We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, a little pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jimmy's Bistro

Jimmy's Bistro
9 S Swinton Ave, Delray Beach, FL 33444-3653
561-865-5774
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 319 Restaurants in Delray Beach
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: At Jimmy's Bistro... the menu is ever-changing featuring fresh, hand made pastas, cheeses, sausages and pates as well as meat, fish and seafood dishes with French, Italian and Asian influences.
Baveno, Italy
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Food, a little pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Jimmy's is a small, cozy restaurant with really good food. They put the menu up on a board behind the bar as it changes based on what's in season. The paella was delicious although perhaps a bit too much for one person. The house made ravioli was also delicious as a first shared between my husband and I. The wine list is fairly simple, yet they have some good wines at reasonable prices. The chef definitely takes pride in what he is preparing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    26
    12
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, New York
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Little gem in touristy delray not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We were lucky to get a reservation as the restaurant is very small. It's fun and eclectic atmosphere.
People come in and before seated look at a large chalk board of the menu over the bar
Wonderful, local produce and being. A "foodie" I was skeptical but was wowed!!
After the touristy Atlantic ave joints, this was quiet and welcoming. Would definitely make a point of going again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Small and attractive in Delray Beach with a very nice menu. Service was okay, not fantastic. But the space is limited and it was full so not too easy to maneuver. The food was very good. Slightly pricy but nice for a special occasion.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Worst service in delray”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Great food but by the time your food comes you are so mad you don't feel like eating.830 reservation turns into arriving at830 and being ignored for 30 minutes put at the bar for 40 minutes taken to a table and then moved to another table.so you might eat by ten.this restaurant front of house better stick to their day jobs

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good is delicious...service exact opposite!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Don't expect good service or anyone to even notice that you are there seeking a table even with a reservation. My girlfriend and I were ignored even after we explained that we had called with a reservation earlier that week. Food was good but poor service trumped the food. Disappointed...as my parents had recommended this place more than once.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy's Bistro also viewed

Delray Beach, FL
Delray Beach, FL
 
Delray Beach, FL
Delray Beach, FL
 

Been to Jimmy's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jimmy's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.