We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good All Aound” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Max's Harvest

Max's Harvest
169 Northeast 2nd Avenue, Pineapple Grove Way, Delray Beach, FL 33444
561-381-9970
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Max's Harvest is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 348 Restaurants in Delray Beach
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good All Aound”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Our party of 10 was seated quickly in the garden The restaurant had two persons assigned to us, the service was excellent. We had a show to see at 7;30 which our server Megan was advised of, and at 7:10 brought the check thanking us and telling us we should be fine for our short walk. The food was very good, not a bad meal in the 10 served.. Although several members complained about the creativity. Others rejoiced in the goat cheese croquetts, and kale Caesar. I had the tangine chicken with couscus. A dish that I enjoy, and is usually overcooked. This time it was not, with total flavor from the moment it entered my mouth. As I questioned the others in our party, only the diver scallops were listed as O.K. from one of our party. My wife also had them and loved them. A very good sign, she is very fussy if they are not done perfectly. Farm to table is a little overplayed now, but this one was very solid. Not perfect, but solid.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    66
    22
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poor management”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The food may be delicious at Max's Harvest, but my group of five will never know. When arriving for our 7:45 reservation, the hostess told us that because of having to move outdoor diners inside( it had rained), we wouldn't be seated for quite a while. When we asked to speak to a manager in the hopes that he'd find us a nearby reservation elsewhere,Peter, told us he had better things to do. Max's may be the best restaurant in a Delay, but I'll never go back...at least until they find a manager who knows how to deal with customers.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Delray Rip-Off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This place has no claim to its pretensions. Prices are for a top tier dining experience and this it is not. Stage- struck waiter introduces himself by name (who needs to know?) and asks if we'd like the "bread service." This consists of two tiny muffins and two minuscule cheese puffs, scorched on the bottom, raw on top. Pork belly appetizer was almost all fat, $23 Risotto cake is a leaden puck of leftover rice with a few veggies strewn around it. The chicken was well cooked, but was almost impossible to cut as it was served in a deep bowl atop a slippery mess of couscous and kale. Skipped dessert and pronounced this the worst $100 food ever. P.S.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place! Farm fresh concept”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We went in with a group for a friend's birthday a few weeks ago. Max's Harvest is one of my favorite restaurants, so I was so happy my friend had the party here! This trip wasn't the best we ever had, the menu is seasonal which comes along with a few disappointments. When a seasonal menu is offered, they're likely to run out of things due to availability, which is understandable, but disappointing nonetheless. The couple of things I really had my heart set on were no longer available, so we decided to order a bunch of things for the table to share. Other problem: one of our friends has a severe tree nut allergy and was only able to eat 2 things out of everything we ordered. Everything we tried had a similar fall comfort food feel to it, and was overall just very heavy. This is quite the opposite of every other meal I've had at Max's. I've always loved how flavorful and light the food is, and also how diverse each dish is from the next. The food was still delicious, just a little redundant. Will be back, of course, but hope the menu selections have a little more variety! Also, of all the times we've been there we have only sat out front or inside up front, definitely check out the back area!! There is plenty more seating outside, and a space inside for private parties like ours.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Haven, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant has grown in popularity over the years while maintaining its quality. Super friendly wait staff and wonderful food keep us coming back. The kitchen and all the staff work very hard to keep things flowing during peak times. Dining here is always a very fun and satisfying experience.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max's Harvest also viewed

 

Been to Max's Harvest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Max's Harvest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.