We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the price I expected more!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Artisan Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Artisan Downtown to your Saves list
Artisan Downtown
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   215 S. Woodland Blvd., DeLand, FL 32720 (Formerly DeLand Artisan Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 DeLand B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“For the price I expected more!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I expected a lot more for the price...was very disappointed. Noisy street. place is old. ice machine didn't work on second floor. bathroom was not very clean, dirt in the corners. dusty, towels had stains on them and looked old.

Room Tip: stay someplace else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
7
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent a night here while attending a company event and we loved it!

Great downtown location, nice comfortable rooms with hip eclectic decor and with all the amenities expected of a top notch hotel. The staff was also very friendly and helpful.

We booked an executive suite which had two rooms, well furnished and with high quality finishes.

Safe to say this is probably the best hotel option in Deland.. But there's only a few rooms so book early!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Artisan is an oasis in the heart of beautiful DeLand, Florida. With only eight gorgeous rooms, the staff is always ready to assist you. The beds are so good that I slept through all three of my phone alarms. It looks like most rooms have a great view of downtown DeLand. Everything is walking distance from the hotel. The rooms were super clean and the staff were so accommodating. Perfect stay! We look forward to staying there again in the future. III

Room Tip: Every room is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

This hotel was a great surprise as I was not expecting too much. It is a quaint botique hotel and every room is a suite. It is impecable and tastefully furnished.
Free internet is always a bonus (can't the big groups learn) as well as free parking.
Service is excellent and friendly and when I went to the paino bar for supper, I was served an excellent meal (try the flatbread)
There was also great excellent live music by Scott Berry whi had an excellent reportoire.
I will defenitely be back and highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, I was on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

Historic building but suites (and there are 8 of them) are decorated/furnished modern. Very comfortable, bright. I can't wait to stay here again! The staff super friendly, the Lounge/bar had a great pianist, be sure to try their restaurant too, great food!! My only 'con' is that the vent-fan in the bathroom comes on automatically with the light, which is kind of noisy & can be annoying after a bit, but guessing they may have had to do this for fire-code. Towels & complimentary bathroom toiletries very nice.....I didn't use the thick, white robe but it looked very nice too!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

We just spent two nights at the Artisan Downtown and we were very satisfied with the quality of the room and were very pleased by the ever helpful staff. Everything was very clean and fresh. You can't beat the location which is walking distance to downtown. I think this hotel is a great value and got a lot more than I expected for the price. I do agree with other reviewers that the room is a bit noisy because of the traffic and frequent ambulances passing by.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

We found this property perfect for walking into town and had all the historic charm we expected. There are only a few rooms so they will book up quickly. Staff is quite friendly and there is a cute little Italian restaurant on the ground floor. We were only able to have a light lunch as they were closing for the day and the holiday weekend but what we had was great . We would like to come back just to try the food. Even though the suite had two rooms, we found it a little cramped. I would have liked to have another bedside table and someplace to put the luggage other than the living room. The bathroom was quite spacious. The walls are a bit thin so we did hear our neighbors and their baby during the night. Clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Artisan Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artisan Downtown

Address: 215 S. Woodland Blvd., DeLand, FL 32720 (Formerly DeLand Artisan Inn)
Location: United States > Florida > DeLand
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in DeLand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artisan Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No longer the Deland Artisan Inn. This property is under new management. After a full renovation, our modern-yet-timelessly elegant space embraces the heirloom feel of DeLand’s rich history—all the while offering a modern, trendy, relaxed setting to enjoy life’s simple pleasures.Our boutique suites are spacious, clean, chic, and calming; and our hotel accommodations include all the finest luxury amenities at a modest price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Artisan Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artisan Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.