We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Heron River Tours

Blue Heron River Tours
Hontoon Landing Resort & Marina, 2317 River Ridge Rd., DeLand, FL 32720
+1 386-873-4843
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We operate a 45 foot, 49 passenger Coast Guard licensed tour boat out of Hontoon Landing Resort and Marina in Deland, Florida.
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was an amazing trip. My wife just loved it!! We went in the morning and happened to be the only two people that were on the tour. I thought that they would give us a shorter trip since with our Groupon we were really only paying for one person. Instead they spent 2 & half hours showing us all around. We saw alligators, bald eagles, manatees, and numerous other birds. I would highly recommend this to anyone!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sailor1978, Owner at Blue Heron River Tours, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
At Blue Heron River Tours we only have one type of trip. It is our goal to help every customer experience the best of natural Florida. We are never in a hurry out on the river. Thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review!

Hope to see you again on the river,

Captain Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Mary, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So much more than birds.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We simply got more than we could bargain for with this tour. We expected to see blue herons (and we saw plenty). What we didn't know is we'd also see the biggest gator we'd ever seen in the wild, along with numerous manatees munching, turtles sunning, turkey vultures circling, Florida's fall colors and so on ... all while hearing facts from one of the best tour guides we'd had, well, anywhere. He was in no hurry to finish up and we weren't complaining. Gorgeous day and tour. This will happen again, perhaps even regularly.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sailor1978, Owner at Blue Heron River Tours, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
It is our goal at Blue Heron River Tours to give people the opportunity to see and appreciate the very best of the natural side of Florida. We are pleased that you enjoyed you trip witth us!

Hope to see you again on the river,

Captain Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great change of pace from the chain restaurants and theme parks of Orlando!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stumbled on Blue Heron looking for Groupons to use during our trip to Orlando. Almost didn't go in favor of spending another day at Universal, but SO glad we did! Captain Gary and his wife were wonderful --- saw a ton of wildlife (including 9 gators and a pair of bald eagles) and got a first-hand look at several issues threatening their natural habitat. Relaxing, educational, and overall tons of fun!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sailor1978, Owner at Blue Heron River Tours, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Joan and I love it when our customers appriciate the rive like we do! Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a nice review.

Hope to see you again on the river,

Captain Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Eleven out of ten!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was by far the most beautiful,informative and enjoyable trip on the St Johns River we have taken (and we have been on several over the last few years!) No part of the journey is repeated (an unusual bonus) and Captain Gary's genuine love of the area shone through his interesting amusing (and never annoying) commentary.I look forward to taking the tour again!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sailor1978, Owner at Blue Heron River Tours, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Eleven out of ten sounds pretty good to me. Blue Heron River Tours is pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review!!!

Hope to see you again on the river,

Captain Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Jackson, Virginia, United States
1 review
“River Tour November 7, 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Having been a teenager in Florida, I wanted my kids (17 & 15) to see the real Florida. This is exactly what happened on this tour. Thanks, Captain Gary!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sailor1978, Owner at Blue Heron River Tours, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
I am pleased that I was able to show you the "real" Florida. Thanks for choosing Blue Heron River Tours!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Heron River Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Heron River Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.