We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emmy's Time Out Tavern

Emmy's Time Out Tavern
2069 Old New York Ave, DeLand, FL 32720-2926
386-734-0756
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 151 Restaurants in DeLand
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: German
Restaurant details
Newbury, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I was a little hesitant..but our friends said the grouper(not on the menu) at a German restaurant was excellent! It surely was! The cucumber, tomato and cabbage salad was a nice change from traditional starter salads. The place was packed but we received excellent service. I have never walked into a restaurant as a stranger..and left with a hug from the owner..how cool is that???!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    38
    2
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deland Fl
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“its been awhile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Been awhile since we have been there.but the time we have gone and thats alot, service and food is great, Emmy always taken good care of her staff, in return staff treats you well.Great steaks, home made soups, potatoes are fresh, sorry to say it has been awhile, well worth the good, and go on German night is the night to go if you like German food.Small place, but locals will let you know.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia, USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“German Food on Wednesdays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Make sure that you go on Wednesday. The Schnitzel, fried potatoes, red cabbage and beef vegetable soup were delicious. Very clean. Fabulous service. Emmy came over several times. She is delightful and charming.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Worth checking out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We went to Emmy's with friends who had been raving about it for over two years. Although it was quite crowded at 7:00 on a Saturday night, we were seated fairly quickly, menus handed out and drink orders taken within a couple of minutes. We were advised that the first two items we ordered were not available--either not the right day of the week or no longer offered. The soup was really good, and two small loaves of bread were brought to our table of four. Most of us enjoyed the salads....all pickled (slaw, cucumber/onion, and tomato). My date and I both ordered the prime rib. I would give it 7 out of 10 stars. It was a very generous queen cut, and cooked to the requested level, but it was a bit tough. My biggest complaint would be that the entree was served on a plate absolutely swimming in au jus. Our "German fried" potatoes were served on the same plate, and therefore also drowning in au jus. The sight of fried potatoes drenched in what was basically broth was rather off-putting and they were difficult to eat without making a mess. My suggestion would be to either serve the au jus or the potatoes in a separate vessel. Emmy was very attentive, she personally seated us and stopped at the table before we left to thank us for coming. Our companions enjoyed their pork and fish dinners. Plan on taking home a "doggy box".

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankford, Delaware
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“German Food only on Wednesdays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

But worth the visit to Emmy's. Don't drive by to fast as the exterior is very unassuming even makes one almost miss this long time good food restaurant run, managed, hostess greeting you owner who walks around to see if all is satisfactory. Well, all was better than satisfactory even excellent. Make sure your visit is on a Wednesday evening for the German menu as the other open days are a regular menu. Deland FL is a close drive from the Daytona, New Smyrna & Melbourne beaches. Reservations needed or you will wait. Emmy's is a very popular place and capacity is limited. Highly recommended!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emmy's Time Out Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Emmy's Time Out Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emmy's Time Out Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.