We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delray's Apples and Oranges” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bamboo Fire Cafe

Bamboo Fire Cafe
149 NE 4th Avenue, Delray Beach, FL 33483
561-749-0973
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 359 Restaurants in Delray Beach
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delray's Apples and Oranges”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our fourth night in Delray and we've done the Atlantic Ave thing. Walked into the Bamboo Fire Cafe and stepped into something completely different. Tucked away on 4th ave.....almost missed it.....is this tiny family owed and operated, doing they're own thing, could care less for pretentiousness, kind of place. Don't go to be impressed, go to enjoy authentic "island" fare. We did and while the family approach is different and not typical for Delray, we enjoyed it immensely.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    18
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One of our favorite restaurant in Delray”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This little restaurant is truely a family affair with Beverly doing the cooking, Donald hosting and Lauren, their lovely daughter, as waitress. Of the many excellent restaurants in Delray, this one stands out for its wonderfully unique and delicious food. Donald and Beverly are always busy but find time to stop and visit with us each time we are in the restaurant. Upon reading the reviews here it looks like this is a common practice. The Mac and Cheese...UNBELIEVABLE!! Bamboo Fire is one of Delray Beach's little treasures.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Flavors!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Family run place off the main drag in Delray. The macaroni and cheese is like nothing we have ever had before! You have to try it! Jerk pork, oxtail pepperpot, curry goat, grilled conch were all fantastic! Mom is in the back cooking and it took a little longer than most places but well worth the wait! The only downside was the daughter (our waitress). We didn't know how to take her sarcastic remarks.....and she seemed less than thrilled to be there. But that won't stop us from coming back again! Best Carribean food I have had!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Caribbean Flavors abound!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

You must have the jerk meatballs! Fabulous! I had the Mac & Cheese with jerk pork and it was just right. Be prepared to take home leftovers.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I went there tonight with friends who had gone many times, my first.i could not have been more pleasantly surprised and very impressed. The place is very small, quite charming. The food, service and atmosphere could not be faulted for anything. This one is definitely worth seeking out. A must visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboo Fire Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bamboo Fire Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamboo Fire Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.