We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect wedding venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sundy House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sundy House to your Saves list
Sundy House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   106 S Swinton Ave, Delray Beach, FL 33444   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Delray Beach
pa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the perfect wedding venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My nephews wedding at the Sundy House was beautifully executed from the food to the communicaitons, to the accomodations. Many family members stayed at Sundy House as well.
The rooms were spacious and interesting, at times quirky. The grounds are gorgeous and tropical. really a fun venue for a small to mid size wedding.

Room Tip: If you are in a bridal party ask for a room with a full length mirror since many do not have them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We just returned from our 6th stay at Sundy House and are already making plans for next winter. The magnificent tropical setting makes you feel like you are very far away; yet you are only a few blocks from the restaurants and shops on Atlantic Ave. Accommodations are very comfortable and the continental breakfast is delicious. Restaurant is excellent. All staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sf2010_008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed in Room 11, with blue & white gingham draped four poster bed and good-sized balcony overlooking swimming 'pond' in a tropical garden setting. Plenty of space in the room, even though there was a lot of dark wood furniture. We didn't think the staff were that friendly and they kept out of sight most of the time, except for the valet who was very helpful.
Breakfast was great and we were able to sit outside and enjoy the February warmth.
We didn't eat in the restaurant although it looked inviting as did the bar area. There are loads of restaurants in Delray so it seemed a shame not to go into town in the evening.
The Sundy House is about 20 minutes walk to the beach but lots to look at on the way and I think the hotel provide a shuttle service.
One negative point about Delray is that a very fast train line passes right through the centre of town - only one/two trains an hour but they can be about a mile long, accompanied by loud tooting of the horn as they go (day and night). They are not as frequent during the night. The hotel has aircon so not a problem if you have that switched on, of course!

Room Tip: Room 11 was on the first floor with a balcony which meant you had a super outlook onto the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TillyT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lantana, Florida, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed in Room #9, wish the bed was mounted more securely, the place is a lover's dream :)....however; it was a dream night. Everything was perfect. Got the cottage for my birthday in 2 months. So love her. Staying in room #5.profit! for both of us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alkemyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
132 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here in one of the cottages and would love to stay again! It was superb! It was like your own little home tucked away in paradise. You would never suspect that downtown Delray was just a skip away. Cab service was great. Brunch is delectable. I have been to Sundy house a few times before, for brunch and it's always been memorable. I've never stayed in anything but the cottage, so i can't tell you how other rooms are. If you're going to stay here...make it memorable! STAY IN A COTTAGE :) you won't be dissapointed!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TnCountryLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is not a big corporate one, or a new "boutique" hotel, it's the real thing--an older set of buildings in beautiful gardens with fish ponds, trees, nooks to sit in. The staff could not have been nicer or warmer, from the front desk to valet stand to housekeeping and maintenance. Yes, my room did require some work from maintenance--but everyone was so nice about it, I hardly minded.

Be aware that weekends are likely to have wedding parties--that comes with the territory. Before I left, a couple asked me to take their photo. She was about to give birth, obviously (a boy) and they'd been married there a year before and were back to have brunch before their life changed for a good long time. That's classic Sundy House, I think. Not the quietest, not quite up to certain kinds of taste/standards--but a wonderful place that people love.

My one request would be one more lamp per room--the balconys, so nice to sit out on, also mean there are overhangs that keep light from coming in through the windows.

(Refrigerators & nice Keurig coffee machines in the rooms a good bonus, I'll add--and the little pool, where you swim with the fishes by a stone waterfall, and the world is entirely happy.)

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jhpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I know lots of people like this one, but it wasn't for us. The big thing is the gardens and natural pool, for good reason. I didn't try the food, but the garden setting is lovely. However, the accommodations are really lacking. We were in an "equestrian" room - kinda ugly and zero relation stylewise to the rest of the hotel. Our bed was too soft, the pillows lumpy, and lots of mold in the bathroom. And dark, dark, dark. We escaped after one night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bebe38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delray Beach
0.8 mi away
Crane’s BeachHouse
Crane’s BeachHouse
#3 of 17 in Delray Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
#7 of 17 in Delray Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
#6 of 17 in Delray Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Delray Beach Marriott
Delray Beach Marriott
#8 of 17 in Delray Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 792 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Delray Beach I-95
0.4 mi away
Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
#4 of 17 in Delray Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundy House

Address: 106 S Swinton Ave, Delray Beach, FL 33444
Location: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Delray Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Sundy House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In historic downtown Delray Beach, the Sundy House offers distinctive and luxurious accommodations in a serene atmosphere. An acre of lush gardens filled with exotic plants, ponds, and waterfalls provides a secluded retreat, while innovative Florida-inspired cuisine is offered at the unique Sundy House Restaurant, creating an ideal location for an intimate wedding or corporate function. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sundy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundy House Hotel Delray Beach
Sundy Hotel Delray Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing