We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“University inn. Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of University Inn

University Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added University Inn to your Saves list
University Inn
644 N Woodland Blvd, DeLand, FL 32720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in DeLand
ft. lauderdale
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“University inn. Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This will be my 3rd stay at University Inn. Place is clean , Staff is polite. University Inn. Is centrally located.
At all our bike events .. University is our place to stay. The service is what you paid for if your expecting Posh accomodation and service at your finger tips. Then you should. Go to the Ritz.

Room Tip: Check room before unpacking. Higher floors tend to be more spacious and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    8
    1
    6
See reviews for
8
4
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here during Daytona 500 weekend, and based on our past experiences with the motels on the beach where we usually stay, this place was a palace. Compared to a Marriott type place, it was the pits. But for us, the location, the price, and the cleanliness were all acceptable for our needs.

The front desk clerk was very personable upon arrival. We had a king bed/sofa room almost near the end of the building, facing the pool. Despite a packed parking lot, the place was pretty quiet. Our room was clean. We always bring our own pillows and a blanket (this place had those disgusting, never-washed top "comforter" layers which we immediately peeled off), but noticed that the pillow cases and sheets were clean. The mattress was a bit hard and probably hasn't been replaced in many years.

Didn't notice any hairs or dirt in the bathroom. The toilet and shower were separated from the sink/closet area by a door. In the main part was a king size bed, a newer flat screen TV (with not many channel choices), and a sofa. The room was fairly spacious, we never felt cramped.

We didn't get a chance to use the pool, but I noticed a sign at the front desk that said they didn't provide pool towels, which is a little ridiculous. The pool looked clean, and was quite large.

The complimentary breakfast was great if you love carbs. The coffee was good but the other choices were limited to 2 juices, 2 cereal options, bagels, toasts, or pastries that were dried out and tasteless.

The location was perfect for us. Daytona International Speedway was a quick 20 minute drive. Its close to Stetson, the downtown DeLand scene, and plenty of restaurant options.

With the exception of the TV, everything in the room is OLD. It is definitely in need of an upgrade. But for our needs, it was fine. We weren't expecting much, and didn't get much, but it was a hell of a lot better than staying in a roach motel on the beach!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed there 2 weeks as part of a Road Scholar program. Spartan rooms with old and worn furniture. Thin mattresses. Tiny bathroom. Old TVs with horrible reception. Great location, though. Across from Stetson; within walking distance of a very lovely downtown. Friendly staff. All reviews are now moot, however. The motel has been bought by Stetson and will be turned into a dorm. Sale is complete in June, 2013, and motel is gone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale, fl
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

There were hairs everywhere, in the bathroom, on the counter, on the floor, in the sheets once the bed was turned down. Bedskirt ripped. Mattress pad did not cover enough of the mattress to make one feel comfortable and the hairs on the sheets made one feel that the sheets were not changed from the last person to begin with. Had to go to front desk for extra towels to have enough towels for two people, and towels were thin and stained. I actually ran to Publix for Lysol wipes to do my own quick clean of bath, toilet and vanity. We showered, dabbed off, and left asap in the morning. We were there to tour Stetson University, but the proximity to the University did NOT compensate for the fact that we were uncomfortable w/ the cleanliness of our room. I watched TV from the straight chair at the desk, not wanting to recline on the bed before sleeping. There are other choices in town, with "chain" standards. Also, it is on a main road and there is a lot of traffic noise (incl. trucks) constantly.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel Feb. 1 and 2 while my son visited Stetson University. It is directly across the street from Stetson but the convenience does not compensate for the condition of the facility.

Forget that it is older and is desparate need of updating, the problems go beyond that. The towels and sheets are paper-thin. There were hairs on the tub and the sheets, causing me to wonder about cleanliness. The TV was a very old model with very few channels and not the greatest reception. The tub backed up during showers and the shower caused the floor to become very wet. The breakfast consisted of coffee, orange juice, bagels and cereal served in a depressing, small room.

I would choose a different hotel even if a little further from the University. Stetson is not that big a town, so any driving time would be minimal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The hotel's adequate facilities are compensated by great location if you are visiting Stetson. Moved our son in this weekend and were able to walk everywhere. The continental breakfast gets a major thumbs down: almost exclusively bread items, no protein, small amount of mixed fruit and ran out of coffee.

Room Tip: Personally, we liked poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Great Deland location. Very good stay, clean and comfortable. Pool was very nice!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn

Address: 644 N Woodland Blvd, DeLand, FL 32720
Location: United States > Florida > DeLand
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in DeLand
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and Tingo so you can book your University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Deland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.