We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delray South Shore Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Delray Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Delray South Shore Club
Save
You added Delray South Shore Club to your Saves list
1625 S. Ocean Blvd., Delray Beach, FL 33483   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

It is a wonderful place to stay and to feel disconnected from the outside world. It does resemble paradise from all accounts of every description. It is quiet, the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The place has lushious vegetation which you could extend by taking a short walk to the park adjacent to it. The pool is well maintained as well as the entire property. Friendly staff.
We stayed 4 days recently in July and couldn't be more pleased and delighted!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marlton, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 weeks here in December and loved it. The unit was immaculate but a bit dated. Not a problem for us.The staff was friendly,pleasant and accommodating.Everything we needed was there. A beautiful beach, nice pool area and close to everything as long as we had a car. The grounds were beautiful and well kept. Would love to go back in the very near future.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

I LOVE coming here every year. Was elated when my mom bought my new husband and I a week at this time share. We have really grown to love DSSC. Going there for the last 12 years, we have really gotten to know the staff, fallen in love the with simple surroundings and serenity of the beach.

Room Tip: 3g is the only unit with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

The South Shore Club is a relatively small timeshare community extremely well located in Delray Beach. The property is not particularly wide but is very deep and each unit has a feeling of privacy even though your neighbor is just a few feet away. The clientele is probably a bit older than at most resort hotels, but they were very pleasant and friendly, offering advice on restaurants in the area, as well as a cheery good morning. There were no children in evidence during our stay.

The main path runs down the center of the property with 1 bedroom condo units on either side. The plantings along the path are old-growth and lush, with flowering trees and shrubbery marking your own small but private patio complete with umbrella table, 4 chairs and a lounge chair. Its a bit tight, but four can be comfortable there for a cup of coffee or a drink at sunset. The path winds its way past a pool area with plenty of lounge chairs and umbrella tables. There are a couple of gas grills for burgers and steaks and a shuffleboard court as well.

Just past the pool is the sand and the ocean. The dunes are lush with grasses and rose hip plants and the beach is relatively uncrowded (in March, at least). It was pretty clean except for seaweed that washed up and I think the town or property owners could invest a little more in cleaning that up for their clientele. We had 3-4 days of windy weather that whipped up the waves, so the seaweed was an issue, but it wasn't awful. There is an outdoor shower for washing off sand before entering your unit. The property is prime beach front and every room is a short stroll from the water. You can hear the waves breaking all night...one of the most inviting things about a beach vacation.

As far as the units are concerned, they are clean, cozy and fully functional if not slick and modern. The decor is beachy rattan with tropical upholstery. The living room had a couch and two armchairs, coffee table and two side tables with lamps. One of the side tables served as our office where we set up our laptop and charged our phones. There was also a large armoire with a flat screen (40 in. I think). There were speakers all over the place for playing CDs but we didn't have any with us. If you're counting on your iPod for music, you'd be out of luck. My only problem with the living area was the rug....I would have preferred a tile floor -- I hate rugs in hotel/motels. The units have central air and ceiling fans, all of which worked just fine.

The kitchen had a counter with a couple of chairs and it was fully equipped. Everything worked -- stove, toaster, fridge, etc. The bedroom was large enough for a king bed with two nightstands and a dresser and another 40" flat screen TV. There was plenty of drawer space in the bedroom and the living room as well. There is a small closet between the bedroom and bath, with plenty of hangers for two. It also held an ironing board and vacuum cleaner. The bathroom was huge although it only had one sink. I didn't find that a problem though because it had a vanity area with a chair and a huge mirror. Perfect for putting on make-up. There is a full bathtub with shower.

All in all, I found our stay very enjoyable and would definitely stay there again. It was reasonably priced for a beach property (and we visited several to comparison shop for next year). As for parking, there is a spot for each unit but guests have to park in the municipal lot across Ocean Avenue (busy road). At about 8 pm, everybody has to vacate -- no exceptions -- and law enforcement has a definite presence so don't be late! We had a few friends visit and they used the municipal lot. For us, it wasn't much of an issue because we had no desire to entertain at night -- Atlantic Avenue is just down the road and that's all the entertainment you could want.

Room Tip: Start your search early and ask for a room close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North fork, long island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Delray South Shore club is a small, quiet time share rental on the water. Very peaceful, friendly and accommodating staff and wonderful, friendly guests. Rooms are a bit dated but clean and adequetly furnished. Small shaded patio outside the rooms make for a nice reprieve from the sun and a great place to have a bite or just sit and relax. Beach is just steps away. Located close to Linton and Atlantic Ave provides plenty of dining options. Laundry facilities on site. Had a very relaxing two week stay and would go back as I thought the value was certainly there considering the price of other accommodations in the area.

Room Tip: Close to pool makes trip to pool or beach a few steps away
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed DSSC immensely during our Thanksgiving 2011 week visit! It is a small resort (just 15 units, facing each other with a nice curving walk down the middle) which makes it very cozy and free of any crowds. It is quietThe kitchen, appliances of all kinds and eating utensils in our one BR unit were perhaps the best we've seen in condo/RCI rentals. Easy to get to, half way between Palm Beach and Fort Lauderdale. Plenty of room for two people, four adults would be tight with the fold out LR bed and single bathroom, which was large. The beach was just 175 steps from our door and there was a smallish, but deep pool and a delightful hot tub. King sized bed was great. We could cook out on nicely maintained grills and eat in a protected porch. A nice sea breeze was blowing the entire time we were there. The TVs are old, but who watches TV on vacation?? The staff we met were delightful. It would have been nice to have wind screens and chaise lounges, but the folding chairs worked well. We can enthusiastically recommend this to our friends!

Room Tip: They are all close to the pool and ocean. Ones nearer the parking lot would get no pool noise (if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

This place is terrific, we stayed here in December with 4 of us. 2 adults and 2 children (9&5). It is so nice to not have to be in a big hotel waiting for the elevator for half of your trip. It is small and cozy, so nice and quiet at night. My husband said that he hadn't slept that good in a long time, and he loved the mattresses too. It is really close to the pool and hot tub and take a very short path and you are on the beach. It is great because with 2 kids all they want to do is swim so if it was to hot up by the pool in the sun we would walk to the beach, if it was a little to windy at the beach that day we could stay up at the pool.
The staff is so friendly and helpful with anything at all that you need. The kitchen is fully stocked with a full size refrigerator, full size range, microwave, all the glasses, bowls, pots, pans, utensils, and cooking items you could need. The living room has a dvd player and VCR along with the TV, pull out couch (which was perfect for our kids) and chairs. The furniture when we went was all new and beautiful. The shower had great water pressure (which I love, especially after swimming in the ocean and at the beach). The bedroom had a king size bed, with a super comfy mattress, plenty of drawer space a TV and 2 end tables and lamps and a ceiling fan. Also, had free Wi-Fi, in your room.
We felt very at ease with our children there, not like you had to worry that anyone could grab them at anytime. The place is on A1A just off of Linton, so you are really close to major highways and the ocean, shopping plazas, I cannot say enough about this place. If you get a chance to go, definitely go.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delray South Shore Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delray South Shore Club

Address: 1625 S. Ocean Blvd., Delray Beach, FL 33483
Location: United States > Florida > Delray Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Delray Beach
Number of rooms: 62
Also Known As:
Delray South Shore Club Hotel Delray Beach
Delray South Shore Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delray South Shore Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.