We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Resort and Marina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in DeLand
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tropical Resort and Marina
Save
You added Tropical Resort and Marina to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1485 Lakeview Dr, DeLand, FL 32720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in DeLand
SANTA FE
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

A bit hard to find as it is at the end of a small country road. Great place for fisherman and boaters. Grounds are pretty and shaded. Pool is not heated, but my wife went for a cool swim. Great shorebirds down by the Marina. Be sure to visit nearby Hontoon Island State Park. (There is a free ferry and no entry fee; very scenic).We booked a standard room, but upon entry found that some smokers had stayed there and smell was overwhelming. Went back to office and they upgraded us to 1 bedroom unit that was very nice.The whole complex is non-smoking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    7
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
14
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ocala
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have stayed here several times;.It is quiet and peaceful,, That is what we wanted.The rooms are clean and well kept. It is nice to have a real kitchen. People are very nice. Good place to go to tet away from the hustle and bustle of life. You can bring the dogs with you for a minimum fee. It is nice to see the sunrise and sunset off of Lake Beresford. You can rent a pontoon boat and take a float down the St Johns River or Lake Beresford. Good place to go to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. We plan on returning many more times.
karen boisvert

Room Tip: Request a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

The tropical resort is a no frills fishing camp by the lake. It was relaxing, and the staff was friendly. The rooms (we had 3 rooms for our group) are extremely outdated and have the look of old government housing projects on the inside. We were given 1 towel a piece for a four day trip and when we asked for more they told us WE could go wash them somewhere. All this stuff would have been fine since it was just us men and we were just there to fish, but their boat ramp was also in shambles. We were able to unload our boat with minimal trailer damage, but loading was impossible being that the trailor axles fell off a concrete cliff setting the trailor frame directly down on the concrete long before we could get deep enough for the boat to clear the lowest part of the trailor. We loaded the boat at a ramp several miles away under the bridge. There was plenty of water and concrete runway there.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We are staying in the campground and it is the most wonderful experience. Everyone is like family. Life here takes a step back in time. We take walks at night and feel safe. We leave and know that everyone will be watching over our campsite. Bette has fresh coffee in the office ready with a smile and a hardy "good morning!" every day. I think the office is the place to gather and catch up on the news. The lake is an wonderful place to fish or just rent a boat and enjoy the local wildlife. The boat dock always has cranes and other birds just hanging around. I may never leave! This is the way to truely experience Florida!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treasure island florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in a king with sleeper sofa room, dining room, kitchen and bath that was very spacious. Woke up to turkeys and sand hill cranes roaming the property which was pretty unusual and welcoming. Too cold for the pool but rented a pontoon boat and wandered the lake and various river tributaries and saw alligators, turtles, anhingas, eagles, manatees and herons on the trip. Was great fun.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

My husband & I have stayed in the live oak filled campgrounds & in the spacious, well maintained suites. We travel with our pet, she is always welcomed & quite spoiled by the friendly, caring staff. Nesteled along side of Lake Beardsford on the St. John's river a nature lovers dream come true. Great fishing will provide a memorable trip on a clean, dependable rental boat from the resort marina The staff offers helpful local dining & shopping tips with directions cheerfully. Convenient to beaches & attractions.Looking forward to our return trip with great anticipation .

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallatin, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We have been to the resort twice and loved it. We have stayed in the resort and the campgrounds both and really enjoyed them, the rooms were very clean and comfortable. The people that work there are very nice and helpful. This is a great place to get away for a vacation, boating and just plain relaxing by the pool. A great location close to Datonia, Orlando, Tampa, St. Augustine, Nasa really in the middle of them all.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Tropical Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Resort and Marina

Address: 1485 Lakeview Dr, DeLand, FL 32720
Location: United States > Florida > DeLand
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in DeLand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Resort and Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come share our "hammock" (from the Native Indian culture, meaning "a shady place") as you discover the natural beauty of Old Florida. Unlike your average hotel or motel it’s like having your own waterfront cottage or cabin. Our campground affords spacious campsites so you can enjoy all the same amenities from your own RV. An outdoor vacation for the entire family. Experience "life on the river", where time seems to stand still. We are situated between Hontoon Landing State Park and Blue Springs State Park - a winter haven to dozens of manatees. Great fishing and nature watching. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Resort and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.