We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm CRAVING Cook's Buffet, Cafe & Bakery!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cook's Buffet, Cafe & Bakery

Cook's Buffet, Cafe & Bakery
704 N. Woodland Blvd., DeLand, FL 32720
+1 386-734-4339
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 145 Restaurants in DeLand
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Buffet
Description: The restaurant in an old home, built in 1910. It has recently been restored to accentuate it's original beauty and craftsmanship. It is warm and homey, just like home. The beautiful stained glass windows are the homes original windows. The grounds are landscaped with lush green and colorful plants.
DeLand, Florida
1 review
“I'm CRAVING Cook's Buffet, Cafe & Bakery!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

One of the BEST things about DeLand, Florida (and there are A LOT!!) is Cook's Buffet, Cafe AND (mouth is watering as I type this) BAKERY!
Once you go, you will KNOW! First, the building and grounds are meticulously kept and very attractive, in keeping with the CHARM of Stetson University, which is directly across the street.
Walk in and you are warmly greeted, and unless they are super-busy, you and your party will be seated and offered your beverage and menu. But who needs a menu? For me, it's THE BUFFET! Fresh assortment of salads that would satisfy even the pickiest vegetarian (!), then onto the CARVER who will attentively prepare your main course. Then the SIDES: if you like "home-cooking", you will NOT be disappointed! Heap up your plate, and you can even go back for more sides, should you choose. I rarely leave room for dessert, but DO take one home! The best! Not only beautifully presented, they are so good, I would be hard-pressed to choose my favorite! But: the ChocolateFudgeBrownie Sundae is right there at the top... A family favorite for many, many years, we always look forward to a wonderful meal at Cook's, and I have no doubt the tradition will continue in our family, and what a treat to "show off" to out-of-town guests! Love it! Joy & Mike Wehrfritz, friends and family

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    26
    14
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Lots of Fresh Veges and Salads!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful atmosphere
Where your food is shoe cased
On a Buffet. There is a large
Salad bar and the Vegetables are
Fresh. There is a choice of all different kinds of meats and the Desserts are exciting!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cook's Buffet (Not to be confused with Jimmy's---Buffet!!_”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

You're VERY hungry! You've spent hours on the road OR the kids are whiny and tired of the same old thing! A vision appears and you see Cook's Buffet of DeLand, FL and your car turns itself into the parking lot where the aroma of great food beckons you inside! You enter the premises and are quickly greeted by a smiling and very pleasant staff where upon they direct you to your table and all seems right with the world as you are no longer moving down the highway but sitting still and/or the kids have found that which they really wanted to eat while they perused the menu! The wait staff takes your beverage order and shares with you the special of the day as they invite you to enter the salad bar that you find overwhelming with the freshest of veggies and dressings! Returning to your table, you smile as you have noticed the main entrees displayed for your selection. As you again look at the sumptuous display your eye is drawn to a presentation of cakes and pastries that would make anyone smile! Such is the buffet at Cook's Buffet in DeLand! Bon Appetite!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
1 review
“Great place for a wonderful lunch or dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Cooks is a long time favorite of my family. Their friendly service, excellent meals and wonderful atmosphere is always a treat! I had a steak pita for lunch and it was the best I've ever had.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
1 review
“Great food and Great Service !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This was the best meal that I've ever had at a restaurant, the service was also excellent ! We're planning on going back but this time we're taking the whole family. I've even invited some friends from church to come enjoy a delicious meal with us and I told them that if it isn't good I'll pick up the tab.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cook's Buffet, Cafe & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Cook's Buffet, Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cook's Buffet, Cafe & Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.