We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bogey's Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Bogey's Bar & Restaurant
400 East Nelson Ave, Hotel Defuniak, DeFuniak Springs, FL 32433
(850) 951-1108
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: French, American, Caribbean, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Doing business, Bar scene, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Opened in 2006, Bogey's Restaurant has received maximum reviews from local newspapers. We have happy hour from 5-7pm at the bar along with 2 for Tuesdays all night long. Prime Rib Night is Wednesdays and we feature live entertainment on Saturday Nights. If you had a good experience at Bogey's, we encourage you to write a review here on Tripadvisor, if you did not, please contact us so that we may make it right.
Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Had a romantic dinner there. Food and service was wonderful. Highly recommend. Had the filet which was cooked just right - medium rare. The salad was fresh - loved the house dressing. The decor is interesting. All in all a winner! Will go back if we end up there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    29
    2
    2
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Anniston, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummmmmy!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wonderful experience, excellent food, friendly service!!!! Wish we could take them home with us and eat there every day!!!! My husband and I stayed till close on a Saturday night and enjoyed the Sax player and staff! Thank you!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Step back into time and enjoy a meal worthy of the Rockefellers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

If you happen to be ANYwhere near the northern Florida panhandle, you owe it to yourself to take the time to stop in the town of Defuniak Springs (just 5 minutes off I-10). I propose that you will add dining at Bogey's Cafe to your list of "best meals ever". Furthermore, your life will be richer for the experience of walking into the Hotel Defuniak (one of the top ten bed and breakfasts in Florida) associated with this astounding restaurant.

In regards to dinner, my appetizer was a large plateful covered with the most flavorful and crisp fried green tomatoes I have ever tasted (even better than my mother's.) My entree was a wonderfully fresh almond-encrusted redfish with mango and pineapple sauce. The dessert was the ultimate in a dark chocolate experience; I cannot describe it more than that; you have to venture for yourselves. Incidentally, the walls are adorned with actual photos of famous actors, including of course, Humphrey Bogart, Marilyn Monroe, Mary Martin, etc. The service was impeccable, and the price was surprisingly reasonable for the quality we enjoyed. The owner came and spoke with us personally, and imparted a gift to me; an old picture of Bogart for my absentee husband. That is just the type of people that manage the restaurant; "down-home", sincerely kind folks. Continuing on;

In the hotel, there are countless antiques adorning every corner of the lavishly decorated interior. For example, every lamp is different, including one made from a silver teapot. You immediately will sense the special aura from a bygone age wash over you, and leave you more at peace than when you entered. You wil be compelled to at least drive around the only one of two perfectly circle-shaped lakes in the world (the other being in Switzerland) and seeing over 200 homes adorn its' shores (also in a circular pattern.) In short, it is a magical place. My daughter and I (like the two travelers in Brigadoon) stumbled onto this grand and glorious place when looking for a place to stay the night after a long journey. Fortunately, this town, restaurant, and hotel is not disappearing for another 100 years. We cannot wait to go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Extensive Menu and Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

One of a very few options for dining in DeFuniak Springs, but it had a surprisingly large menu and the food was reasonable and tasty. Just a couple options for diners avoiding gluten, but the service was very attentive. The place was busy with local diners, even on a week night, so reservations are recommended.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponce de Leon, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The restaurant is located inside Hotel DeFuniak. The food has always been good and is very reasonable. There is a display of art that is free to browse to the side of the restaurant. The restaurant is located next to the Little Big Store that has a great supply of quaint items not seen so often in the larger retail stores.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bogey's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

DeFuniak Springs, Florida Panhandle
DeFuniak Springs, Florida Panhandle
 
DeFuniak Springs, Florida Panhandle
DeFuniak Springs, Florida Panhandle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bogey's Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.