almost $80 per person it better be good.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is not so much a hotel as a series of buildings with rooms spread over a verdant tropical oasis. You walk in off of the street and into a beautiful jungle. I was staying for business but decided to take a break from the chain hotels this once and am so glad I did. Because I was gone for work during the day, I did not have an opportunity to enjoy the restaurant, though I did spend an hour every morning in the wonderful pool. The live fish swimming around me in the pool were incredible and one of several reasons I hope to bring my spouse with me the next time I stay here. The room was spacious with high ceilings and a large balcony. The bathroom was huge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We got married here in March and could not ask for a better experience. Tom the coordinator was just great. He detailed everything so there would be no surprises and there none. His communication was great throughout the whole experience which kept the stress level down.
Tom's crew was also great. He assigned his assistant, David, to be responsible for our personal needs on the day of the wedding and he delivered. Whatever it was, no matter how simple, David took care of it so we had no worries.
The service crew did a great job. Got to give a special shout out to Shane from the dinner crew. His interaction and animated personality was great.
The food was great and everyone loved their dinner. So a special thanks to the chef.
The atmosphere was awesome for a garden wedding and the guests loved the vibes from the garden.
We used a couple of the vendors from their Vendors List and they were all great. From the entertainment EMac Music to the cake Sugar Chef.
At the end of the day we were happy with everything. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

my famuly and my daughter s bridesmaids had a reservation for a bridal luncheon in February on a Friday at Noon. We were quoted an amount for minimum to spend. When we finished and ready to pay, the minimum was added to the total spent. On such a happy occasion, we were very upset and disappointed at the un professionalism of
of such a popular establishment. They were liars on what was agreed upon when reservations were
made.
We loved the food, atmosphere and service
Unfortunately we will never go again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed for a week in the Sundy House. Their focus seems to be more on weddings and the restaurant business than the hotel part. It is fun to walk through the botanical garden the first day, but after a few days , it becomes tedious.

We stayed for six days, but an appropriate room for us was only available for five days. For the final day, we rented a pricy two bedroom suite that was way too big for us. Then our flight home was cancelled and we had to stay in Florida for an extra two days. I asked the manager if they had a vacancy for the single king room that we had for the first five days. She said no. I asked if she could give us the two bedroom suite at the same price as the single king room ($50 off). She said no, but she could give us $20 off. We just spent $2400 there! I would say there was zero percent chance that the two bedroom suite was going to be rented out on a Tuesday and Wednesday. We were doing them a favor , also. Win-win? It wasn't the money , so much as a take it or leave it , can't do attitude. This manager gave us the same negative attitude when we asked if we could be on a waiting list for an earlier brunch time. NO!

I will say that Rachel and Brian at the desk had the can do hospitality attitude that we look for when we stay at nice places. We will stay elsewhere for our next trip to Delray in February.

Room Tip: We did not see flat screen TVs in either of our rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is a historic inn-and-restaurant located just a block south of Atlantic Avenue in what once was a solely residential area. We stayed over the New Year's Holiday for a few days around Delray's First Night Celebration. There is sufficient self-serve parking in a lot on site. It was great just parking the car and walking to Atlantic Avenue activities.

The big draw about the place is the landscaping, pool and restaurant. We spent a pleasant afternoon on the grounds, specially in-and-around the pool. Pool area is like nothing we'd ever seen before, with lush landscaping, fully stocked with fish, lots of seating. The grounds are landscaped so that you feel as if you've entered a standalone jungle and every corner that you turn is a new surprise. Lots of gazebos, cul-de-sacs, bridges, flowing water. When you go in, you feel as if you've left the city behind.

Room was well apportioned, with an entryway bar area (built-in cabinets, granite counter tops, mini microwave, fridge), and modern bar ware, plates and other service items. Furnishings were unique; our room decorated in something like British colonial style. With a balcony overlooking part of the pool area.

About the breakfast: The wife wanted waffles. The breakfast is tastefully laid out continental: basket of mini croissants and pastries, breads for toasting, artfully arranged platters and bowls of freshly cut fruit, fresh-fruit compote, coffees and juices. Strictly self-service. Nothing hot. Given that there was a cook on hand to prep the buffet each morning, who was basically hanging around just for that, would it have been that much more of an effort to have him hang out with a hot plate and prep some eggs to order?

About the noise at night: The restaurant area is partially open. And the band/music/dancing is set-up in what is essentially an open-to-the-elements dance floor. That means that any party noise from the restaurant or a wedding will spread over the grounds. And their guests are out wandering the grounds. If you're looking for a place that shuts down at 8 PM, this is not the place for you and you will be disappointed. But if you're up for the energy of watching a wedding unfold, or dancing along to the (overheard) music of a party, then it's a perfect

Room Tip: Although this is popular for couples, families are welcome. If room does not have enough beds, there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sundy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundy House

Address: 106 S Swinton Ave, Delray Beach, FL 33444
Location: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Delray Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Delray Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sundy House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In historic downtown Delray Beach, the Sundy House offers distinctive and luxurious accommodations in a serene atmosphere. An acre of lush gardens filled with exotic plants, ponds, and waterfalls provides a secluded retreat, while innovative Florida-inspired cuisine is offered at the unique Sundy House Restaurant, creating an ideal location for an intimate wedding or corporate function. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sundy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundy House Hotel Delray Beach
Sundy Hotel Delray Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundy House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.