We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel DeFuniak

Save Saved
You added Hotel DeFuniak to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel DeFuniak
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 E. Nelson Ave., DeFuniak Springs, FL 32435   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Greenville
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

A friend recommended that I check out this interesting little town in far west Florida. I loved the town and its round, yes, round lake. Many lovely homes and some antique shops too. Check out "The Bookstore" as well. The hotel was quite nice. Wonderful breakfast and do make a reservation at Boggy's for dinner. Very reasonable and excellent food and service too. The rooms are nicely decorated with period pieces. Very comfy bed and pillows. Would recommend.

Room Tip: It is an old building with thinner walls. So bring your earplugs if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDefuniak, Owner at Hotel DeFuniak, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! The town of DeFuniak Springs is wonderful. Glad you got to wander around a bit, and check out our unique lake! I'm so happy to hear that you were impressed with your room, as well as Bogey's. Thank you for the lovely review. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Tom, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    18
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
58
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

One of the VERY BEST HOTELS / B&B's / Restaurants in Florida and I have been to hundreds during my 25 years of travel. Charming, clean, quiet, fantastic staff and Innkeepers. I have stayed here twice while on business trips within the past several months and have always stayed an extra day to tour the town and Antique shops, I will be back every chance I get! Perfect for those who crave a laid back atmosphere and get away from the conventional hotels and chain restaurants. Great value, prices are excellent!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDefuniak, Owner at Hotel DeFuniak, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
It's an honor to be called "the best." Thank you so much for the kind words, and for choosing to stay with us time and time again. It's always great to see you! Of course, let us know if there's anything we can do to make your stay that much better!

Regards,
Tom, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

The staff here are fantastic. So kind and they have great ideas of what to visit in the area. The breakfast was delicious. The room we stayed in was well proportioned and very clean.
They did not have a crib for our little one, but were otherwise very family-friendly.

Room Tip: the suites are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDefuniak, Owner at Hotel DeFuniak, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thanks for the review. I'm so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. DeFuniak Springs is perfect for kids and adults alike! I'm sorry we did not have a crib for you. We typically don't have many little ones with us. I'll try to make one available for your next stay. Thanks again. We hope to see you soon!

Regards,
Tom, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Traveled to Defuniak Springs on business, with a client from out of town. The hotel was lovely, charming, and had a lot of character. Extremenly friendly and accommodating staff, who went out of their way to make you comfortable. The restaurant was excellent for dinner as well, and the complementary breakfast tasty. This location is very convienient to downtown, and to the courthouse where we were going for business.

My client was very pleased also, and that reflected well on me. If I ever have to return to that area, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Flew into the DeFuniak airport. They gave us their courtesy car and sent us to the Hotel DeFuniak. Very friendly staff, great dinner at Bogie's connected to the hotel. Saturday night is live music and the jazz piano player was terrific. Had coffee delivered to our room the next morning -- nice touch. The breakfast downstairs was included and was way above the usual hotel offering. We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDefuniak, Owner at Hotel DeFuniak, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
It sounds like you had a lovely time in DeFuniak Springs! I'm glad that you were able to have dinner with us at Bogey's. The live music always makes for a fun time. Thank you for staying with us, and for the wonderful review. We'll see you next time you're in town!

Best,
Tom, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We recently stayed here on our way from Daytona Beach to New Orleans, and enjoyed it so much that we stayed again on our return trip. The rooms are bright and comfortable, the hotel is warm and welcoming, the restaurant is excellent and the staff was especially friendly and competent. The little town of historic DeFuniak Springs is scenic and interesting--especially around the lake--and is all within easy walking distance from the hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Desk staff are helpful and friendly, ask them about a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

So happy that we found the Hotel DeFuniak on a B & B site. It is a charming "boutique hotel"--perfect place to relax and read about the old Florida town of DeFuniak Springs before venturing out and around the "round spring fed lake". We visited on Thanksgiving, prior to their putting up the Christmas lights, but we did see many Christmas decorations on the lovely old homes around the lake. The food and service by Howell and the staff was exceptional--we definitely hope to return.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDefuniak, Owner at Hotel DeFuniak, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
The holidays are the perfect time of year to visit — it's like stepping back in time! Thanks for staying with us, and for the wonderful review. We'll see you next time you're in DeFuniak Springs!

Best,
Tom, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel DeFuniak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeFuniak

Address: 400 E. Nelson Ave., DeFuniak Springs, FL 32435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > DeFuniak Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in DeFuniak Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel DeFuniak 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"One of Florida's Top Ten Bed & Breakfast Inns" gives service beyond your expectations. Built as a Masonic Lodge in 1920, this magnificent structure was completely restored in 1998 with all of the modern amenities you would expect in a fine Hotel. Every room has been decorated to create a unique theme with the ambiance of a time past. With its 4-Star Bogey's Restaurant and Bar and the Hotel's AAA Triple Diamond Rating, it has become the place to stay for travelers and romantic get-a-ways as well as for business men & women. Hotel DeFuniak is located across from the Walton County Court House and steps from the Lake Yard Park at Lake Defuniak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Hotel DeFuniak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel DeFuniak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.