We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Dated inside.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delray Breakers on the Ocean

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Delray Breakers on the Ocean to your Saves list
Delray Breakers on the Ocean
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1875 S. Ocean Blvd., Delray Beach, FL 33483   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Delray Beach
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great location. Dated inside.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This hotel is a stellar location sitting direct ocean front. You can walk into the sand. There are beach chairs and cabanas available as well as a pool in the center. Great ocean view from the semi private balcony. The room was clean. The kitchen is smaller than expected and dated but does have a small oven and stove top. There is a full fridge. And dishes as well. The bathroom was also very small. The sink is separate from the toilet and shower. The bedroom and closet is nice sized. The pull out couch is thin and I can't recommend that. The breakfast is lackluster but the coffee was good. Customer service was awesome! ! Location is awesome! For the price it's great.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    17
    3
    4
    6
See reviews for
23
11
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, Rhode Island
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I placed a $425 dep in October, based off the pictures on line. we arrived to paint chipping, dirty pool, dirty rooms no deposit return- false advertising! don't stay here, you will be disappointed. they claim the pictures on line are for the rooms they photograph...oh by the way, it is not water view unless you walk out of your room . I sent my mother to see this-they showed her the Model room...not Room 11 that is for sure. I actually started crying for it was really awful. Please don't bring little kids here...

Room Tip: good luck with that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clover, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We could not have been more pleased with our stay
My husband and I were extremely well taken care of
Close to everything, on the beach, clean; and the value you are getting, a 1 bedroom apartment for the price of a hotel room.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safety Harbor
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

First - An ocean view room is a joke. Do not get too excited because in my "ocean view" room, I could barely see the ocean from about 1/4 of my window.

Second - The room is awful. I felt like I had returned to my old college apartments - outdated carpet, furniture, appliances, and utilites. I did not want to touch anything because it was so old. The bed was awful. There was no TV in the bedroom. The doors were rusted and were extremely difficult to open and close. Wires hanging from the ceiling outside the front door area. Just awful and trashy. Also, there was no hot water.

Third - Overpriced. I could have paid an extra $30.00 and stayed at a chain hotel, such as the Marriott. What a mistake I made - lesson learned. Staying at this motel is the equivalent of staying at a 49.99 motel off the interstate. The only reason I paid $250 for a night was for the location. The fact that it was on the beach is this motel's only redeeming quality.

Do not trust the photographs on Trip Advisor - they are outdated.

Room Tip: Spend the extra $30.00 and stay at a chain hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Was so pleasantly surprised at how nice this hotel is. From the staff at check in till check out they were so helpful. The room was very clean maybe some feel just a bit outdated but totally fine. You can stay at other swanky hotels but your not staying on the beach and able to walk from your room and not have to cross a street. The little cabanas on beach are great. The pool has a handicapped accessible chair lift . Definatly staying again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We are former Delray Beach residents and have returned annually for a spring break vacation. We have stayed in many condos and hotels on A1A, however this was our first stay at the Breakers. The condo/hotel's beachfront location, for the price, is hard to beat. I agree with other comments that the unit furnishings are a little dated. However our unit had a very large living and dining area and large bedroom and was very, very clean (housekeeping comes everyday). We actually enjoyed having furniture that was a little 'tired'....we felt more relaxed.

We had an oceanfront room, which really sold us. The price was great (used our AAA discount) and could not be matched by other hotels when requesting oceanfront. We have stayed at other condo/hotels in the exact same area and ended up paying much more for the oceanfront rooms.

The kitchen is small, but who really cooks large meals when you are on vacation in Delray? Each unit had two comfortable lounge chairs and a separate table/chairs for outdoor dining, if you did cook. The lounge chairs were great for drinks in the late afternoon.

The location is also perfect for walkers/runners. You can walk the beach or run/walk on A1A. We ended up walking to Delray nearly everyday...opting to leave the car at the hotel.

We loved the cabanas on the beach, which is common in the Delray area. We are going to rent here next year...and plan for longer stays when we are retire.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

It's single story and right on the beach - that is the reason you would stay here. All the rooms have kitchenettes which makes it really easy to have a low-key relaxing stay and not have to worry about going out for breakfast and lunch. (we usually go out for dinner or carry-out from a restaurant as it is close to downtown Delray) Sit on your patio have coffee or cocktail at the end of the day. It's "old florida" and our family has been coming here for over 20 years. My parents stay here for 4 months and all my brothers and sister and kids come down for winter break. The rooms are clean but VERY dated. Totally fine with me - it's kind of a joke amongst our family. If you are looking for new and luxury this is not your place. The people who work here are great. Also, the hotel has changed owners recently so they have done some updates - new beds and linens which are really comfy. The place is nothing fancy but I really love it and how relaxing it is here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delray Breakers on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delray Breakers on the Ocean

Address: 1875 S. Ocean Blvd., Delray Beach, FL 33483
Location: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Delray Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Delray Breakers on the Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Breakers on the Ocean, we take great pride in catering to our guests. We offer a variety of accommodations and amenities. Our one and two bedroom fully equipped apartments located on the perfect beach setting right on the Atlantic Ocean. Located in beautiful Delray Beach, on two acres with 200 feet of white sandy beach front, we provide a relaxing, serene setting offering pool, beach, mini golf, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Delray Breakers on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers On The Ocean Hotel Delray Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delray Breakers on the Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.