We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just OKAY” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Japanese Restaurant Masamune

Japanese Restaurant Masamune
310 S Federal Hwy, Deerfield Beach, FL 33441-4132
954-427-9491
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 184 Restaurants in Deerfield Beach
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“just OKAY”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I took 6 co-workers and customers here; the sushi was okay. the menu was confusing. service was okay but the sushi was rather bland and boring. The other sushi fans agreed that we would not return although they must be doing something right since they were very busy.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fairly Authentic Japanese Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Asian entrees and sushi choices were delicious, but some of the fried appetizers a little on the greasy side. Great service.Nice place to get together with friends and family.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

The size and location of this place are deceiving. This free-standing building is easily missed driving by, located next to Crown Liquor on Federal Highway. Once inside, it is a clean, delightful little place. The food is good, although during lunch it can get very busy which makes it hard for the 2 girls to keep up!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Masamune--modern and divine Japanese Cuisine. I was there twice this week!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Masamune--the "one eyed Dragon"--founder of the modern City of Sendai, a hero who made the region prosperous.... many things can be said about Masamune the man...but Masamune the restaurant...let me tell you...
Walk into a fairly intimate restaurant (not too big, not too small), with a note on the door about Sendai Japan and how to help the people of Sendai post tsunami...to your right, a a glass wall waterfall.....to your left, the smiling Hede and Michelle to seat you. A very warm and friendly atmosphere, romantic and open, sophisticated. Food is elegant and tasty tasty! and reasonable for this kind of immmaculate quality. I had a snapper dish that would make you think and savour --- thinly sliced snapper (a tataki of sorts) with a yellow chilly pepper drizzle with a tangy undertone of what I beleive to be lemongrass, and sprinkled with thinly sliced scallions. I wouldn't want to share this. I want to keep it all to myself. BUT IT IS SO GOOD I HAD TO share this with my table so they would know just how fresh and bright and amazing it was. Another favorite---the spicy squid salad. Brightly flavored with rice wine vinegar and thinly sliced peppers for a little "kick", generous portion of thinly sliced marinated squid over sliced cucumber. Gorgeous and yummy dish you could have s an entree instead of an appetizer is so generous. The flavor spectacular. But I am losing myself as I ate at Masamune twice this week. Gorgeous steak Teryaki for the non sushi eaters---tender and flavorful. Beautiful fresh sushi and sashimi---everything served lookes like a painting. I am fond of trying a whole bunch of different foods at one meal. Ideal to me is starting with the suonomo (sliced fish and seafood in a tangy rice wine vineger marinade) and the spicy squid salad, the warm succulent beef negimaki (tender beef wrapped around scallions, skwered and grilled) and wakame seaweed salad. They keep you jumping with new and tasty dishes that they don't YET have on the menu, but put as specials to see how well they are received. I can't wait to see what they come up with next! Join us at Masamune. And don't forget to tell Hede and Michelle "hello" from Jill & Jim. Located just off of Hillsboro and South Federal Highway, MASAMUNE is a rare find and worth the drive! Find Masamune at:
310 S. Federal Highway, Deerfield beach, Fl 33441
954-427-9491

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse Point
1 review
“Inconsistent, but the best in Deerfield”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

I have been a customer for 5 years. I used to say this place was excellent, but the quality of the food and service has declined. The sushi chefs and the host are very friendly. But every visit has been spoiled for months now, due to a variety of problems. On a Monday night, I waited half an hour for my food while other tables who arrived after I ordered were served first. The waitresses who have worked there a long time never smile. Is something wrong?

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japanese Restaurant Masamune also viewed

 
Deerfield Beach, FL
Deerfield Beach, FL
 

Been to Japanese Restaurant Masamune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Japanese Restaurant Masamune, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.