We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice brunch on the Intracoastal...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Calypso - CLOSED

Old Calypso
900 E Atlantic Ave, Ste 22, Delray Beach, FL 33483-6954
561-279-2300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Delray Beach, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice brunch on the Intracoastal...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

It's been a while since we visited for brunch, but I remember the ambiance was pleasant, quiet so that a conversation was possible at a reasonable volume. The French Toast was lovely and the staff was attentive. I'd really love to return to try some of their other menu items if they still do brunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    12
    6
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautifull view and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This place offer a fabolous view of the intercoastal and the menu gives you a lot of choices, variety fishes and some steaks to, fresh salads, on saturdays they have live music wich make the dinner even better, best seared scallops, and amazing duck a l'orange, on my first visit to old calypso after my dinner experience i say totally like it but this time i completely love it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrice
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lobster Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We was told that Old calypso Was making some changes and we decide to give them a try, after reading all the good reviews and having a bad experience at deck 84 at last minute we call for a reservation of nine people, what a big surprise when we get our table next to the window with a amazing view to the intercoastal, profesional service with two servers, i ordered the fresh catch and when our food came to the table we all was surprised with the beatifull presentation and the profesional cooking job, the potatoe chip as a garnish was just a nice touch of dedicated chef, i used to go for the early bird menu but i think the new chef changed for a new summer menu wich is so rich in offer and flavors, after getting our food on the table chef cruz a young spanish guy show up to our party table and ask how the steak was cooked, the steak was in perfect temperature, the lobster with some kind of shrimp crust and a creamy sauce was just a creative way to use a main lobster. The protions in all our dishes where big, a combination of great food, professional service and incredible view of the intercoastal make aour experience exceptional.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lunch & Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This restaurants offers a great variety of food, had lunch & dinner.
Salads are wonderful seafood with fresh fruits a great combination.
Staff was attentive, service was good, but not very friendly.
They could work on smiling a little more. I would come back really liked the food & the ambiance!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Thing a ever ate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My friends and i where driving around of Atlantic avenue looking for a good place to have a nice dinner, by mistake we end up to other side of the down town, and we find this place with a great view right on the intercoastal, what a amazing service from the door to our table, i order the chef special wich was blacken scallops and shrimp with a really delicius parmesan risotto and a creamy and nice fennel sauce, the chef could do not be more pleasant by adding to his dish a nice portion of green beans in garlic sauce wich was the best complement to the scallops and shrimps, the blacken seasoning was a litle spicy but the fennel cream sauce just balance the flavor to a 5 stars dish. Old calypso is the best sea food place that ever try in florida and the chef special was the best Thing i ever ate.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Calypso also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Calypso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.