We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cook's Buffet, Cafe & Bakery

Cook's Buffet, Cafe & Bakery
704 N. Woodland Blvd., DeLand, FL 32720
+1 386-734-4339
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 145 Restaurants in DeLand
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Buffet
Description: The restaurant in an old home, built in 1910. It has recently been restored to accentuate it's original beauty and craftsmanship. It is warm and homey, just like home. The beautiful stained glass windows are the homes original windows. The grounds are landscaped with lush green and colorful plants.
Lindenhurst, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

6 of us went to Cook's for their buffet. It really is not a buffet in the true sense as you have to pick one meat from about 7 choices. And if you want to try something different there is a three dollar charge and the waitress will bring it to you. Then you can return for the salad bar and vegetable bar as many times as you want to. I was disappointed that they did not have any chicken to choose from, Four of our party had the lamb and they said it was very good, I had the fish which was ok, and the other person had the medium roast beef that they said was good. Overall the food was tasty and the price was reasonable but I don't think we will be going back. Service was good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    25
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fresh and tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We ate at Cook's for lunch. The salad bar was extensive, food was fresh and nicely displayed. I was a little disappointed in their signature soup, "chicken velvet," but I am a soup maker and expect a lot! My traveling companion had lamb chops, mashed potatoes and carrots; her food was delicious! We shared a piece of chocolate cake which was a mistake because it was only fair and we felt stuffed when we left. Our server was friendly but disorganized and somewhat fogetful. We will go back again when in the area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We came in tonight and it was amazing. The restaurant was clean and the buffet was beautiful. Seemed like an upscale buffet. Plenty of choices and amazing taste! Our server was Melody an she was fabulous. We have never been there before and she took the time to explain how everything worked. She said that we would only revieve one portion of meat but could order a second. My mother uses a walker and Melody helped her with just about everything telling my family she would help her through the line. There were plenty of selections of meat! The carver Derrick was amazing. He had a wonderful personality and had us laughing the whole time. I had the turkey and it could just melt in your mouth. Melody told us that the owner was there almost every morning cooking and I think that came out in the taste of the food. She also informed us that we could tour the kitchen which let us know the kitchen was clean and well maintained. We will try and do it our next visit. We order the "Sunday Special" which included our dessert. Melody recommended the coconut cake so thats what I had. I wanted to eat the whole cake. They were all so beautiful and wanted to try each one. The atmosphere was pleasant and the music was Chtistmas! I have past this place several times thinking that it might not be very goof but I was wrong. The whole experience was wonderful. The food tasted amazing and cooked perfectly! Melody and Derrick made us feel like we were part of the family. My family had a wonderful time as well. We will be back in the very near future!! Definitely going to be repeat customers!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelandBusinessOwner, Owner at Cook's Buffet, Cafe & Bakery, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very proud of our family of staff members. We would love for you to take a tour of our kitchen anytime. We work hard to keep our kitchen and restaurant clean, just like we were at home.
Our salad bar is one of our highlights. We enjoy adding new things and making it look inviting.
Using fresh ingredients is a high priority, so much so that we grow our own herbs outside our back door. Can't get any fresher than that.
Again thank you for your review and we definately look forward to having you come "home" again.
Sincerely,
Michael & Star Cook, owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida, United States
1 review
“Great Meal.Great Price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Food is like Mom made. What more can I say? Which means it was sooooooo good!

Nice clean place and great service. Cold salad plates are a must and they did it right!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

November 9, 2012 We had a WONDERFUL time enjoying at Cook's. The atmosphere, the food, and the staff made this great experience. One we will enjoy again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cook's Buffet, Cafe & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Cook's Buffet, Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cook's Buffet, Cafe & Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.