We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique atmosphere, but hotel lacking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sundy House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sundy House to your Saves list
Sundy House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   106 S Swinton Ave, Delray Beach, FL 33444   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Delray Beach
New York, NY
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Unique atmosphere, but hotel lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I know lots of people like this one, but it wasn't for us. The big thing is the gardens and natural pool, for good reason. I didn't try the food, but the garden setting is lovely. However, the accommodations are really lacking. We were in an "equestrian" room - kinda ugly and zero relation stylewise to the rest of the hotel. Our bed was too soft, the pillows lumpy, and lots of mold in the bathroom. And dark, dark, dark. We escaped after one night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    26
    14
    4
    8
See reviews for
40
66
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our family went out for a New Year's Eve celebration at the Sundy House restaurant for their four course prix fixe menu. Upon arrival we were promptly seated at the Gazebo table in their back courtyard. The table was absolutely beautiful and the courtyard had an incredible ambiance to it. The tables were set far enough apart from other diners that we were all able to clearly hear each other and enjoy the outdoor atmosphere.
Our waiter, Valentin, was very attentive. My mother in law is a big fan of chef Lindsay Autry from Top Chef Texas. We made the request earlier in the evening to meet her if it was possible. Since it was New Year's Eve we knew she would be very busy in the kitchen.
Our food was fantastic. We all had something different from the menu and it was all delicious. As we were finishing up - chef Lindsay stopped by our table and said hello! It was a wonderful way to end our meal and my mother in law was very happy to meet her.
I've been to many of the other restaurants in the Delray Beach area and this is by far one of the best.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

You would never believe such a beautiful place could be hidden right off the strip in Delray Beach. The ambiance was romantic & delightful. The service was 5 star!! Our waiter, Michael, was on point. He was courteous, paid attention to every detail of our order. He even had chef prepare food not offered on the menu to cater to my special diet. "Thanks again, Michael". Food was superb...my filet was cooked to perfection, and it melted in your mouth.

I will definitely come back and recommend to others.

Thank you so much for making our holiday meal a very memorable & special day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Sky, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

An historic little gem tucked away in Delray Beach, Florida...

You literally feel like you're a million miles from civilization, yet a short stroll from the amazing Atlantic Avenue thoroughfare. Delray Beach is a slice of old Florida that still exists. The town has strict zoning laws so they have been able to maintain its historic charm, pedestrian sensibility and architectural soul.

At the Sundy House, you can live life in a cozy bungalow, surrounded by lush tropical settings and best of all pools that you can swim in that have native tropical fish swimming at your feet. And I have to mention the professionalism of the staff - first class all around.

If you enjoy unique, authentic and historic settings this is the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed a week in the subdy house, we felt great, the overall place is beautiful, full of nature. The food in the restaurant was amazing plus the staff was great very helpfull specially mike, he was our waiter for the night and he was so nice, very patient with us since we didnt knew what to order, we were very pleased with our experience, if you go to the restaurant, definetly try to sit in mike's station! Higly recomended

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

it was an amazing experience, plus they have an excellent staff, specially Mike, he was so nice to us he showed us the beautiful gardens. the overall place is beautiful, a nice pool, a tranquilizing place, full of nature

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We literally fell into the night of the 20th anniversary of the lighting of the 100' Christmas tree at Delray Beach. During the day we were admiring the tree and a gentleman there said that if we didn't have plans for dinner that we should check out the Sundy House as he thought it has the best food in the country! How do you not check out this place from that recommendation? They did not disappoint. We had a wonderful, relaxing dinner - wonderful waitstaff - outstanding food. We recommend it highly and when we're back in the area we'd love to stay here as the rooms and grounds looks wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delray Beach
0.8 mi away
Crane’s BeachHouse
Crane’s BeachHouse
#3 of 18 in Delray Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
The Seagate Hotel & Spa
#8 of 18 in Delray Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
Hyatt Place Delray Beach
#5 of 18 in Delray Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Delray Beach Marriott
Delray Beach Marriott
#9 of 18 in Delray Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 697 reviews
0.4 mi away
Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
Colony Hotel and Cabana Club
#4 of 18 in Delray Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wright by the Sea
Wright by the Sea
#2 of 18 in Delray Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundy House

Address: 106 S Swinton Ave, Delray Beach, FL 33444
Location: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Delray Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sundy House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In historic downtown Delray Beach, the Sundy House offers distinctive and luxurious accommodations in a serene atmosphere. An acre of lush gardens filled with exotic plants, ponds, and waterfalls provides a secluded retreat, while innovative Florida-inspired cuisine is offered at the unique Sundy House Restaurant, creating an ideal location for an intimate wedding or corporate function. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sundy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundy House Hotel Delray Beach
Sundy Hotel Delray Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundy House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.