We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the prime rib!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emmy's Time Out Tavern

Emmy's Time Out Tavern
2069 Old New York Ave, DeLand, FL 32720-2926
386-734-0756
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 145 Restaurants in DeLand
Cuisines: German
Restaurant details
Orange City, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love the prime rib!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The prime rib is always cooked to perfection. Love the soup and the "salads" that they offer too. The dessert is just so so. You will fill up on food anyway - so save your money and calories for a good dessert another time.
When we have special out of town guests we always bring them here. No one has ever been disappointed. It is just a little out of the way place, but then most fantastic food places are just that. It will always be one of our favorite places.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    32
    2
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poplar Grove, IL
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful German Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Friends brought me here when I wanted to go to another German style restaurant 30 miles away. It was well worth it. The owner, Emmy, wouldn't let anyone be disappointed. She even escorts the ladies into the dining room on her arm. Most of the dishes are so large they can be shared and everyone still gets plenty. The schnitzels come in either pork or veal. I had mine jaeger style. It was just plain wonderful. One of my friends had the Eisbien, a pork shank. If you are here on a night that it is available and you don't know what it is, try it. But share it with someone because it's so big.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Das Frau Haus!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

If you love old-fashioned German cooking, Emmy's is the ONLY place to go!!
Emmy's is very unique as the building is not overly fancy but the food and drink are outstanding!!
I must confess that when I was first introduced to Emmy herself, I was smitten by the charms of this beautiful lady! She greets everyone as old friends whether this is their first or fifty-first visit!
The menu is authentic and everything is truly homemade from the breads, soups, salads and even the pan-fried grouper! The Sauerbraten is to die for, with its Ginger Snap gravy! There is also entertainment on Sunday and most folks enjoy a lively Polka to work off their dinner!
Prices are very affordable and the service is excellent as they always go the distance to make sure that you are pleased. Unlike many other establishments, Emmy ALWAYS circulates through the dining room to make sure that everything is to your satisfaction. In my opinion you will not find better authentic German food anywhere nor will you ever be displeased by the staff!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBary, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Feels like Austria!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Delicious Swiss/Austrian cuisine & a hostess to make it all worth while. My husband is Swiss & he loved the authentic menu. Worth the drive from DeBary!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Go there hungry & be prepared to enjoy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

For a reasonable price, you get a lot of delicious food...homemade bread, soup, salad, & entree.
The pan-fried grouper is excellent. For those who don't like vinegar, skip the salad. The hostess (owner) & staff go the extra mile to please.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emmy's Time Out Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Emmy's Time Out Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emmy's Time Out Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.