We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An incredibly relaxing place...We'll be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delray Breakers on the Ocean

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Delray Breakers on the Ocean to your Saves list
Delray Breakers on the Ocean
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1875 S. Ocean Blvd., Delray Beach, FL 33483   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Delray Beach
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An incredibly relaxing place...We'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

During a recent trip to Florida to visit friends, my husband and I stayed for several days at Breakers on the Ocean in Delray Beach. These days turned out to be some of the most enjoyable and relaxing of my entire life. The location of The Breakers is almost unbelievable!
It's right on Ocean Blvd. (A1A) and has its own private beach, complete with beach chairs and small cabanas (complimentary). It's a lovely setting for a stroll on the beach, reading, sunbathing, or just enjoying the beautiful Atlantic ocean. The amenities at the Breakers include a putting green (so much fun) and a complimentary shuttle into Downtown Delray, with its charming collection of shops and restaurants. At the Breakers, even the sheets on the beds are special...a beautiful shade of blue with small white palm trees. The staff (front office and room) were friendly and accommodating. If you have an event to attend in the Delray/Boynton/West Palm Beach area or if you're just planning a get-away in the sun, you won't be disappointed in this resort which definitely has the vibe of "Old Florida." Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer.
Thank you.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    18
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
24
16
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

This hotel is the perfect example of a property in a wonderful location that is being ruined by poor owner managment. My husband and I love to stay within steps of a beach and this location seemed perfect. We rented the most expensive unit ($270) which was in the north building and the closest unit to the beach. We were told that the unit had a living room window that looked out to the ocean. It did but we were NOT told that the window was broken and could not close completely thereby keeping the AC from being able to cool the unit properly. Which really didn't make any difference because the AC did not even work the entire 4 days we were there. When we arrived in our room we decided to shut the windows and turn the AC on. When we realized the window would not shut completely, we notifed the front desk and they told us that they were aware of that. Why in the world would they rent a unit with a broken window that kept the unit from being cooled. Within an hour we realized that the AC was only blowing warm air and notified the front desk about that problem. The next day the AC was still not working and over the next 3 days we continued to notify the front desk. Robert did manage to get the AC working for about 1 hour on our last afternoon there. But it quit again. An actual AC company was never called. Upon checkout we requested that the owner be contacted to she if she would agree to a reduction in our rental fee due to the fact that the AC in our unit never worked for the entire time we were there. She agreed to give us a $20/nt reduction. Almost insulting and a true indication that she has no clue about customer service and making things right with her guests. So just be careful if you choose to stay here. Hopefully everything will be working in your unit...but if it's not, good luck at getting anything fixed.

Positives:
1) Great location just steps from the beach
2) Ginny & Pat at the front desk were very pleasant
3) Grounds were well maintained
4) Housekeeping was good-but didn't wash the dishes in our sink the 2nd day
5) Wireless in the rooms worked good

Negatives:
1) This was not a swimming beach. Only saw a few people in the water. Saw more ManOWar jellyfish than I have ever seen on a beach (at least 10 for every 10 feet I walked). The hotel had 2 signs by the beach towel table. One said that sharks had been spotted, and the other was a Rip Tide warning.
2) Pathetic Continental Breakfast. Only had sugar pastries, white bagels, coffee and jug orange juice. There was NO: fruit, whole wheat bread/bagels, yogart, granola, cereal, milk or cream, spreads for the bagels. Buy your own items if you want a healthy breakfast!
3) The beach cabanas do not block the sun until about 2:00 in the afternoon. So you have no way to get out of the sun on the beach until then.
4) The "balconies" are actually just the walkway between the units and are not private. The ones on the north building are completely in the sun for the entire day. The south side is shaded by the building. May change as the sun gets higher in the sky.
5) The other front desk person (can't remember her name) was more interested in smoking breaks and watching TV than being pleasant to guests.
6) Bed only had one bedside table. We moved a small table from the balconey and set the dresser lamp on it.

So hopefully at some point this owner will sell this place to someone who will maximize its potential with good management, good maintenance and better customer service. Until then I would spending a bit more and staying next door at Wright by the Sea. It's grounds look lovely and it has good Trip Advisor reviews.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyma, Manager at Delray Breakers on the Ocean, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Wow! Thank you for such a lengthy and detailed report of your stay with us. As it was unfortunate there were problems with your air conditioning we are sorry that it was not handled in a more timely and effective manner. Our employees are trained to go above and beyond when handling guest issues and we are sorry that it did not occur in this instance. As our other satisfied repeat guests of 40 years will attest to, our staff does it's best to rectify any situation that should arise.

We are, however, confused as to your other issues. This successful business owner, or any other owner as you so kindly suggest, cannot control the sun's angle or the jellyfish swarm that was affecting our area the week of your visit. Delray Beach is a great swimming beach as it is at the closest point to the Gulf Stream currents.

Your pictures of your balcony appear pretty private to us as it is not a public walkway but a shared balcony with 2 other units and there is only access to it from those units. Perhaps you would have enjoyed a ground floor unit with it's own private patio? If you were unhappy we would have gladly moved you if you had let our staff know.

We would have gladly brought you an additional bedside table if you had let us know as well.

Our continental breakfast is complementary. We do not have commercial kitchen facilities in which to prepare and safely store hot meals. Other hotels that you recommend do not offer any breakfast at all. Our units each have a fully equipped kitchen in which you can make your own more elaborate meal of choice.

Thank you for complementing us on our cleanliness. We pride ourselves in this fact and we are glad that you, and many others, have remarked on this.

Thank you for complementing Ginny and Pat in the front office. They do a wonderful job and we are glad they were able to accommodate you when your travel plans changed. Also, did you use the directions to the tennis match that Ginny had ready for you upon your check-in? You were impressed with the fact that she had remembered that you had mentioned, in passing when you had made your reservation, that you were planning on going to the event and she wanted to make sure you knew where the tennis center was located. It's those personal touches that we are known for and why our guests return year after year.

Our goal is to make sure every guest enjoys their stay with us and we are sorry that you did not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

I found this hotel from surfing the internet. It doesn't have many reviews on tripadvisor and some are quite old. So i took a chance and stayed here from Dec 27-30, 2010. It was a short vacation prior to going to a soccer tournament in Orlando.
The reason why they don't have many reviews on tripadvisor is because most of their clients are repeat users. They have families that return year after year.
I really enjoyed staying here. If you are looking for modern this isn't the place for you, but if you are looking for a family friendly relaxing stay this is it. I traveled with two 14 year old girls and they enjoyed the pool, both the pool outside for swimming and the full size pool table in the recreation room. The apartments are well equipped with everything you need for your stay. I tend to judge places by their linens and I must say this place passes muster. The towels were very thick and sheets were nice. The towels for pool use were amazingly plush.
The staff was very friendly and the other patrons were nice. Every day people were just sitting out on their patio and it was enjoyable to see strangers just talking to one another and enjoying each other. Which reminds me, every unit has it's own patio with two lounge chairs along with a table and two chairs. Some people had their breakfast out on the patio.
I took advantage of the free wash/dryer. Since I was headed to Orlando next and made sure all our laundry was clean prior to leaving. No problems there. They have a laundry room for wash/dry and for use of ironing.
I truly had a very nice time at this place and would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Just returned from a week at the Breakers. Fantastic place. PERFECT for our family- loved that the kids had their own beds and bath. Kitchen had all the equipment we needed. Wi-Fi, free newspaper, croisants/bagels in the morning. STEPS to the pool and beach. Old Florida style hotel. Only negative was a LOUD large group visiting at the same time. Definitely coming back to this place our next time in Florida.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

Our family visits together here at least one time per year - individually at different times as well. The staff has always been accomodating to our needs. On our last trip - for a funeral, they were extremely helpful during a difficult time. The rooms are clean and they clean them daily. The pool area is fenced for safety and the beach is steps from your door. They do have rules and they do enforce them. We have met people from all across the country - and Europe. I would be glad to send people I know to stay here. We love the separae bedrooms and kitchen in each unit. Go and enjoy DRB.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

We have stayed at this quaint little hotel for the past three years, and love the location & laid-back atmosphere. It has become our home-away-from-home now. We have also convinced our friends that this is the place to stay in Delray Beach!

There are a lot of rules to follow, and the weekday manager limits the use of towels & ice, which we find rather odd. The owner, however, is very accomodating & obviously values our business. The maintenance manager & the weekend manager (Denise) are wonderful, friendly, and helpful. With the exception of one, the enitre staff at the Breakers is top-notch!

  • Liked — Quiet and plesant atmosphere....and a reminder of how Florida once was.
  • Disliked — The weekday manager can come across as a tyrant at times. She makes it feel as though she is doing us a favor to stay there.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

Well, This is a cute little place on the Ocean and the front desk clerk was super friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean. We actually had a great time at our stay until the end. We had a very unpleasant experience with the Owner of the property, this woman treated us (paying customer) down right rude and for this we will NEVER give her a dime of our money again. Thank goodness she has nice people who run her place for her, other wise with her attitude and personality she would be out of business.

  • Liked — quiet and peaceful
  • Disliked — the woman owner of the property not a nice lady
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topmanager, Manager at Delray Breakers on the Ocean, responded to this review, July 22, 2008
M/M Sosa were paying guests for one night. They checked out at our regular check out time on 11:00 AM. However, they used our facilities, beach, etc. for almost another full day without paying. Payment for additional time is our policy. They not only abused the privilege of staying longer without paying but changed their beach attire in our public kitchen area putting sandy shoes and towels on areas where our continental breakfast is served. They continued to use our facility without paying by playing pool in our game room whereby the front desk manager politely asked them to pay or leave. The Breakers on the Ocean has enjoyed being in business for over 40 years and most of our guests return year after year. Guests who have requested additional check out time have gladly complied with our extra charge policy. Guests who do not comply with hotel policies would not be welcomed at any hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delray Breakers on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delray Breakers on the Ocean

Address: 1875 S. Ocean Blvd., Delray Beach, FL 33483
Location: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Delray Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Delray Breakers on the Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Breakers on the Ocean, we take great pride in catering to our guests. We offer a variety of accommodations and amenities. Our one and two bedroom fully equipped apartments located on the perfect beach setting right on the Atlantic Ocean. Located in beautiful Delray Beach, on two acres with 200 feet of white sandy beach front, we provide a relaxing, serene setting offering pool, beach, mini golf, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Delray Breakers on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers On The Ocean Hotel Delray Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delray Breakers on the Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.