We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask if they can make you the peppercorn filet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joseph's Wine Bar & Cafe

Joseph's Wine Bar & Cafe
200 N.E. 2nd Avenue #107, Delray Beach, FL 33444
561-272-6100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 359 Restaurants in Delray Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Ask if they can make you the peppercorn filet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This item was on special the first time I went there, and I always call and ask Joseph if they have the ingredients to make it before I come each time. It's my favorite, and I wish they'd add it to the menu so I could have it every time.

The filet tastes like it's either broiled or grilled, rubbed with whole or crushed peppercorns and in a Chianti sauce. Medium rare is how I like it. Side of mashed potatoes and asparagus. The filet cuts easily like a piece of butter.

Service is always personal, great personality with Joseph, and his daughter, and son. I wish them the best of luck with the new restaurant his son has opened and look forward to trying it out some day soon, the next time I'm in town.

I go here usually with friends or businesses associates, though this would be a great date place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    31
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food! Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Small and cozy! Joseph and his daughter make you fell like part of the family. Expensive but very good wine selection. The food was fantastic. Some of the best lamb chop I have ever had. We will return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“European Style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The best way for me to describe Joseph's is to ask, have you ever been to Italy or France? Joseph's Wine Bar and Cafe is a restaurant just like the ones you would see there. The service was great and the wine complimented our meal. My wife and I ordered Escargot and we were pleasantly surprised how absolutely delicious it was. We have always order Escargot when it is offered on the menu. Joseph's Escargot was equal to the best Escargot we have ever had. For dinner, my wife ordered Duck and it was a little dry and without any sauce. I ordered the Cedar Plank Dolphin and it was perfect. We enjoyed the meal and the hospitality.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong with Joseph's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

On a lovely side street off the main drag in Delray is a quaint little cafe', with bar and nice tables.

The ringmaster is Joseph, the owner, maitre d', server and bartender, and his wife is the chef.

The food is good, decent array of wines and Joseph aims to please as well as anyone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, FL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant, great wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We met friends for wine and some appetizers, and we were very impressed with Joseph's. The restaurant is intimate and the wine list is excellent. We had the cheese plate and stuffed grape leaves, we all enjoyed both. And the Pinot the owner suggested was one of the bet I've had in months. The owner and his daughter made us feel right at home, we will definitely be back, next time for dinner!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joseph's Wine Bar & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Joseph's Wine Bar & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joseph's Wine Bar & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.