We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and are already planning our next visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in DeLand
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina
Save
You added Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina to your Saves list
2317 River Ridge Rd., DeLand, FL 32720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in DeLand
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We loved it and are already planning our next visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

The staff made us feel right at home and couldn't have been nicer.
The room was very clean and comfortable.
The resort is right on the St. Johns River and I believe all the rooms are riverview.
We enjoyed being kind of secluded for the peace and quite; however it is quite a distance to a grocery or restaurant. Get what you need before going in.
Of course the other plus was the free boat slip for registered guests.

Room Tip: Room 18 with a private balcony is lovely' and rooms 4 & 7 are just as nice for a little less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    19
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
33
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Apopka, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

The staff here bent over backwards to accommodate us and meet our needs. They couldn't have been nicer or more helpful! The recreation room was a bonus when it was raining. We enjoyed bringing our games and movies to this gathering spot. Rooms have decor that is "dated" but we found it to be charming an very clean. The deck was perfect for gatherings with the various famiies we traveled with. The grounds were beautifully manicured. We had a great time and will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landing32720, General Manager at Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
Thank you for your recent review! It was our pleasure to have your group of friends, here at Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina!! As always, we look forward to seeing our repeat guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

This wonderous place is truly a well hidden secret!! Near enough to the big city of Orlando but miles and miles away in atmosphere and Real Florida opportunities! My husband and I stayed over the 4th of July holiday weekend and I had to keep shutting my mouth to keep from gaping at the absolutely immaculate grounds and honest genuine beauty of the St. Johns River. Our ground floor suite with kitchen overlooked the boardwalk, slips and River. Inside it was well appointed, neat and clean. Whoever decorated did a first rate job with simplicity yet authenticity in the photos of wildlife and two huge ships anchors outside the useful Ship's Store. I have rarely seen such well preserved grounds outside of huge Resorts with grounds staffing of hundreds. Many of the local flora and fauna are identified with placards and the areas state who tends them with a name acknowledgement. There is one photo op after another from the super neat coiled rope on the dock to the five foot alligator waiting for a snack at the water's edge. Guess that is why there is a strict No Pets policy? Kitchens have everything you'd need, daily housekeeper who was sweet as pie, great water pressure in the shower, super cold A/C, some of the softest blankets I've ever curled up in and the peace and tranquility, priceless!! The pool, oh my it was immaculate, fresh, clean, super supportive lounges and chairs! The Marina where you can still rent a pontoon for $79 was a joy. Though we own three boats ourselves living in the FL Keys it was with professional courtesy that we were checked out on the pontoon and provided an excellent map and fun route for the day on the River. We beached at Blue Springs State Park and enjoyed our picnic lunch at the chilled Springs seeing massive gar fish and a special treat: an otter munching on a fish no more than a foot away from me. We were both in the water! I honestly can not say enough fantastic things about this property! Please go, you won't be disappointed! I'm already plotting my return!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landing32720, General Manager at Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
WOW, thank you for taking the time to write your recent commentary! We will continue to build on our customer satisfaction, one customer at a time! We will always provide a friendly, positive atmosphere for our guests to experience. Thank you again and we look forward to your return to Hontoon Landing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Stay here, you will not regret it...specials now are...79.00 Pontoon Rental. Mon-Friday when you stay here, and you can Get one Day FREE with one Paid Day- Mon-Friday eceptions do apply......A GREAT PLACE To LIVE or VISIT..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina is a delightful place, located on the beautiful St. Johns River near DeLand, FL. It's convenient to the attractions and beaches, but is a destination unto itself. There is much to see and do.
The grounds are planted as a hummingbird garden, which doubles nicely as a butterfly garden. You're surrounded by "old Florida" wilderness, so rent a boat, or enjoy the informative tour offered by Blue Heron River Tours which is based here. There is wildlife galore, making this a destination for photography, birding, fishing, and for anyone who appreciates natural beauty. The resort's Ship's Store provides info and supplies.
The rooms--some with full kitchens--and suites are most comfortable, offering water views and an inviting pool. This is also a first-rate marina, so you might decide to wander the docks at sunset. The locals are helpful and friendly!
Bottom line, Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina is a gem.

Room Tip: Check for special rates on rooms and boat rentals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landing32720, General Manager at Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
Thank you for your kind words. We are very proud of who we are and what we do at Hontoon Landing! Customer Service and a pleasurable experience is our top priority and we look forward to your return, as always!! Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina

Address: 2317 River Ridge Rd., DeLand, FL 32720
Location: United States > Florida > DeLand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in DeLand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina is located near DeLand, Florida and is nestled along a bend in the St. Johns River - directly across river from Hontoon Island State Park. The Resort is situated on three acres and provides accommodations and lodging in 18 Riverside Rooms and Suites. Kitchens are available in most of the rooms and suites. Resort accommodations are provided in five buildings - Riverview Building, Executive Building, Captain's Suite Building, Hummingbird Cottage and Duplex Cottages. The Resort offers for your relaxation and enjoyment...Boat Rentals - 24' Pontoon Boats for exploring the St. Johns River and viewing the abundant and varied wildlife, and 16' fishing boats for pursuit of the bass, crappie, or whichever may be your favorite. River Tours - offered daily aboard the brand new 49 passenger "Great Blue" Tour Boat, your front row ticket to the world of nature. Birdwatching - Whether you are a beginner or have been a bird watching enthusiast for many years, our Resort could become your favorite destination for enjoying the natural beauty of the river and abundant birds and other wildlife. Hummingbirds - The Resort is a haven for the Ruby Throated Hummingbirds. The Hummingbirds arrive in late February and remain until late August when they begin their migration to Mexico and Central America.The Resort also offers a Sparkling Pool, Ship's Store, Slips for Private Boats, Hummingbird Garden, Hummingbird Plaza, Boardwalk, Riverside Patios and Decks, Manicured Lawn & Grounds and Free Wireless Internet. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.