We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leave the city behind, unique grounds/furnishings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sundy House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sundy House to your Saves list
Sundy House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   106 S Swinton Ave, Delray Beach, FL 33444   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Delray Beach
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Leave the city behind, unique grounds/furnishings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is a historic inn-and-restaurant located just a block south of Atlantic Avenue in what once was a solely residential area. We stayed over the New Year's Holiday for a few days around Delray's First Night Celebration. There is sufficient self-serve parking in a lot on site. It was great just parking the car and walking to Atlantic Avenue activities.

The big draw about the place is the landscaping, pool and restaurant. We spent a pleasant afternoon on the grounds, specially in-and-around the pool. Pool area is like nothing we'd ever seen before, with lush landscaping, fully stocked with fish, lots of seating. The grounds are landscaped so that you feel as if you've entered a standalone jungle and every corner that you turn is a new surprise. Lots of gazebos, cul-de-sacs, bridges, flowing water. When you go in, you feel as if you've left the city behind.

Room was well apportioned, with an entryway bar area (built-in cabinets, granite counter tops, mini microwave, fridge), and modern bar ware, plates and other service items. Furnishings were unique; our room decorated in something like British colonial style. With a balcony overlooking part of the pool area.

About the breakfast: The wife wanted waffles. The breakfast is tastefully laid out continental: basket of mini croissants and pastries, breads for toasting, artfully arranged platters and bowls of freshly cut fruit, fresh-fruit compote, coffees and juices. Strictly self-service. Nothing hot. Given that there was a cook on hand to prep the buffet each morning, who was basically hanging around just for that, would it have been that much more of an effort to have him hang out with a hot plate and prep some eggs to order?

About the noise at night: The restaurant area is partially open. And the band/music/dancing is set-up in what is essentially an open-to-the-elements dance floor. That means that any party noise from the restaurant or a wedding will spread over the grounds. And their guests are out wandering the grounds. If you're looking for a place that shuts down at 8 PM, this is not the place for you and you will be disappointed. But if you're up for the energy of watching a wedding unfold, or dancing along to the (overheard) music of a party, then it's a perfect

Room Tip: Although this is popular for couples, families are welcome. If room does not have enough beds, there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    26
    14
    4
    8
See reviews for
40
67
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

So in love with this place. Spent the weekend their for our Christmas to US, so wonderful. Beautiful grounds, great service, wonderful food!! Didn't want to leave. Greg & David were just the BEST!!! We'll be back as often as we can.

Room Tip: Room 11 2nd floor with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We went to a wedding at Sundy House. The grounds are gorgeous, lush and tranquil. Thats about all the good things I can honestly say about Sundy House. Wedding was outside in the heat of summer. All the women wore high heals which kept getting stuck in the coral holes in the ground which runs through the entire outside of this place. Wear wedges or flats if going to be outside. The ceremony was held on the grass , again we all sunk into the dirt with our beautiful heals on, no walkway or platform. The ceremony was at 6:00 we didn't get any food until 8:30pm which was served buffet style. I'm sorry if you are going to a wedding dinner should be served to the guests. We should have to wait in line for our food which they kept running out of more waiting. I tried the paella which was underseasoned and fishy tasting. The wahoo wrapped in banana leaves was horrid no one ate it, i could see it left behind on the plates. Salad was served in this little glass , I had to go back 3 times just to get a plate full of salad. I did not enjoy this menu at all. The wedding cake was red velvet and another flavor cake but all 10 of us could not figure out what the flavor was but needless to say they were both very very very stale. We left by 10:00 we just couldn't take anymore.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
146 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is one if the rare places I almost do not want to say good things about because it might become too popular.
We have stayed here before and we keep coming back as it keeps getting better (except for the plant they removed for the new driveway).
The rooms are unique and in great style. Highly recommend suite 2. The painted floor, walls, ceiling and swing bed are wonderful.
Stayed in room 7 also and it was just great.
The copper bar has a 6-9 happy hour, the the restaurant in the jungle with wind blowing through the bamboo and water over the falls is almost as good as the food. Keep an eye out the fish in the ponds some are huge.



Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, FL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

What a hidden gem! The Sundy House is just one block away from all the hustle and bustle of Atlantic Ave. so location, location, location. It is a tropical paradise which makes you feel you are in Costa Rica. Our room was perfect with all the comforts of home. I loved the natural pools complete with fish! You MUST stay for the Sunday Brunch as it is the best I around. I will be back!

Room Tip: Book your dining reservations in advance for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I wanted a unique place to celebrate our anniversary. I decided to try Sundy House because I had watched the head chef compete on Top Chef and knew Lindsay Autry would have a great menu. It was fabulous. The service was top shelf. We will definitely make this a favorite place of ours!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Sunday House is incredible place. It fits for every family occasion. The property is breath taking. The food was something that I was happy to experience and will surely do again. The manger Mike Merry made the experience one to remember. I'll be back at the Sunday House soon.

Osha G.

Room Tip: Ask for the Manager Mike Merry... He will make it a great time for any occasion
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delray Beach
0.8 mi away
Crane’s BeachHouse
Crane’s BeachHouse
#3 of 18 in Delray Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
#5 of 18 in Delray Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 377 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
#9 of 18 in Delray Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Delray Beach Marriott
Delray Beach Marriott
#8 of 18 in Delray Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
0.4 mi away
Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
#4 of 18 in Delray Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wright by the Sea
Wright by the Sea
#2 of 18 in Delray Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundy House

Address: 106 S Swinton Ave, Delray Beach, FL 33444
Location: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Delray Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sundy House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In historic downtown Delray Beach, the Sundy House offers distinctive and luxurious accommodations in a serene atmosphere. An acre of lush gardens filled with exotic plants, ponds, and waterfalls provides a secluded retreat, while innovative Florida-inspired cuisine is offered at the unique Sundy House Restaurant, creating an ideal location for an intimate wedding or corporate function. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sundy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundy House Hotel Delray Beach
Sundy Hotel Delray Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundy House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.