We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, delightful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel DeFuniak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel DeFuniak to your Saves list
Hotel DeFuniak
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 E. Nelson Ave., DeFuniak Springs, FL 32435   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Athens, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unique, delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I recently spent two nights at the funky, vintage beautifully restored Hotel DeFuniak (DeFuniak Springs, FL) - what a wonderful experience! I stayed in a beautiful Oriental-motif room, had a very nice dinner in "Bogie's" restaurant, and enjoyed quiet saxaphone music in the cozy bar the next night. The staff was uber-attentive - with recommendations for visiting the beautiful Christmas light display around the lake. The breakfasts were delicious and the coffee was fabulous! I hated to leave and WILL be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    20
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
65
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prattville, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

If you are wanting to take a step back in time or just looking for a fun place to relax....this is it. The building was originally built in the 1920s and with the exception of the elevator pretty much as it was. We stayed in the Safari suite which included a nicely decorated sitting area and bedroom separated by French doors. If I had any complaint it would be the bathroom was a bit small but I guess that was how the built them years ago. Don't miss Bogeys the restaurant attached to the hotel. I had some reservations about it after reading some negative reviews, however we were blown away by both the service and the food. It has an old upscale feel along with live music but casual dress is fine. The food was awesome I had a crab cake appetizer and veal main course all excellent. My wife had fried green tomatoes as an appetizer and a steak for dinner which she still raves about. Overall it was a wonderful experience and looking forward to staying there again and enjoying Bogeys!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

If you would like to be treated as if you were in your very own home then Hotel defuniak is the place to be. I named this finally because I have been coming to Defuniak for the past 25 years but I always stayed with my family. Unfortunately, I was visiting this time because of a funeral and all family homes were already full. Fortunately for my husband and I, we remebered Hotel Defuniak.

From the time we entered the hotel to the time we left, we felt nothing but love (Tom actually escorted us to our room).. Talk about a hidden treasure this is it! We are looking forward to staying here again prayerfully under different circumstances.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDefuniak, Owner at Hotel DeFuniak, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
On behalf of our entire staff we thank you for the accolades. We enjoy meeting all of our guests and making them feel right at home especially during the difficult times of life.

May God bless your family and give you the strength to endure,

Tom, Pam, Tanell, Brian and Chaela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We visited DeFuniak Springs for a surprise birthday party over the weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel DeFuniak. Chaela was the most friendly and accommodating host, and we could not have been happier with everything!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stopped in DeFuniak Springs on the way to Texas from Key West on a motorcycle trip. The hotel is a wonderful and rare find with a small cafe for breakfast and a nice restaurant for dinner attached. Hotel DeFuniak fit our needs perfectly. Fair price, excellent service, lovely accomodations! Thank you to Tom and the lovely couple who made and served our breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

It's not often we find a place that we would consider perfect. Although, this 100 year old quaint hotel tucked off of I10 isn't perfect, it's darn close. Of course the rooms are small and could use some new paint in places and the water pressure is weak at best, but maybe this just adds to the charm. What really stands out is the hospitality. You are greeted by an inn keeper upon your arrival and after you see your room we were invited to a wine tasting in the library. The dinner at the hotel was excellent. The service was extremely friendly and thorough. We felt like we had made some friends when we left. This is a gem of a hotel. Do not miss it if you are near. We WILL be back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stopped in DeFuniak Springs on our way to New Orleans for our 50th Anniversary. It is a beautiful hotel decorated with Victorian era antiques. The staff is just marvelous. Due to the special occaision, we got the champagne package and a suite. Everything was done beautifully. The innkeeper, Tom, is terrific and very personable. We had dinner at Bogey's Restaurant next door which was fabulous. The hotel's breakfast is excellent. We would stop here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel DeFuniak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeFuniak

Address: 400 E. Nelson Ave., DeFuniak Springs, FL 32435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > DeFuniak Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in DeFuniak Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel DeFuniak 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"One of Florida's Top Ten Bed & Breakfast Inns" gives service beyond your expectations. Built as a Masonic Lodge in 1920, this magnificent structure was completely restored in 1998 with all of the modern amenities you would expect in a fine Hotel. Every room has been decorated to create a unique theme with the ambiance of a time past. With its 4-Star Bogey's Restaurant and Bar and the Hotel's AAA Triple Diamond Rating, it has become the place to stay for travelers and romantic get-a-ways as well as for business men & women. Hotel DeFuniak is located across from the Walton County Court House and steps from the Lake Yard Park at Lake Defuniak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel DeFuniak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel DeFuniak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.