We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Venom Extraction Program and Fabulous Staff"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Reptile Discovery Center

Reptile Discovery Center
2710 Big John Drive, DeLand, FL
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 43 Attractions in DeLand
Type: Museums, Zoos & Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Large collection of venomous snakes and live venom extraction program twice daily. Nature trail, picnic facilities. Open Thurs-Sunday.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Venom Extraction Program and Fabulous Staff"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We went on a Sunday with two 10 year old boys. The exhibits where excellent and the venom extraction demonstration was fabulous. the boys held snakes and an alligator then saw over a dozen snakes handled and venom-extraction. The staff where so gracious and clearly love their profession. The boys loved it!!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Matthews, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Educational, Fascinating, and Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

At the discovery center you see many species of reptiles - at the indoor exhibit and the walking trail with several enclosures. The owners clearly love their reptiles and educating the public. The venom extraction was certainly the highlight, we saw (cottonmouth, diamond back, copperhead, cobras) and heard about the venom uses (medicinal and research). The other highlight was petting the alligator (mouth taped) and several snakes (non-venomous). Even if you don't think you like reptiles this was a very worthwhile visit to learn more and see these creatures up close (while staying safe).

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We had a wonderful time my 9 year old son and his friend still are asking to return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

The owner met with the visitors personally and let us hold a few of the snakes!! It was a truly enjoyable experience for all of us!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011 via mobile

This place may be small but worth the visit. Very educational!!!! The snakes are beautiful. Make sure you go during the venom extraction time. That is certainly something you don't want to miss.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“So glad we found this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

I don't even remember how we stumbled upon the Reptile Discovery Center, but we knew we had to go when we saw that they did venom extractions along with being able to see some incredibly dangerous snakes on display. Watching the extraction was incredibly interesting and informative as well as a bit unnerving. It was very cool to be able to walk around and few mambas and cobras and rattlesnakes as I've never seen any of these creatures up close before. As well as the very poisonous, they have a nice nature trail that you can follow and see alligators, turtles, iguanas, komodo dragons and a number of other fun reptiles. I highly recommend stopping if you're in the area - you won't be sorry!

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reptile Discovery Center also viewed

 

Been to Reptile Discovery Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reptile Discovery Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.