We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Deland Stockyard ROCKS !!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DeLand Stockyard

DeLand Stockyard
1915 Old New York Avenue, DeLand, FL 32720
+1 386-734-0210
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 145 Restaurants in DeLand
Price range: $8 - $38
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Historic 1920's Florida building with rich history inside and out. Inside two dining rooms and a lounge and Bar. Outside courtyard and Bar.
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Deland Stockyard ROCKS !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

A friend and myself went to the Deland Stockyard and had one of the VERY BEST MEALS EVER!!! Service was second to none!!! Food was even better !!!! This is a little off the beaten path but definitely worth the little inconvenience. Atmosphere is wonderful, charming, inviting, the kind of place to make you feel comfortable and glad to have chosen this restaurant. In the future when near this area I will return to this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    29
    20
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
DeLand, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Was GREAT When it First Opened”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This place was great when it first opened - they had a great happy hour and "Discount Nights" for Ladies - now it's just average and the food is not as good as it used to be. They need to kick it up a notch again!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Land, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love Them”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I absolutely love the DeLand Stockyard. My husband and I have been going there since they opened. The steaks are amazing and my husband and I enjoy the Black and Blue Pizza when we are looking for something other than a full meal. Tom in the lounge makes a decadent Chocolate Martini. It's off the beaten path but worth it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Its a steakhouse not a seafood restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Just had dinner there last night. Two for dinner with a good bottle of pinot noir only cost 85.00 so this place is priced very reasonable. We also went on the 3.00 off any steak night. My husband had the porterhouse steak it was so good, it was huge and cooked perfect. The mac and cheese was so rich our table of 4 shared a order and we didn't finish it, and it was amazingly good. We also had fried mushrooms and some mild wings all done very well and tasted great. I unfortunately I ordered a stuffed portabella mushroom. Not the best choice on the menu stay away from seafood in this restaurant Steaks are amazing and fresh but seafood not so much
Mushroom was flat and seemed a little old not plump it was kinda slimmy and gross I didnt eat it. The stuffing inside was really fishy
But my husbands steak was so large that I was fine

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBary, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings - great prime rib”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Wife & I went there new yrs eve with a friend. The atmosphere was a little "off"(?).
Didn't feel casual an friendly; maybe because I'd read disparaging reviews. Our waiter was "edgy/ distracted/ brooding". He made enough "small mistakes" in our orders and our service to take away from the dining experience. Side orders wrong, everyone but us got bread basket, etc.
Our food was Delicious, the prime Rib was plentiful, tender and the most flavorful I've had in years. We will go back, I really enjoyed the food.
I have a real hard time with the waiter though; the lone diner at the table beside us commented he didn't recieve the steak he ordered ( New York Strip), he recieved Prime Rib. The waiter immediately became confrontational (aggressive), leaned on the table with both hands, got in the customer's face and barked "you're wrong!, pulled out his order pad waved it in diner's face and said "I've got ot right here!
I HEARD THE DINER ORDER NEW YORK STRIP (in some detail)
That waiter was very,,very intimidating, nearly combatant. I was amazed.
I'll try them again, hopefully it will be more pleasant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DeLand Stockyard also viewed

 

Been to DeLand Stockyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DeLand Stockyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.